• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

p3 800 question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

IronLungsta

k well me again, got another question....
Heres my specs...
intel p3 800
pc133 ram (generic)
30 gig partitioned into 3 10 gig's @ 7200 rpms..
asus cuv4x
voodoo5500 oc'ed to 176

Ive tried a couple fsb settings, had it as high as 898 and as low as 828...
all settings extremely unstable.. im on stock fans and my cpu never reaches temp's ne higher than 40 C. so i dont think temp is the problem.. ive been readin up and found that u have to match ur ram mhz depending on what u have.. but my sdram only has setting to change it to 3/4 and 1/4 something like that... sorry guys im a bit of a newbie to this..im doing all my changes in my bios... ne1 have ne suggestions? is it the generic ram thats causing the problem??
thanx guys...

What do you mean all settings are unstable? Do you mean at default speed or just when you try to overclock? It sounds like some settings are wrong in the bios or you have an IRQ conflict or something, cause your temps arent all that high. Hard to say, It's a little hard to understand whats going on!

running generic ram out of spec will cause probems

you can go to www.rojakpot.com and look for bios guide this will explain allot of settings.

Depending on your front side bus [FSB] setting will determine what you run for your PCI divider i believe anything 133 and over will be set at 1\4 if you can give us a little more info so we can help you better also i would read up at the tips section theres allot of info to digest before you get a good grasp on whats going on, the more you learn the better your PC is going to be.

its unstable when i overclock it, regardless of how high i set it..
My system hangs inside of games majority of the time...