Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

a little help..

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-01, 10:08 PM Thread Starter   #1
rezo
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
a little help..


about a week ago i started *experimenting* with my celeron 300A... i got it running stable @ 450mhz (4.5x100), but when trying to up it a bit more, it became unstable. it wouldnt boot up so i tried restarting and it still didnt boot up... i turned off the power supply and waited a bit, then tried again and it still didnt reset to the normal clock speed. i ended up taking my whole computer apart and putting it back together, and then it turned on fine back @ 300mhz... this took a pretty long time, and i am wondering if there is any easier or faster way of resetting the bios to the original cpu clock settings when it wont start up... thx

-rezo
rezo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 10:20 PM   #2
[Oc]acaridans
Senior Member

 
[Oc]acaridans's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001

 
welcome to the forums!!

If you jump your CMOS that will clear that up
[Oc]acaridans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-09-01, 10:38 PM   #3
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

 
Yep and if that gives you trouble just take the battery out of your MB and that will do it too.

goodluck

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-01, 02:10 AM   #4
Zuck Gou :)
Member

 
Zuck Gou :)'s Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001

 
Unless your jumping to a 133mhz FSB then you shouldn't not be able to boot up.

Increase your FSB a little at a time, till you can't load windows or its unstable.
Zuck Gou :) is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-10-01, 09:02 AM   #5
e_storm
Member

 
e_storm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Chicago, IL

 
Finding the jumper for clearing CMOS can be found in your motherboard manual...if not, as stated above, pull the battery out...I think you have to have it out for a while tho.
e_storm is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?