Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Pentium 166MMX and WIN98

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-01, 08:35 PM Thread Starter   #1
Krome
Member

 
Krome's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Lone Star State

 
Pentium 166MMX and WIN98


My buddy has a HP, with a P1 166Mhz, and one of his uh...er... Navy(squid) friends installed WIN 98 on it, he complains that it is always crashing on him, is Win98 suggested for his processor? I just passed him some memory, and it is starting to get better he says? Anything?

his system
Pentium 166MMX
had 24 MB, now he has 48 MB
cd drive(broken)

will his system accept a DVD rom?

__________________
Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

"I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
"Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
"I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
"How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
"Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()
Krome is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-01, 09:19 PM   #2
deez
Member

 
deez's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Austin, TX

10 Year Badge
 
i ran 98 on my 166 with no probs....probably bad hard drive or needs format

__________________
heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=6394
deez is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-01, 09:50 PM   #3
Endeavor
Member

 
Endeavor's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001

 
i would run
A) Scan Disk
B) Disk Defrag

see if that helps
Endeavor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 01:58 PM   #4
R0BB23
Member

 
R0BB23's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
put win 2k on it, imporved my packard bell 166mmx alot over twice as fast
R0BB23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 03:53 PM   #5
kieron
New Member



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
Quote:
R0BB23 (Aug 01, 2001 01:58 p.m.):
put win 2k on it, imporved my packard bell 166mmx alot over twice as fast
dont be stupid, the system requirements for 2k are 266 processor, and 64 mb ram!! stick to 98, is it 98 or 98SE, id use SE if i were him.
kieron is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 04:02 PM   #6
ken257
Senior Member

 
ken257's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000

 
On these older systems I find that Windows 95 OSR 2.5 works best. It feels faster on slow machines then W98 and also is very stable. In my office I set up an old 200mmx with 95 osr 2.5 for payrole, it has been flawless for about 2 years now.

Of course you could always switch it over to Linux, RH6 or 6.1 would be a nice distro that would run smooth on that machine

__________________
Overclocking rule #1 If it ain't broke.....fix it!
ken257 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 04:29 PM   #7
R0BB23
Member

 
R0BB23's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
my 166mmx is runing win 2k
and if any of you question that come take a look for yourself

3584 citrus dr. duluth GA
R0BB23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 05:15 PM   #8
6502kid
Member

 
6502kid's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Peoria Ill

 
Ken has the right answer. Win95 is the OS for that machine.

If one is running 2k somewheres, I bet it is one slow pig.
6502kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-01-01, 06:39 PM   #9
R0BB23
Member

 
R0BB23's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
nop speed it up like crazy
win98 se sucks
R0BB23 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-01, 02:49 AM   #10
alex
Guest




 
Quote:
R0BB23 (Aug 01, 2001 06:39 p.m.):
nop speed it up like crazy
win98 se sucks

I don't think win98 SE is SSOOOO bad. OK, it may not be the best, but I have seen worse (like my pc with winME)
  QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-01, 10:53 AM Thread Starter   #11
Krome
Member

 
Krome's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: The Lone Star State

 
Thanks for the Info..I will pass it on to my buddy, where can he get a copy of WIN95? I have a restore disc for my Presario that contains windows95, should we attempt to install from there? I know thats a bad idea, but he is getting desperate. Also since I donated enough memory for him to "double-up" what he had (24MB-->48MB) he says that he is able to download porn a whole heck of alot faster, so that's a plus, now if I can be able to send him Instant Messages without him complaining that Im "LOCKING UP" his system???

__________________
Desktop:Opty170 @ 2.7GHz/x1950 Pro Notebook:Lenovo T61 14.1" - NVS140m [1440x900]
Home Theatre:Sharp Aquos D64 - Yamaha 6.1 - PS3 80GB [Folding for Team 32]

"I have come here to avenge my teacher." - Bruce Lee
"Blessing of your heart, you brew good Ale." - W. Shakespeare
"I'd take vinyl over CD anyday, It's just not the same." - JamesXP
"How are you typing with all that stuff on your hands?" - Sleepy_Steve
"Don't tell me, you only know how to play fighting games?" - Ryu [Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo]
()()>PLAY B3YOND<()()
Krome is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-01, 11:18 AM   #12
AmbientFiction
Senior Folding Zombie

 
AmbientFiction's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Somewhere in the top 100 folders for team 32

10 Year Badge
 
Just install Linux on it I am sure he won't crash it ever again Linux would still run if you took a shotgun to the hard drive. The hard drive my not work but guess what if it could Linux would still be kicking. Install the beast!!!!!

__________________
  • FX9370 + Gigabyte 990FXAUD3 + 16gbMushkin Redline + XFX ATI HD5870 + Thermaltake Ultra 120 Extreme + 250 CFM Delta120mm fan
  • Athlon64x2 AM2 6000@3300 Epox AF570+ultra/g 2G Mushkin DDR2 800+EVGA GTS250

Heatware[/color]
AmbientFiction is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?