Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Unlocked ES 3.0GHz on Ebay

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-16-04, 10:58 AM Thread Starter   #1
AZheater
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
Unlocked ES 3.0GHz on Ebay


http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...category=14293

I'd be really skeptical of this one. First off, it's a WW07 2003 sample, which means it ran through an Intel fab towards the end of 2002, long before most of the major performance enhancements were made. Secondly, if the multiplier only goes up to 15, then it's no better than a 3.0GHz, which would be killed by today's 3.0's. Lastly, the owner is in Hong Kong. Please. Wouldn't touch this one with a 10ft pole!



System in the making:
ASUS P4C800-E
P4 3.2GHz @ ???
vVentiv Mach1
1GB Corsair PC4000
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO
AZheater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 11:20 AM   #2
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
Is there any way to decifer the stepping from the info printed on the chip?


EDIT: Well, I went for the plunge. I have a good reputation with my CC company and I'm sure they will reverse the charges if the seller isnt legit. I saw a 1.9GHz ES go for 240$, so I bought it with buy it now.

Last edited by craig588; 02-16-04 at 11:28 AM.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 12:09 PM Thread Starter   #3
AZheater
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
Good luck with your new processor, let us know once you get it fired up!
AZheater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 12:26 PM   #4
abitavenger
Member

 
abitavenger's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD

10 Year Badge
 
Wow that chip should be nice. PM me if you want about those O\C results im very interested...

abitavenger

__________________
Abit IC7|Pres-hot P4 3.0 @ 3600 MHZ 240 fsb 1.395v | xoxide x-factor midtower 2gb OCZ Platinum Series PC-3200 2.8v |
nvidia geforce ti4400 overclocked to hell |Sound Blaster Audigy |Modded Antec Truepower 430w |
Seagate 120 GB HD
abitavenger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 12:36 PM   #5
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
well it needs to acctually arrive first , but I'll be sure to report the overclocking I can do with it and the stepping reported. (I just hope it isnt a C1, D1 would be great, M0 would make me pass out)
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 12:54 PM   #6
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
isn't it illegal to buy/sell those?
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 12:58 PM   #7
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
well, its too late now.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 02:32 PM   #8
Chaser
Member

 
Chaser's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Glastonbury, CT

 
lol
Chaser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 06:24 PM   #9
caboob
Member

 
caboob's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by stan03
isn't it illegal to buy/sell those?
Illegal for the seller probably but after 3 years that restriction is lifted if I recall.
caboob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 06:27 PM   #10
caboob
Member

 
caboob's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
BTW Craig, that is a good price ya got for the chip. I paid more for mine but I consider this a once-in-a-lifetime kind of purchase.
caboob is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 07:38 PM   #11
ShaDrag
Member

 
ShaDrag's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NY

 
Wow 225, Id take an ES for that. Please let us know how it is!

__________________

Intel E8200
G.Skill 4GB DDR2-1000
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
Gigabyte GeForce 8800GT
Gigabyte i-RAM

(I don't like Gigabyte that much, they just lucked out this time :-p)

ShaDrag is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 07:40 PM   #12
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
yeah, I probably would have gone up to 350$ for a unlocked P4C. Now I just cant buy anything else for the rest of the month so I can be sure I can pay back Visa.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 08:58 PM Thread Starter   #13
AZheater
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2004

 
Realize that not all unlocked units are created equally. This particular one is the first 3GHz stepping, so you can't set the multiplier higher than 15. The major benefit of ES units are that you can set multipliers in the BIOS and are mobo limited not CPU limited, but since this one won't recoginze a multiplier >15, it's effectively a locked 3GHz unit.

Don't know if you've had an ES before, but I've had problems with them being recognized on ASUS boards. Sometimes they won't POST (will give you the "System Failed CPU Test" error). Still, it will be interesting to see how you do with this one.
AZheater is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-16-04, 09:09 PM   #14
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
I'm planning to drop the multi to like 13 or 14x, I wont be maxing out my mobo or ram if its at 15x.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-17-04, 05:26 AM   #15
FIZZ3
Member

 
FIZZ3's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NL, Europe

 
Quote:
Originally posted by caboob


Illegal for the seller probably but after 3 years that restriction is lifted if I recall.
Same discussion as in the other "ES on ebay" thread. I don't know about USA laws but over here if you buy stolen goods (say, a bicycle) and the police tracks it, you may face charges for buying stolen property even if you claim you "did not know".
Now for ES samples, the buyer is very aware of the special status and could have easily determined that these are not legal to sell. In other words, I think you're in trouble as a buyer if they track you.

__________________
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6700 @ 2.67Ghz / TR AXP-140 | Asus P5W DH Dlx | Corsair TwinX 4Gb PC6400 CL4
Nvidia 8800 GTS 640Mb / TR HR-03 | Creative X-Fi
2x WD Raptor 150Gb | Plextor PX-760SA
Lian Li V2000 Plus | Corsair HX620
Dell 2407WFP | Logitech Z-5500

Laptop: Sony VAIO Z11
Intel i5-520M | 4Gb | Nvidia GT330M | 2x64Gb RAID-0 SSD | 13" 1600x900 panel
FIZZ3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?