Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Defaultly Overvolted?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-04, 09:21 PM Thread Starter   #1
Will Eatforfood
Member

 
Will Eatforfood's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Your basement

 
Defaultly Overvolted?


Wow.......I just downloaded a pretty recent Aopen Config program that displays things like how much mem is used and bios ver. and core speed and all that....Well, I look under bios and it says the core is at 3.3v!Isn't this a bit high?......this occurred with the katmai, which I believe should be at like 2.00v-2.08? The mobo is AX6BC.......I got it to 558mhz, and will boot at 581, but like 10 seconds in, it will restart......I just downloaded a newer bios version, which is better, because before, it didn't even post at 581. Maybe I'll put in better stuff......Two more months until my sis gets this old comp for websurfing/warcraft3:RoC/"solitaire" anyways.

__________________
E6600 3.51ghz
P5W Digital HOME
OCZ 4GB Gold Edition XTC 667@976mhz Cas-5
Powercolor 4830
Sony STR-K700
Pioneer Multi-Write
WD Raptor 74ADFD
250gb 7200.10 Perpendicular Seagate(Sharing Drive),Samsung HD103UJ 1TB
Saitek Eclipse/MX-Rev :thup:
Sharp 42' Aquos :santa:
My proper computer sitting position is reclined.

Heatware
Will Eatforfood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-30-04, 02:30 PM   #2
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
That would fry it instantaneuosly.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-31-04, 09:24 AM   #3
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
The default vcore of a P3 katami whoose default speed is less than 600MHz is 2.00v. However, the default voltage for the L2 cache is 3.3v. Remember, the L2 cache is not on die, but still on the CPU's PCB. Perhaps this voltage is being mistakenly interpreted to be the core's?


On another topic, I wonder if you could get 3.3v to work with adequate cooling...
That would be a 65% boost in voltage. A 500MHz katami would go from producing 19W to 31.4W without any increase in speed. Maybe with a prometia or something? I mean, my cpu chews through more watts at stock.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-04, 01:30 AM   #4
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
I don't think so. Remember electron migration? Even if it could be kept cool, that would shorten its lifespan to weeks maybe. People with athlons a 2v arent expecting their chips to last more than a couple of years, and that is less than 30% most of the time overvolted.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-01-04, 11:39 AM   #5
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
I was thinking that with bigger interconnects and slower speeds, along with less current draw, it might work for a while. It would, of couse, be only advisible if you diodn't mind frying your cpu. When power levels got high enpough for electromigration to be a serious problem, manufactures switched to Cu interconnects. With less resistance, the interconnects didn't heat up as much, and electromigration was slowed considerably. Of course, the Katami still used Al interconnects. If we calculate the power draw of the highest pentium-class chip with Al interconnects, that might be the limit before serious electromigration occurs. Honestly, I'd be more worried about straight frying the cpu.

I still think the original problem is a result of the cache voltage being misinterpreted as the core voltage.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?