Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

antec fan sensor wire?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-19-04, 11:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
antec fan sensor wire?


i got this PS
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...pa=1&section=1
it has a 2 thin wires coming out on a clip, one blue one black.
what would these be for?
they look kinda like a fan plug in end.
they are the thinnest ones that come out, they are the only 2 that are that thin.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 12:01 AM   #2
nosilverman
Member

 
nosilverman's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: New York, NY!

 
That wire plugs into a fan plug on the motherboard to allow you to monitor the RPM's of the psu fans.

-Noah
nosilverman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 12:05 AM Thread Starter   #3
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
thats what i thought it was but it doesnt fit on the 2 prongs that are on my MB. i thought it was kinda odd that it wouldnt be a standard thing.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 12:19 AM   #4
Dermen
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Virginia

10 Year Badge
 
It goes to a 3 pin connecter, not 2. Its missing the power wire because the PS fan gets its power directly from the PS.

Mine doesn't even monitor sometimes because its a temp. variable fan and the RPMs get too low for the MB to measure.

__________________
FX-6300 | Gb 970A-UD3P | EVGA GTX 750 Ti | Corsair 8GB 1866 | 120GB Hyper-X 3k | Seasonic G 550w
Heat
Dermen is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 12:35 AM Thread Starter   #5
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
is there a way i can hook it up to the 2 pins that i have on my MB?

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 01:30 AM   #6
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
You must be trying to connect it to some jumpers or something you should not be trying to do...Like Derman seezzzz...Just connect it to a fan header on your motherboard...You should have your heat sink fan connected to the CPU fan header which is usually close to the heat sink processor area of your motherboard...If you look at the motherboard you should be able to locate other 3 pin fan headers exactly like the one you connect your heat sink fan to...Some fan headers will have RPM monitoring and some do not...I like connecting them because it seems to make the fans spin a little bit faster than if you leave it disconnected...

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 01:45 AM   #7
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Manual Link If you look on page 29 of the manual locate the ATX power connector (right side of the page about 1 third of the way down) You will see the "ATX power connector...then to the right of that you will see "EZ PLUG"...then to the right of that you will see "CHA FAN"...Looks like the best place to plug it in on your motherboard...There is another "PWR. FAN" connector on the bottom right of your mother board...I do not think it will reach that far...So the CHA. FAN by the 20pin ATX connector is your best bet...

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 09:09 AM Thread Starter   #8
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
it will reach the power fan one at the bottom barely. it was the trpwr thing i was wondering about. its some kind of sensor thing.
its also on pg. 29 right next to the chassis fan. do i have to order a special sensor for that?
thanks for the detailed help also.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 10:27 AM   #9
johnflyons
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Indian Wells, CA

 
antec fan sensor wire


I bought a new Antec 550 true control to go in my new Intel system with my new Asus P4C800-E mainboard and hooked those little PS lines to the three prong header on the board.......WRONG! and MORE WRONG! Fan header Blown out of new board and fans Blown out of PS! Leave it unhooked

__________________
Asus P6T6 WS Revolution, 3530 Xeon
G-Skill PID 1600 @ 6-7-4-18 1T
Asus 5970 video
Corsair 1200 AX
johnflyons is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 10:41 AM   #10
Hookem
Member

 
Hookem's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Well then I am at a complete loss as to what you are talking about...I have only purchased and installed about 200 Antec TruePower power supply's and probably atleast 20 TrueControls Manual On page four...Item number 7 they tell you to connect the 3 pin fan signal connector to the motherboard...The link for the motherboard manual is not working so let me go chase it down again and try to find what you are talking about...Sorry about the rotten luck johnflyons...But I have never heard of anyone cooking anything by connecting the fan signal connector to their motherboard...I will go check it out for you rhino56...

__________________
If you build it...They will come...and I will crash it!!!

Switching to Intel
Antec 300, Corsair HX5650W, Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, Intel Q9550, Thermalright SI-128-SE, 2x4 G.Skiell PC64000 DDR2, XFX 4890, 640 Black OS Drive, 2 640 Blacks RAID-0, Audiotrak Prodigy HD2, Vantec SATA EzSwap, Mitsumi floppy, Lian-Li card reader, Lian Li T4, Dell E198WFP, AudioEngine 5 speakers.
In progress build.
Hookem is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 10:48 AM Thread Starter   #11
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Hookem
Well then I am at a complete loss as to what you are talking about...I have only purchased and installed about 200 Antec TruePower power supply's and probably atleast 20 TrueControls Manual On page four...Item number 7 they tell you to connect the 3 pin fan signal connector to the motherboard...The link for the motherboard manual is not working so let me go chase it down again and try to find what you are talking about...Sorry about the rotten luck johnflyons...But I have never heard of anyone cooking anything by connecting the fan signal connector to their motherboard...I will go check it out for you rhino56...
thank you, your too nice.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 01:34 PM   #12
Artisan
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
Re: antec fan sensor wire


Quote:
Originally posted by johnflyons
I bought a new Antec 550 true control to go in my new Intel system with my new Asus P4C800-E mainboard and hooked those little PS lines to the three prong header on the board.......WRONG! and MORE WRONG! Fan header Blown out of new board and fans Blown out of PS! Leave it unhooked
That sucks! One of the manufactures screwed up and owes you some replacement parts.

That, or you bent the pins in your install and sent 12v down the sensing line.

Either way, its not a reason for all other users not to take advantage of features they have paid for. I had the sensor line of my truepower connected to my a7n8x for more than a year without a problem
Artisan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 02:39 PM Thread Starter   #13
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
well im gonna try it and see what happens.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 03:04 PM   #14
Ritalin
Member

 
Ritalin's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Herzlya, Israel

 
i used it, and then i just unplugged it... really no need for it here
Ritalin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 03:46 PM Thread Starter   #15
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
well i plugged it in and on startup it claimed a hardware error so i check the error and its that the fan is not at a high enough rpm.
so i f1 it and go into windows and asus probe reports the fan speed around 1500-1200
should i just unplug it or should i put in faster fans?

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 04:07 PM   #16
gustav
Member

 
gustav's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Folding in Illinois

 
ive got an antec psu too. it has that same wire. my mobo is an asus as well and to the left of the cpu, there is a 3 pin connector that say pwr_fan by it. look for a connector like this on your motherboard.

here is a pic of that blue wire

here you can kinda see where it is on my mobo, right next to the heatsink/cpu location
gustav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 04:38 PM Thread Starter   #17
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
ok i will check it now.

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 05:07 PM Thread Starter   #18
rhino56
Member

 
rhino56's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Arkansas

 
i didnt have that plug in but its probably because you have a p4c800 and i got a p4g8x.
i did take the fan grills off my PS and it was good for 100 rpms or so, im at 1230 to 1240 rpms now

__________________
Asus Maximus Extreme IV-Z
i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 5.0GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB
SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6970
Crucial M4 128GB III SSD
HITACHI 750GB 7200RPM SATA
Noctua NH-D14
Corsair 650D
rhino56 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 06:09 PM   #19
gustav
Member

 
gustav's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Folding in Illinois

 
mine run anywhere from 1300 rpm to 1700 rpm. i want to replace them with panflo fans so my psu will cool better and hopefully bring down my temps some more.
gustav is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-20-04, 06:25 PM   #20
Como
Member

 
Como's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maine

 
yeah, someday i'll replace my antec fans as well...but for now i like them...they are quiet. (well at least the ones in the PSU, the others are the loudest own!)

__________________
This space is for rent.*


*I'm Lying
Como is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?