Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Sound Systems & Audio Devices
Sound Systems & Audio Devices Including sound cards, speakers and other audio devices.
Forum Jump

is the 5.1 sound used in 4.1 ???

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-04, 05:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
spider_SLO
Registered

 
spider_SLO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Slovenia, Bela krajina

 
is the 5.1 sound used in 4.1 ???


I think Im going to buy the Z-560 4.1 speakers

What I want to know.... will the 5.1 sound be used ???

I have a 4.1 soundcard and the Z-560 are 4.1

will the DVD option 5.1 surround work well???





I mean - most of the stuff is made for 5.1 speakers... how do the 4.1 speakers handle the 5.1 sound then??? If they do, since i have a 4.1 soundcard??
spider_SLO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-10-04, 08:46 PM   #2
Deadly Dude
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Australia

 
With a 4.1 speaker setup, the fronts create a "phantom" centre channel, of course it is not as good as the real thing, the z-560's should create the centre channel pretty good.

Having a 4.1 soundcard tho, this might not be able to produce 5.1ish sound in dvd's.
Deadly Dude is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-11-04, 05:30 AM Thread Starter   #3
spider_SLO
Registered

 
spider_SLO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Slovenia, Bela krajina

 
So, I guess i should save for an Audigy 2 ez + quality cables??
spider_SLO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-12-04, 03:13 PM   #4
Voodoo Rufus
Powder Junkie Moderator


 
Voodoo Rufus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA

10 Year Badge
 
When using 5.1 Surround on a 4.1 card, all that is done is that the center channel info is split between the two fronts, divided evenly I would think.

I personally think that spending dough for cables to a computer speaker setup could be better spent elsewhere, like better speakers or computer components.

__________________
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar!"

Serious Gamers Halo Custom Edition
Green Leaves!
Voodoo Rufus is offline SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 08:05 AM Thread Starter   #5
spider_SLO
Registered

 
spider_SLO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Slovenia, Bela krajina

 
So... for now a 4.1 soundcard should be enough ??

its a creative Live 4.1
spider_SLO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 08:55 AM   #6
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Voodoo Rufus
I personally think that spending dough for cables to a computer speaker setup could be better spent elsewhere, like better speakers or computer components.
I second that, $30+ monster cables are a gimmick and ripoff perpetuated by ignorance.

4.1 creative card? I thought they went from the basic creative Live to the 5.1 to the audigy? Is this a basic SB Live? if so, you will not be able to play dolby digital/DTS on it, the card doesn't understand the data which is why the Live 5.1s came about.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 09:58 AM   #7
Voodoo Rufus
Powder Junkie Moderator


 
Voodoo Rufus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA

10 Year Badge
 
You can do the DD/DTS decoding in software, which is what most DVD software does by default.

__________________
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar!"

Serious Gamers Halo Custom Edition
Green Leaves!
Voodoo Rufus is offline SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 10:05 AM   #8
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Voodoo Rufus
You can do the DD/DTS decoding in software, which is what most DVD software does by default.
But the sound card still needs to know what to do with more than 4 channels of data. (??)
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 10:08 AM   #9
Voodoo Rufus
Powder Junkie Moderator


 
Voodoo Rufus's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Bakersfield, CA

10 Year Badge
 
I thought that PC DVD software asks you what kind of system you have (2ch, 4ch, 5ch, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1) and reduces the surround data accordingly.

__________________
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how I soar!"

Serious Gamers Halo Custom Edition
Green Leaves!
Voodoo Rufus is offline SETI Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 10:15 AM   #10
Pinky
Disabled

 
Pinky's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Narf City, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Voodoo Rufus
I thought that PC DVD software asks you what kind of system you have (2ch, 4ch, 5ch, 5.1, 6.1, 7.1) and reduces the surround data accordingly.
Depends on the software, I believe Powerdvd does... but I see where you're coming from.
Pinky is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-13-04, 11:50 AM Thread Starter   #11
spider_SLO
Registered

 
spider_SLO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Slovenia, Bela krajina

 
well I have PowerDVD original.. so... guess there shouldnt be any problems
spider_SLO is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Sound Systems & Audio Devices
Sound Systems & Audio Devices Including sound cards, speakers and other audio devices.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?