Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Abit, Epox and DFI, which to buy?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-04, 08:57 AM Thread Starter   #1
MiracleMan
Member

 
MiracleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brasil

 
Question Abit, Epox and DFI, which to buy?


ABIT NF7
EPOX 8RDA3 PLUS
DFI NFII ULTRA INFINITY

My NF7 (sig) are half dead, with voltage regulators and temp sensors defective.
I'm on the budget, medium to high o/c and game minded, so, which one to buy?
MiracleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-04-04, 05:08 PM   #2
Quailane
Member

 
Quailane's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Who stole my white stars?

 
Get the nf7 if it is the s version. Otherwise get the dfi board.

__________________
I DRIVE A HYUNDAI AND I'M PROUD OF IT!
Quailane is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-04, 07:50 PM Thread Starter   #3
MiracleMan
Member

 
MiracleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brasil

 
Tnx a lot. I will check with my retailer tomorrow.
MiracleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-04, 09:30 PM   #4
Tacoman667
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Kingwood, TX

 
I switched to DFI after using a 8RDA+. The DFI is outstandingly better in performance then EPOX. EPOX has really gone into the crappers over the last 4 years. I got an NF7-S from Newegg but it was a dud on arrival, so I chose the DFI after that mishap. I haven't looked back.

__________________
Who was the first person to look at a cow and say, "I think I'll squeeze these dangly things here, and drink whatever comes out?"

Who was the first person to say "See that chicken there....I'm gonna eat the next thing that comes out of it's butt."



A64 3200+
DFI LanParty UT NF3 250GB
1024meg 2x512meg Kingston HyperX
ATI 9800 PRO 128meg
2x80gig Maxtor SATA RAID0
Tacoman667 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-04-04, 11:12 PM   #5
rxc
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bay Area

 
The choice is between Abit and DFI
rxc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-05-04, 11:41 AM Thread Starter   #6
MiracleMan
Member

 
MiracleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brasil

 
Tnx a lot guys. I will choose Abit, again. Just ordered an NF7-S.
Next week I will have an updated sig.
MiracleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-16-04, 08:04 PM Thread Starter   #7
MiracleMan
Member

 
MiracleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brasil

 
Sig updated. Now I'm just playing with latest Tictac bios.
With my old'n dead Nf7, I never passed 200 fsb. Now, just for start, I'm at 210 mhz, 2 days straight, rock solid.
Note my cheapo Infineon ram. I can smell those sticks burning at 220+
MiracleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-04, 04:25 PM   #8
Staphylococcus
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Club DFI Fanboy-in-Chief

 
Try the DFI, you can always Ebay your Abit.
I've tried Abit, Epox and DFI in fair numbers - but the DFI owns them all ... and has the best sound.
Staphylococcus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-04, 05:15 PM Thread Starter   #9
MiracleMan
Member

 
MiracleMan's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Brasil

 
I can't eBay my Abit cause I'm not in Usa or Uk.
I know Dfi has an better fsb overclock, but I cant afford better memory, so it would not be any diference.
And about the Dfi sound being better, I think they both uses nVidia SoundStorm, so it should not havy that diference.
MiracleMan is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?