Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Corsair Memory Question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-06-04, 02:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
Bon3thugz43v3r

 
Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Sunshine State

 
Post Corsair Memory Question


On my corsair xms it has a black heatspreader and I am curious to know what kind of memory is underneath the heatspreader. The heatspreader is black and my memory is PC3200 CL2 v1.1. I would like to know if i can take off the heatspreader and then put it back on? Will it go back on or is it impossible to get back on? Also, will this void my warranty, even if i get it back on?
Thanks

__________________
i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
Corsair HX750 PSU
Corsair H100i
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

My Heatware
Bon3thugz43v3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 06:33 PM   #2
snowwie
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
first, all discussions I've seen lead to indicate that XMS3500C2v1.1 is BH-5

second, I've removed the black heatspreaders from my corsair XMS3200 and it is actually pretty tricky. The double sided tape they use is VERY sticky. It takes quite a bit of coersion with a screwdrive to get it loose. I personally don't recommend it, as I scratched up the chips a bit with my screwdriver in order to pry the thing off. I also found it slightly easier if I stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes to weaken the bond. I doubt I could even stick them back on if I wanted to replace them because I physically damaged the heatspreaders in the process (alu is soft compared to my screwdriver). Not that I would even want to send them back only to get CH-6 chips in place of the my precious BH-6. Not worth it really.
snowwie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 06:52 PM Thread Starter   #3
Bon3thugz43v3r

 
Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Sunshine State

 
So if in fact these are BH-5's...Then the reason I cant run past 200 mhz stable with 2-3-3-8 timings is my rev 1.04 asus a7n8x motherboard? I am either going to buy new ram or a new motherboard. If I am getting a new motherboard, I would like to know which DFI board is the best for overclocking. All I need onboard is the lan because I have a soundcard and I do not need sata or raid. Thanks!

EDIT : I noticed you said all PC3500XMS C2 V1.1 I have PC3200

__________________
i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
Corsair HX750 PSU
Corsair H100i
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

My Heatware
Bon3thugz43v3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 07:02 PM   #4
CrazyP
Member

 
CrazyP's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
i really doubt you have bh5, the only corsairs i know that had bh5 are the xms3200LL v 1.1 sticks and xms3500
CrazyP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 07:23 PM Thread Starter   #5
Bon3thugz43v3r

 
Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Sunshine State

 
Well even if they wernt BH-5 wouldnt they run past 200fsb at tight timings?

__________________
i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
Corsair HX750 PSU
Corsair H100i
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

My Heatware
Bon3thugz43v3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 07:35 PM   #6
mfjonny
Member

 
mfjonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California

 
Correction.

the XMS3200C2 v1.1 use BH-6 ICs. Straight from the source.

I've successfuly run this stick at 225 at 2-2-2-11, single channel. Its a GREAT stick of ram.

__________________
Wolfdale E8400/Xigmatek S1283
Asus x48 Rampage Formula/2x2gb G.Skill DDR8500
EVGA 8800 GT 512/dual Dell 2001FPs
Seagate 7200.11 500gb/Vista Ultimate x32
Silverstone TJ07/Antec NeoHE 550
Heatware
mfjonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 08:27 PM Thread Starter   #7
Bon3thugz43v3r

 
Bon3thugz43v3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Sunshine State

 
Hmm I am wondering if its the board thats holding me back. Also what is a "safe" amount of voltage to put through this ram? The highest my board will go is 2.9.

__________________
i7-4770k @ 4.2Ghz
16GB G.Skill DDR3 2666
Asus Maximus Hero VI Z87
MSI N770 TF 2GD5/OC
Corsair HX750 PSU
Corsair H100i
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD

My Heatware
Bon3thugz43v3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-06-04, 09:27 PM   #8
snowwie
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
depends on who you are asking

most (here) would consider 2.9v to be well within safe levels, esp. with BH-6 chips
snowwie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-04, 03:51 PM   #9
wierdAL
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: slovenia

 
what i wouldn't give for a stick of ram like that ...
wierdAL is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-04, 06:29 PM   #10
mfjonny
Member

 
mfjonny's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: California

 
Corsair recommends a voltage of 2.7, and will warranty up to 2.8. As mentioned before, 2.9 is a fairly safe wattage, though I personally run my sticks at 2.7.

__________________
Wolfdale E8400/Xigmatek S1283
Asus x48 Rampage Formula/2x2gb G.Skill DDR8500
EVGA 8800 GT 512/dual Dell 2001FPs
Seagate 7200.11 500gb/Vista Ultimate x32
Silverstone TJ07/Antec NeoHE 550
Heatware
mfjonny is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-04, 09:26 PM   #11
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
I would think it's your motherboard, or maybe your processor if it's a 133mhz bus chip. Sometimes they don't like high FSBs.

I currently have a stick of Corsair PC3200 CL2 v1.1, and it was Prime95 stable (7 hours) at 230MHz, 2-2-2-11 w/ 3.0v.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX 750 Ti 2GB
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?