• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OCZ Performance - help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

newkie

Registered
I just recently purchased a p4 2.6c with value DDR3200 RAM from newegg. I started learning as I was purchasing and realized that I really blew it memory-wise.

I was able to acheive fsb 235mhz at 1:1 and a 1.6v core. I could go higher at 5:4 but was having instabilities and haven't taken the time to systemmatically test it.

Today I found out I could still return my memory and I opted to exchange for OCZ Performance 4000 Dual Channel 512mb. I don' t know if dual channel is better than purchasing single sticks, I guess they are matched. Anyhow, it cost quite a bit more but I am hoping that I should be able to acheive at least 250fsb at 1:1.

I don't fully understand the advantage/disadvantage of memory timing vs fsb (meaning is it better to keep 1:1 and a lower fsb or the other way around). I also don't know the difference between premeir, enhanced latency, performance, and gold offering from OCZ.

Did I do good?

Thanks, weird that the EL cost less than the performance. I thought it was premier -> EL -> performance -> gold

I'll check out that article

Wow, you guys are quick!

I meant to add to my last post just asking if I went overboard for the overclock I'm trying to accomplish (around 250fsb). I don't pretent to understand everything else involved just yet. I just hope I didn't waste money on PC4000 DDRs when something slower would have done as well or better.

That article confused me a little regarding tight timings, I don't undertsand timings yet but I will read up on the stickys here tomorrow. Hopefully the new chips will perform well