• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best Heatsink & Fan, Athlon 2800

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

llChaosll

Sup yall, Im also new to overclocking & I have an Asus a7n8x Dx mb with the Athlon 2800. I have it oc'd to 2.2 now & I want to get a new heatsink & fan so my temps could go down a bit. I was just wondering whats the best cooler out there & if you could supply me with a link if possible. I have stock cooling now & I wanna be able to push my cpu a little farther then 2.2.
& if I do get it how much would the temps drop about?
So someone help a fella out
Thanx in advance
:D

i second that SLK-900A, I got a SLk-900A on mine

dropped my temps with stock cooling from 125'f to 130'f down to 99'f to 140'f

and for fan it you dont mind nose a Vantec 92mm tornado will do the job, and you can get a fan controller for it too and turn it down so its not so loud

Sentential said:
Ultra: (!Warning is extremely loud. Almost requires a fancontroller for everyday use!): http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/del80ffb08123.html

Tornados may be loud but they make a regular aircooled heatsink as effective as water-cooling.

Don't need a 20.00+ fan controller for either a delta or tornado...(the tornados actually have less of a dead center then the deltas)...takes a 2.00 switch...and about 10 minutes or so...7 volt switch mod

Ight thanx a lot for the info
I think I'll prolly get the Sp97, Its definitly compatible with my board right? & what fan should I get along with it?
Im guessin I have to get the fan right l0l
Im new to **** overclocking stuff so ya know
Gott ask some stupid questions sometimes :p
Layta!

I have the SP-97 and a M Model 92mm Panaflo on my ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.0 mobo and I'm totally happy.