Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

radio-type commercials playing at random...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-18-04, 02:26 PM Thread Starter   #1
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
radio-type commercials playing at random...


Hey people my problem here is simple...

for the past few days, I have been hearing this same radio commecial just start playing through my speakers. I know its coming from the computer because I turn up the volume and it gets loulder...

Its like a commercial for some movie, "club red" i believe... but anyway its starting to freak me out, I have NAV 2002 installed but it hasn't really said anything as far as there being any viruii in the system....

I guess I will run a full system scan via NAV and online through TrendMicro.. but what do you guys think?
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 03:07 PM   #2
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
If no virii show up, try searching for Ad/Spyware on your system with Ad-Aware and Spybot.

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 03:16 PM   #3
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
its AIM

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 04:02 PM Thread Starter   #4
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Crash893
its AIM [/QUOTE0]

Really? I just happen to be an avid AIM user... I'll run a spyware/adware scan too
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 05:08 PM   #5
DeepSky
Member

 
DeepSky's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jax, FL

 
Yeh definatly sounds like Spyware/ADware


God i hate that crap....
DeepSky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 07:40 PM   #6
DayUSeX
Member

 
DayUSeX's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003

 
also it could be youre speakers try moving them around, as they can pick up radio signals
DayUSeX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 07:52 PM   #7
athayer187
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Vernon, CT

 
Nah - it's definitely AIM - it's not spyware or anything, it's part of the program. There is a free patch out there somewhere that will get rid of the ads, I forget the name, just search for AIM wudio ads or something in google.

__________________
i5 2500k @4.2
athayer187 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 07:53 PM Thread Starter   #8
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
Thanks for the support everyone
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 08:07 PM   #9
Crash893
"The man in black fled across the desert, and the gunslinger followed."
Senior Member

 
Crash893's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 22033

10 Year Badge
 
i thihnk ( not sure)

just minimizing aim should keep it from doing it

i got it once too

is there a way to block aim's access to port 80

__________________
My Prime95 stats Huzza
1004.793 Years total
Noli turbare circulos meos!
i'm moving to Theory, Everything works there
' I want to be the unwobbling pivot at the center of an ever-revolving universe; I want to be still.'
Crash893 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-18-04, 08:16 PM Thread Starter   #10
iNSiGMA
Member

 
iNSiGMA's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ohio, USA

 
I'm sure there is a way to block AIM's access to port 80, but I'd rather attack the problem directly, as in removing that annoying feature or whatever you want to call it...
iNSiGMA is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?