Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

can't seem to be able to unlock refresh rates :(

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-04, 07:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
login211
Member

 
login211's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
can't seem to be able to unlock refresh rates :(


just got my 9700pro today, installed oemega 4.2 drivers

all is well but i can't unlock my refresh rates for resolotions that i'm not currently using, meaning i have set my refresh rate at 1152x864(which i'm using right now) to 75Hz and it works but i want to set the refresh rate at 1024x768 to 85(that is the max my monitor can handle at this res) but i am unable to do it

i installed powerstrip but that didnt' help, i installed Reforce and set the refresh rates for the resolutions i use and applied and rebooted but it didn't work :/

nvidia drivers had this function built in, do ati drivers have it aswell?

thanks

__________________
ABIT NF7-S 2.0 Bios 23-3DFire | XP-M2500+ @ 2.48Ghz (236x10.5) @ 1.85V | 1x512MB PC3700 TwinMOSS 11-3-2-2T @ 2.98V | PowerColor Radeon 9700Pro @ 360/360 | Lapped SP-97/Tt Smart Case Fan II | Windows XP SP1 | Enermax 465W | F@H for TEAM 32!!! | My heatware
login211 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 07:17 PM   #2
$anch3z
Member

 
$anch3z's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK Plymouth

 
when you loaded your omegas did you remove or have any other ATI software on your system?

btw there have been a few bugs reported with these latest cats.....that said i'm using the same ones with no problems at all ....but i always remove previous drivers first as i have had problems with overwriting even though the guy who mods these drivers recommends overwriting
$anch3z is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 07:29 PM Thread Starter   #3
login211
Member

 
login211's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
i was using nvidia before i install this 9700 pro

i removed the nvidia drivers before i install the card

__________________
ABIT NF7-S 2.0 Bios 23-3DFire | XP-M2500+ @ 2.48Ghz (236x10.5) @ 1.85V | 1x512MB PC3700 TwinMOSS 11-3-2-2T @ 2.98V | PowerColor Radeon 9700Pro @ 360/360 | Lapped SP-97/Tt Smart Case Fan II | Windows XP SP1 | Enermax 465W | F@H for TEAM 32!!! | My heatware
login211 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 07:32 PM   #4
$anch3z
Member

 
$anch3z's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK Plymouth

 
try the forum linked to the omega site .....driver heaven i think.....maybe they will have the answer you need
$anch3z is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 08:49 PM   #5
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
Did you install Multires with the Omegas?

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 09:32 PM   #6
Strida
Member

 
Strida's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa

 
Though I doubt it, it might just be that your monitor doesn't like high(er) refresh rate any longer.

Best of luck though.

__________________
Processor - Xeon 3060, 3.8ghz
Motherboard - Abit IP35-E, 423 x 9
Ram - 4GB GSkill, DDR2 1000
Video Card - nVidia 8800GT, stock
Power Supply - Sparkle/Fortron 550 Watt
Sound Card - X-Fi Fatal1ty / DTS Connect
Audio: Speakers - Harman Kardon HK-254 / L, R Athena AS-B2 / SL, SR Athena AS-B1 / C Athena AS-C1 / Sub Premier Acoustic PA-120 650W
Audio: Cans - Grado SR-225 / Sennheiser HD-580 / PIMETA Amp
Heatware
Strida is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-24-04, 10:10 PM Thread Starter   #7
login211
Member

 
login211's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
what are you guys using to unlock your refresh rates?

my monitor is fine, with my gf4ti4400 and gf4mx400 i was running 1024x768@85hz and 1152x864@75Hz

__________________
ABIT NF7-S 2.0 Bios 23-3DFire | XP-M2500+ @ 2.48Ghz (236x10.5) @ 1.85V | 1x512MB PC3700 TwinMOSS 11-3-2-2T @ 2.98V | PowerColor Radeon 9700Pro @ 360/360 | Lapped SP-97/Tt Smart Case Fan II | Windows XP SP1 | Enermax 465W | F@H for TEAM 32!!! | My heatware
login211 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-04, 08:07 PM   #8
Strida
Member

 
Strida's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa

 
You can get unlocking software and such that will fool the drivers into setting your monitor to higher refresh rates.

However even though this sounds cool and follows along with the overclocker's outlook, it will destroy your monitor. Quickly.

__________________
Processor - Xeon 3060, 3.8ghz
Motherboard - Abit IP35-E, 423 x 9
Ram - 4GB GSkill, DDR2 1000
Video Card - nVidia 8800GT, stock
Power Supply - Sparkle/Fortron 550 Watt
Sound Card - X-Fi Fatal1ty / DTS Connect
Audio: Speakers - Harman Kardon HK-254 / L, R Athena AS-B2 / SL, SR Athena AS-B1 / C Athena AS-C1 / Sub Premier Acoustic PA-120 650W
Audio: Cans - Grado SR-225 / Sennheiser HD-580 / PIMETA Amp
Heatware
Strida is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-04, 09:05 PM Thread Starter   #9
login211
Member

 
login211's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
i never was setting my monitor refresh rates to rates that it could not handle...

neway i fixed the problem and my refresh rates are uncapped

__________________
ABIT NF7-S 2.0 Bios 23-3DFire | XP-M2500+ @ 2.48Ghz (236x10.5) @ 1.85V | 1x512MB PC3700 TwinMOSS 11-3-2-2T @ 2.98V | PowerColor Radeon 9700Pro @ 360/360 | Lapped SP-97/Tt Smart Case Fan II | Windows XP SP1 | Enermax 465W | F@H for TEAM 32!!! | My heatware
login211 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-04, 07:13 PM   #10
FishD
Member

 
FishD's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin, lreland

 
Ive just installed the latest ATI Catalyst drivers, and i'm getting the same problem.

Was working fine, and able to get the highest refresh rates from all resolutions. Now it seems fixed at 60 or 75. Very noticable flicker now @1200x1600.

Have updated from Omegas. 2.6.22.

BTW, there's a noticable reduction in performance between these. I was getting much better frame rates in most games with these drivers.


Think i'm going back to these.......

__________________
CPU:E2500K@4.3
RAM:8gb Xtreem LV DDR3 PC3-16000
MB:Asus P8 Z68-V Pro
GPU:2 Gigabyte GTX670 2gb SLI
CASE:Coolmaster
PSU: Corsair TX850M
COOLER:Corsair H75, with push/pull fans
OS:Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
HD:2Tb WD20EZRX Blue, 126 OCZ vertex 4 SDD,120 OCZ Agility
NET:Cable 100/8)
SuperPi : Now 8s 1m, 46s 4m
Screen: 3 x 24" 1920x1200 LCD IPS screens + 17" 1440X900.
FishD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-04, 06:51 PM   #11
skitlets
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: bay area

 
u can unlock using direct x too. its in control panels, open it up, and i believe on the last tab, u can hit override there. do at ur own risk tho.

edit - oepn up direct x in control panel, then hit dxdiag, hit more help, then override.
skitlets is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-01-04, 07:12 PM   #12
FishD
Member

 
FishD's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Dublin, lreland

 
Found better solution,
Installed Omega drivers, 4.2 catalyst,
Much better than ATI, for me,

Working well now

__________________
CPU:E2500K@4.3
RAM:8gb Xtreem LV DDR3 PC3-16000
MB:Asus P8 Z68-V Pro
GPU:2 Gigabyte GTX670 2gb SLI
CASE:Coolmaster
PSU: Corsair TX850M
COOLER:Corsair H75, with push/pull fans
OS:Windows 7 64bit Ultimate
HD:2Tb WD20EZRX Blue, 126 OCZ vertex 4 SDD,120 OCZ Agility
NET:Cable 100/8)
SuperPi : Now 8s 1m, 46s 4m
Screen: 3 x 24" 1920x1200 LCD IPS screens + 17" 1440X900.
FishD is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?