• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ok...Any Raid advice (atto benches inside)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

spldart

Ok. I like doing video editing. I needed some speed.
I was stuck with ata100 devices on ide0 for some time.
They scored:
catto.jpg

I finally put in a Promise TX2000 controller with two WD Caviar 80 gig 7200 rpm 8meg cache drives.
I reduced my FSB in order to have the upmost stability with this unknown card and scored:
raidatto.jpg

There is an obvious improvement there but is it what I should be seeing?
Are there any tweaks anybody can recommend?
BTW this card is in one of my 64/66 slots in my dually.

And advice at all since I'm new to Raid would be appreciated.
Or should I just shut up and be happy with this score? :)
Thanks

raidatto3210.jpg

There yah go, 35 10. What are these numbers telling me and is there anything I can do to tweak the setup for max performance?
I will be running my fsb back up after I'm confy this setup is stable.

For working with large files (like video editing), large stripe sizes (in the RAID array) are usually better.

(the only two cents I have...)

raidatto3210nofold.jpg

I killed folding for this run. I still have some other stuff in the background but those shouldn't be disk accessing at that time.
Tomorrow after work I'll ramp up the fsb and do some more tests but with no apps at all open or in the background except windows.

I host on port 91 since I can't get my web server app to get out on 80. I'm thinking it may be the cable modem is designed to prevent me from doing that. Dunno.
If you're behind a firewall you will probably not see them.
And there is the occasional server reboot :(

spldart said:
If you're behind a firewall you will probably not see them.

That is probably it.