Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

slowdown of menus

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-04, 06:11 AM Thread Starter   #1
rooster098
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
Question slowdown of menus


hey there,
recently, my computer seems to have been performing oddly. it runs ok, normal speeds for most things like games etc, but when i want to do something like right click the start menu, it takes like 4 seconds or more. its like it when i try and delete things too. any ideas what could be causing the slowdown?
thanx
rooster098 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-04, 11:11 AM   #2
Dubbin1
Member

 
Dubbin1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Try to minimize the task's that you have running on startup.

__________________
System Specs
Windows XP Pro (sp1)
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton
Thermalright SP97 HS
Abit NF7-S rev 2.0
2 - Maxtor 80gig 8meg cache
1 - Maxtor 320 gig sata
512meg PC2700
GForce 6600
Klipsch 5.1
Antec P160 Case
Dubbin1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-04, 12:17 PM   #3
Suicide Al
Member

 
Suicide Al's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Shawano, WI

 
if you are experiencing the slow down after you've been playing a memory intensive game like battlefield then your menus are delayed because they are being retrieved out of your page file and they should speed back up after you click them a few times and they have been put back into regular memory. a few other things such as hibernate and sleepmode will do the same thing and you can fix it the same way. Another thing is if you have all the menu fading goodies and what not on, try turning that off and see if it helps any.

__________________
Desktop:Asus P5LD2, E2160, 4 Gigs of Memory, Geforce 7200GS, Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, Dual 17" Monitors
Suicide Al is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-08-04, 01:56 PM   #4
SpaceyWilly
Member

 
SpaceyWilly's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sturbridge, MA

 
Try getting tweakUI (google it)

You can use it to turn up the menu speed, which may not totally resolve the issue if this is a hardware issue, but it should help.

__________________
My Comp:

Athlon XP Barton 2500+ ------------Asus A7V8X
1024mb HyperX PC2700 RAM------Chieftec BLUE Dragon Series Case
5 BLUE Neon LED Fans--------------Leadtek 6800le unlocked to 12x1, 6vp
AverTV TV Tuner--------------------Logitech Z5300s
17" Dell 1704FPT--------------------Microsoft BLUE Optical Mouse
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 Platinum
Gateway FPD2185W 21" Widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell 600m, Pentium M 1.60ghz, 512mb ddr, Radeon Mobility 9000, DVD/CD-RW Combo
SpaceyWilly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-09-04, 05:17 AM Thread Starter   #5
rooster098
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
ok i think the problem is fixed. i have got rid of a few startup tasks and also tried restarting more often to keep the memory fresh and it seems to be ok now. cheers for ure help.
rooster098 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?