Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

How to turn on a PS

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-04, 03:59 PM Thread Starter   #1
Big_Baller
Member

 
Big_Baller's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
How to turn on a PS


Ok How do I turn on a Power supply without a motherboard? Like what pins do I connect?

__________________
e7300 w/ Rosewill RCX-Z3 fan, G.SKILL PI Black 4GB 4-4-4-12, evga 9800gx2, Asus P5Q SE mobo, cooler master real power pro 650w.
------------------------
Dell Inspiron 6000 running gentoo Linux.
------------------------
2GHz celeron, 512MB, Media/network server running Gentoo linux
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 running DD-WRT
------------------------
Proud member of P.E.T.A: People for the Eating of Tasty Animals.
Big_Baller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-04, 04:08 PM   #2
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-21-04, 04:11 PM Thread Starter   #3
Big_Baller
Member

 
Big_Baller's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
So connecting pins 14 and 15,16, or 17 should work. Thx

__________________
e7300 w/ Rosewill RCX-Z3 fan, G.SKILL PI Black 4GB 4-4-4-12, evga 9800gx2, Asus P5Q SE mobo, cooler master real power pro 650w.
------------------------
Dell Inspiron 6000 running gentoo Linux.
------------------------
2GHz celeron, 512MB, Media/network server running Gentoo linux
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 running DD-WRT
------------------------
Proud member of P.E.T.A: People for the Eating of Tasty Animals.
Big_Baller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 02:28 AM   #4
Susquehannock
The Mad Smelter

 
Susquehannock's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland, USA

 
Ahhh ... that lynk above makes it seem more
complicated than it is.

Assuming you just want to power your PSU on the bench,
just get yourself a short piece of wire and connect
the green wire to the black ground wire on the end of
the ATX connector.

That will fool the PSU into thinking it's connected to a board.
Hope that helps.
Attached Images
 
Susquehannock is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 03:23 AM   #5
creepy
Member



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: tn

 
1.Take a peice of wire a few inches long.
2.Strip each end of the wire.
3.Stick one end of the wires into a hole where a GREEN wire is connected.
4.Take the other end of the wire and stick it in a hole where a BLACK wire is connected.

If youre using the psu as just a "test" psu as id call it. Basicly all I have is a 250w JUNK psu that I use for testing fans etc and what i did was cut one of the green wires and black wires and then wired them together so as soon as i plug in the psu it turns on. Just a suggestion if this is something like youre going for.

__________________
Case: corsair carbide 500r
Power: antec hcg-900
CPU: i7- 4930k @ 4.1
Mobo: asus x79 deluxe
Ram: 8gb g.skill trident pc2400
Video: 2x evga gtx-780's
Sound: sound blaster x-fi titanium fatal1ty
Cooling: corsair h110
HDD: samsung 840 pro 128gb, intel 530 80gb,WD caviar black 500gb
creepy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 10:39 AM   #6
Tismedt
Shadow рс's after me!!!

 
Tismedt's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Suisun City Ca. I love this Town

 
Thats a great Idea creepy. I hadent thought of that. I'll have one like that in a few minutes

Thanks
Tismedt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 11:04 AM Thread Starter   #7
Big_Baller
Member

 
Big_Baller's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

 
Ya it worked great. Thx

__________________
e7300 w/ Rosewill RCX-Z3 fan, G.SKILL PI Black 4GB 4-4-4-12, evga 9800gx2, Asus P5Q SE mobo, cooler master real power pro 650w.
------------------------
Dell Inspiron 6000 running gentoo Linux.
------------------------
2GHz celeron, 512MB, Media/network server running Gentoo linux
Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 running DD-WRT
------------------------
Proud member of P.E.T.A: People for the Eating of Tasty Animals.
Big_Baller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 05:46 PM   #8
stool
Senior Member

 
stool's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Albany, NY

10 Year Badge
 
A word of caution....not all PSUs have a green wire on pin 14. As the pic shows, you want that pin and any of the black grounds.

__________________
My Heatware
stool is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-22-04, 11:03 PM   #9
Susquehannock
The Mad Smelter

 
Susquehannock's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Maryland, USA

 
Quote:
Originally posted by stool
A word of caution....not all PSUs have a green wire on pin 14. As the pic shows, you want that pin and any of the black grounds.
Very good tip.

That's why I mentioned the colors in my post and put
the G and B in my image. I should have been more specific
as someone may have assumed that all were the same and
ignored the colors.
Susquehannock is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?