Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

holy dog crap!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-04, 02:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
charmapsyche
Member

 
charmapsyche's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Palatine, IL

 
Angry holy dog crap!!!


If it's not one problem it's another!
-Installing XP in dos(ok, figured it out)
-Installing XP in dos with a serial ata hd!! (ok figured this one out too)

-Finally, I install windows and I can't even set it up because I get this error:

-Windows XP 'Error Code: 0x80070002' - license-checking?

So I look it up on google, and microsoft along with a few other places say to:

1. Restart your computer in Safe mode by pressing F8 during startup.

2. Use the Registry Editor to delete the following keys:

HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Cryptograph y\Providers

HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-20\Software\Microsoft\Cryptography\Providers

3. Exit the Registry Editor and shutdown / restart your computer.

Still getting the same error!!!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
charmapsyche is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-25-04, 07:07 PM   #2
DanFraser
Member

 
DanFraser's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Derby UK

10 Year Badge
 
Done all this?

When you start your computer, you receive:

A problem is preventing Windows from accurately checking the license for this computer. Error code: 0x80070002.

This problem is caused by changing the system drive letter or by changing the default security provider.

If your system drive letter has changed, undo the actions that caused it, or:
1. Use the Registry Editor to navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Cryptography \Defaults\Provider.
2. In each Provider key, edit the Image Path value to match the new drive letter.
3. When you are finished, exit the Registry Editor and shutdown / restart your computer.
If the default security provider has changed:
1. Restart your computer in Safe mode by pressing F8 during startup.
2. Use the Registry Editor to delete the following keys:
HKEY_USERS\.DEFAULT\Software\Microsoft\Cryptograph y\Providers
HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-20\Software\Microsoft\Cryptography\Providers
3. Exit the Registry Editor and shutdown / restart your computer.

Or this?

http://www.foldingathome.org/3/windo...x80070002.html

It could most probably be the drive letter change needed, as you did not show that as what you have done... Also, are you using a Dell Installation CD?

__________________
Q6600 2.4GHz G0 Stepping @ Stock 8192MB DDR2 @800MHz Ram
Asus P5N-E SLI MSI GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB Video Card
A few drives Lian Li PC60
500W Huntkey PSU (I think it's still this!) Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
DanFraser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 07:10 AM Thread Starter   #3
charmapsyche
Member

 
charmapsyche's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Palatine, IL

 
Yes, that's exactly the same help I got from Microsoft and it didn't work.
-I'm using a full install windows xp professional disc too....

-I'm not to keen on that PC Doctor on Call either... it doesn't even tell you how much up front, that's bad business, and it just looks like a basic registry editor.

-I could use my Norton System works for that anyway...

-I don't have this PC hooked up to the internet anyway so I'm sure that doesn't help much.

-I've tried reinstalling and I can't even get through the installation process anymore. I'm starting to think I may have a corrupted Installation disk.

-I did a full surface scan of the hard drive and the hard drive is fine, I've reformatted, and I'm using fat 32 partitions. I even tried installing win 98 first and then upgrading and that didn't work....

-Now I really think it's the installation cd because it fails to even copy a number of files.

-Stupid microsoft!!!!!!

-I'm devoting more time to learning Linux/Unix!!!!!!
charmapsyche is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 02:00 PM   #4
gt24
Member

 
gt24's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Maybe you could get a replacement Windows XP disk if you try to contact Microsoft with your problem? Just a suggestion...

Also, look at the bottom of your Windows XP disk... is it scratched up?

As far as I know, you can copy your XP disk, and you might want to consider it. You can't give the copy away (besides, that is ILLEGAL), but the copy is there so that once you scratch that disk all up to heck, you can shread/melt/french fry the thing and make another copy, so all you destroy is the copies and never the originals...

Just a suggestion... I rarely ever use my XP disk, so thus it isn't scratched...

__________________
:: Main System ::
ASUS P8Z77-V LK, Intel i5-3570, 8 Gb Ram, Geforce 9600 GT, Windows 8.1 Pro

:: PDAs, Tablets ::
Asus Transformer TF 101, HTC Wildfire S
gt24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-04, 02:34 AM   #5
ssgohan434
Member

 
ssgohan434's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley---> moved to Washington State

 
did this ever get solved? im having the same problem.....

BTW thread resurrection in 5, 4, 3, 2, 1 ...

__________________
E6300 @ 3.6gHz (watercooled)
Gigabyte DS3
BFG GeForce 7600GT
TeamGroup 2x512MB d9 ics

Heatware

Crunchin' For SETI
and Folding@Home
ssgohan434 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-04, 09:09 AM   #6
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by charmapsyche
holy dog poopy!!!
I'd like to know why you decided to sidestep the forum's rules by bypassing the language filter, and starting a thread with a title like that. IMO, your post doesn't even deserve a response...very distasteful, especially in a G rated forum.


Last edited by JoT; 07-26-04 at 10:06 PM.
redduc900 is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-24-04, 01:55 PM   #7
ssgohan434
Member

 
ssgohan434's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Silicon Valley---> moved to Washington State

 
anyways , i got my problem fixed now. I did the repair install of windows. Some of programs are not installed correctly, but oh well. (i was thinking of doing a full install in a couple weeks anyways)

__________________
E6300 @ 3.6gHz (watercooled)
Gigabyte DS3
BFG GeForce 7600GT
TeamGroup 2x512MB d9 ics

Heatware

Crunchin' For SETI
and Folding@Home
ssgohan434 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-25-04, 11:48 AM   #8
Malpine Walis
Disabled



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Banned Camp

 
Don't worrk about it redduc900. It was changed seconds after I PMed Luta
Malpine Walis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-04, 09:48 PM   #9
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Thanks Douglas...that thread title was driving me nuts.

redduc900 is online now   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?