Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

AI7 LCD Display on all the time? Could someone check 4 me please?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-07-04, 07:15 AM Thread Starter   #1
pedwar
Registered



Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

 
AI7 LCD Display on all the time? Could someone check 4 me please?


Hi,

Quick question for you AI7 owners out there...

Does the on-board LCD Post Error code display on your boards stay on all of the time even when the PC is powered down?

I know none of my other ABIT boards did and I'm pretty sure this one didn't when I first got it.

Now after you shut the PC down the code 99 (well 9.9.) is constantly shown (stays on all night) even though the PC has powered down.

If you remove the power lead from the wall/PSU the display goes off, but when replaced the display turns back on again (even though the PC is still off) displaying the code 00, this stays there until the PC is booted up and shut down again, displaying the 99 code again?

I'm 99.9% sure this didn't do it when I first put it in, but typically when I was putting the last blanking plate back in there the bottom of it touched the board and it flicked the PC on then off again an I'm pretty sure it has done it since then. The PC operates normall though.. weird.

Just wondered if you could check your boards to verify if they do, do this?

Thanks,
pedwar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-07-04, 02:59 PM   #2
Arch
Member



Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cary, NC

 
Mine does that too. I wouldn't worry about it. If you notice the NIC on your board will remain on as well as long as there is power connected to the PSU.
Arch is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-07-04, 09:54 PM   #3
raven
Member

 
raven's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Toronto

 
same here, it stays on all the time. i wouldnt worry about it too much, unless it bothers u, then you will have to unplug your system from the wall.


raven

__________________
Core i5-750.................................................. ..............................................P4 2.4 M0 @ 3.3 on AIR w/ AS5
2x 2GB G.Skill Ripjaw.................................................. .................................2x 256 OCZ PC-3500 EL DDR PE @ 2,2,2,5 on Street Racer
Gigabyte P55-UD4P.................................................. ....................................Abit AI7
OCZ Agility2 120GB, WD Black 1TB & 2x WD Green 2TB.....................................WD 36GB Raptor & Seagate 500GB 7200.11
Sound Blaster X-FI XtremeMusic.................................................. ..................Sound Blaster MP3
ATI HD5750 Go! Green.................................................. ...............................ATI AIW X800XL
New System up and running!
--Virus Troubles?--..........--Need a Program?--..........--Spyware Problems?--..........--System and Boot Optimization--


Nothing I say should be directly used, without my explicit permission, to make money. I DO NOT support INLINE ADS.
raven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-04, 11:24 AM Thread Starter   #4
pedwar
Registered



Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK

 
Phew... Thanks for that guys..

Am glad it's not just my board that does it then. I was just worried as I said before as I was sure the display was off until I slipped with the blanking plate and the board made a noise as if it fired up for a spilt second then shut down again. It was then I looked over and saw the display alight.

Must just not have noticed it before.

I did notice the NIC staying on all of the time actually. I thought it was something to do with the 'wake up on LAN' type functionality, which was strange as I have all of that turned off.

As you say my network switch thinks the PC is on all the time, showing the Link light even when the PC is off. Ohh well.

Any other AI7 users out there noticed if their POST error display is staying on? Guess it's just a 'feature' of this board.

Thanks again,
pedwar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-04, 01:09 PM   #5
br408408
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Central Florida

 
Mine also stays on also.

Bill

__________________
Abit IC7
3.0E @ 3600
2x256 Geil Platinum Series PC-4000 dual channel
2 WD Raptor 36GB SATA in RAID 0 on the ICH5R
2 WD WD800JB 80GB drives in RAID 0 on a 3ware 7000-2
PIONEER A0-4 DVD-RW
Lite-on DVD-ROM
Lite-on 16x CD-RW
ATI Radeon 9000
br408408 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?