• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New at overclocking, need suggestions please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Demonic

Registered
Hello,

I'm new to overclocking, and I just built a new box. Here are the specs. It's running real stable right now, but I want to further.
I'm not exactly sure what to do with my voltage settings.

Epox 8rda3+ Motherboard
XP2800 running @ 2250mhz 180x12.5
Corsair 512 PC3500 XMS
Geforce FX 5950 Ultra
Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake 480w silent purepower w/ pfc
Creative T7700 7.1 surround speakers
Thermaltake Volcano 11+ Hsf
5 Powmax Case Fans
cpu temp 40C idle 45C Load

Right now I have my dimm voltage set on auto. My question is what should it be set at to get the most from my ram?

also my vcore is set to default. Is this ok?
agp set to 1.5v, vdd set atr 1.6v. Not sure what to do with these either.

What Do I have to do next? Thanks for your time.

Your temps seem a bit high for stock Vcore. I'm afraid you may be into the 50ºC and higher range if you turn it up much. Most people will agree that, while still within specs for the cpu, 50º and above should be avoided. Double check your hsf mounting, it's probably fine, but it never hurts to be sure. What kind of thermal compound are you using? If your using the stock AMD white goop, you may want to try AS3 or better. I'm not entirely familiar with the Volcano 11, but with a SmartFan II and an SLK-800A my temps matched yours at 1.825 VCore 205*11. You may want to look into different cooling. Another thing to check is case ventilation. It doesn't matter how many fans you have if the air isn't going where it's needed. Make sure your cables aren't restricting airflow around the HSF and that you have positive case pressure.