Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Poll: K8's or not?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-04, 09:21 AM Thread Starter   #1
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Poll: K8's or not?


I wish I had magic poll making powers

Anyways,

1.) I have an AMD K8 processor

2.) I have an AMD K7 or older processor

3.) I am upgrading to K8 soon

4.) I am upgrading when skt 939 comes out

5.) I am upgrading when skt 939 becomes affordable

6.) I plan on upgrading once AMD's 90nm comes out

7.) I do not have plans to upgrade to a K8

Im not sure about but last time I checked the roadmap the "Athlon XP" will be skt 754 and 90nm when everything else is 939 and 90nm and will be the budget chip. (Paris)

8.) I might upgrade to Paris if it is cheap


Happy polling! -THE AMD AND COOLIN mAN

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 10:52 AM   #2
dead_man311
Member

 
dead_man311's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Some where in Michigan

 
you need a option 9 waiting till the full edition of windows 64 is out and is working good or at lease working which ever come first

thats my pick
dead_man311 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 10:59 AM   #3
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
I'm a combiantion of 5 and 6. I'm waiting until good 90nm hammers come out and are affordable. Or maybe I'll wait until K9, I don't realy have the money to upgrade with prices going the way they're going.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 11:19 AM   #4
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by dead_man311
you need a option 9 waiting till the full edition of windows 64 is out and is working good or at lease working which ever come first

thats my pick
Well there's already Windows 2003 server 64bit and it runs ok.
I don't think that it will do you much good just waiting for Win64 as if u buy earlier than that, you can always upgrade to it when its out.

Quote:
Originally posted by Gnufsh
I'm a combiantion of 5 and 6. I'm waiting until good 90nm hammers come out and are affordable. Or maybe I'll wait until K9, I don't realy have the money to upgrade with prices going the way they're going.
I'm with you on that one. I too plan to do a MAJOR upgrade next year, it will be in about a year, hopefully Q1 or really early Q2.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 11:37 AM   #5
dead_man311
Member

 
dead_man311's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Some where in Michigan

 
Ive thought about upgrading to the 64, its so tempting.

but im pertty happy with my system

and plus i got gas and nitromethane in my Veins, and i really want to work on my drag car so the computer is gonig to have to wait
dead_man311 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 12:03 PM   #6
comfortablynumb
Member

 
comfortablynumb's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NorthEast

 
I'm getting the parts for my 64 box next week....with linux already doing so well (Gentoo)
in 64bit this was a no-brainer.....I could not care less about windows....(have old 98 for limited gaming)
Hopefully my new system will last a couple of years (maybe).

CN
comfortablynumb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 03:29 PM Thread Starter   #7
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Quote:
Originally posted by The Coolest

I don't think that it will do you much good just waiting for Win64 as if u buy earlier than that, you can always upgrade to it when its out.

That was my thinking. Once it comes out all you gotta do is update the OS.

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 03:31 PM Thread Starter   #8
@md0Cer

 
@md0Cer's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Gnufsh
I'm a combiantion of 5 and 6. I'm waiting until good 90nm hammers come out and are affordable. Or maybe I'll wait until K9, I don't realy have the money to upgrade with prices going the way they're going.
Same here. I can see myself using my 2.4Ghz athlon until it becomes unusable if the current prices stay the way they are.

__________________
Current System:
XP 1700+ DLT3C 0310 XPMW 185X13.5 = 2.5GHz 1.875Vcore
Thermalright SLK-900A
Abit KD7 Via KT400 5:2:1 divider PCI: 37Mhz AGP:92.5Mhz
3X256+512=1278MB RAM assortment 185Mhz 2.95Vdimm
ATi Radeon X700 Pro 256mb Core:435Mhz Ram: 475Mhz
Forton 400 watt PSU
Black Cheiftec Dragon full side window

Folding User Stats
@md0Cer is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 03:32 PM   #9
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
If you want I can post a poll for you, or if you contact a mod they can add one to this post.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 04:18 PM   #10
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by The Coolest



I don't think that it will do you much good just waiting for Win64 as if u buy earlier than that, you can always upgrade to it when its out.


By the time Windows-64 comes out 64-bit architecture will have evolved two-fold, and prices will be signficantly lower.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 04:29 PM   #11
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
Yes, but if you want a great setup now that is still somewhat upgradable and got potential then even buying today is okay.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-26-04, 06:31 PM   #12
trueplaya4ever8
Member

 
trueplaya4ever8's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Saint Cloud, FL

10 Year Badge
 
i am waitin on the 939s..

__________________
ASUS Maximus IV Hero | 4770k | H70 | 2x8GB Team Xtreem 2400mhz | EVGA 780TI SC | X-Star 27" | 250GB Samsung EVO | Corsair AX750 | Cosair Air 540

My Heat
http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25800
trueplaya4ever8 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 10:30 AM   #13
PingSpike
Member

 
PingSpike's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vermont, USA

 
I'm gonna wait until the 939s are affordable and ram has quieted down for them before I'm going to take a serious look. I hope that socket 939 becomes the next 'socket A' and I can avoid having to swap motherboards and CPUs every year. Right now, it just doesn't make sense to me since my current machine is running fine and all the socket business is up in the air still.

__________________
Epox 9U1697 GLI, X2 3800+ Manchester @ 2410mhz, 1.35v AC Freezer 64, 2x1024mb Corsair Value Select @ 221 2.5-3-3-10 2.7v, eVGA 8800GTS @ stock, 80GB SATA WD 7200/8mb, SB Live! value, 3Com NIC
Heat
PingSpike is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 10:36 AM   #14
Xtc4u
Member

 
Xtc4u's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Somewhere wishing i wasn't there.

 
I have both 1 and 2. I'm happy with them both also. I'll be even happier once XP64 comes out and actually works right for more than server operations.
Xtc4u is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 11:01 AM   #15
The Coolest
Senior Member

 
The Coolest's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tel Aviv, Israel

10 Year Badge
 
I'm using Win2k3 as a desktop OS, and it runs just fine, the "Server" ending of the OSes name doesn't mean you can't use it as a workstation, it means you can also use it as a Server, although there are a few things you must reenable (Like hardware acceleration and the sound), but after doing it, it acts almost the same as a workstation PC.

__________________
"<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
Main rig:
Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
Secondary rig:
Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

Heatware
The Coolest is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 12:37 PM   #16
Chuckman
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: dorm room

 
im hoping to upgrade to a k8 midlevel machine in the winter, maybe spring, when i might have some cash. for now my current rig will last untill my 8500 is outdated, it still plays every game i throw at it almost perfectly.
Chuckman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 08:42 PM   #17
plbowler
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ahhh, thats better...

 
Just finished the Machine in my sig last night...
plbowler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 10:52 PM   #18
Richard
Senior Member

 
Richard's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Looks like a really nice system. I'll probably be building an AMD 64 pretty soon. I've just been debating on when to pull the trigger.

__________________
Cookie!

Treat others as you want to be treated.
Richard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-27-04, 11:38 PM   #19
plbowler
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Ahhh, thats better...

 
thanks, so far so good yeah, REALLLY stable.

I'll do Prime 95 soon, after I get BF1942 up and runnnig again.

you may want to wait for the 939's, apparently they will have PCI locks, whatever that fast PCI bus is (PCI2?) and support Dual Channel RAM configs, I don;t know how far away they are tho-.

this will be the last A64 with a 1meg Cache tho-
plbowler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-04, 12:57 AM   #20
Buhammot
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: North Carolina

 
for some reason.. i ithink i may wait and see what the next generation of cpus after the 939's first big sellers.. and get somethin along the mid market about that time... so in 2 generations of cpus i will prolly upgrade...

college student.. come on.. i be broke

__________________

i5-2500k @4.8ghz@1.5v
Corsair H60
Gigabyte GA-z68a-d3h-b3
G.Skill 2x4gb 12800 DDR3
Seagate 2x1TB (RAID1)
Soundblaster X-Fi Plat
Corsair GS750
Buhammot is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?