• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Effects of o/c

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Toonarmy

Ello, i am pretty new to this overclocking stuff, but i have a celeron 600 and gigabyte 6XBC m/b and was amazed to read that someone had o/c'd their celery 600 on the same board to 900+ and it was stable.

i have never really been bothered about overclocking due to the fact that i aint got money to burn to go buying a cpu if it gets burned out, but now the celeries are so cheap it isn't as much of a concern.

i am just wondering how much of an effect o/c'ing has on the lifespan of a cpu by going upto 75, 83 & 100+mhz respectively, and also when the need for more than just air cooling comes into play. today i decided to start o/c'ing this celery and i nudged the fsb upto 75mhz (675mhz). Worked fine in counter-strike for a few hours no probs at all. left the machine on and just came back to it (bout 3 hours later) to find a windows protection error had just occured.

hope someone replies to this with some thoughts and takes the time to realise that i am a bit of an o/c'ing newbie

cheers

yep... I think that's heat related when you got the Windows protection error.. Did you get that when you restart the PC?.. I assume you have stock HSF for that Celery. As obvious, Celeries need good care in cooling in order to overclock and maintain stability. Take your case sides open and take a big house hold fan and blow at it until you get yourself a better HSF. good luck!