Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

My Computer heats up my room!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-04, 07:04 PM Thread Starter   #1
Digital_Cowboy
Member

 
Digital_Cowboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 192.168.1.1

 
My Computer heats up my room!


Does anyone else have this problem, I have all the a/c vents closed everywhere in my house except for my computer room and it's still the hottest room in the house. This thing produces a lot of heat.

__________________
Core I7 970 @ 3.6GHZ | Asus Rampage III Formula | 12GB Patriot DDR3 | EVGA GTX 580 SC | OCZ Revodrive X2 240GB | PCP&C Silencer 940 | Hyper 212+
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHZ | Gigabyte X38-DQ6 | 8GB DDR2 | 2 x ATI 4870 1gb in Crossfire | 2 x 2tb | PCP&C 940 Silencer | Cooler Master Cosmos | hyper 212+
Digital_Cowboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:23 PM   #2
ou_phidelt
Member

 
ou_phidelt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Rockingham, NC

 
I have the same problem. In the summer I have to turn it off at nite just so I can get to sleep.
ou_phidelt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:25 PM   #3
honda_man
Member

 
honda_man's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Lewis, WA

 
Re: My Computer heats up my room!


Quote:
Originally posted by Digital_Cowboy
Does anyone else have this problem, I have all the a/c vents closed everywhere in my house except for my computer room and it's still the hottest room in the house. This thing produces a lot of heat.
What are your case temps? CPU temps? These temps will tell you if it's really your computer or the fact that you are using your houses AC system wrong.

Try opening up all your AC vents in the house. You are actually trying to force all the cold air into one room and AC systems do not work like that. The hot air in your computer room really has no place to go because all the other rooms in the house are already warm. If you cool them down then the hot air in you computer room has somewhere to escape to making conditions better for your system. Try making your whole house the same temp. and see what that does for you.

Last edited by honda_man; 03-11-04 at 07:33 PM.
honda_man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:31 PM   #4
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
Yea, open all the vents, and put a fan in the doorway, like a large box fan. Thats what I do.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:34 PM   #5
JoT
You can't fire me, I have tenure!
MODERATOR

 
JoT's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: California

10 Year Badge
 
#1 Cause for heat is the monitor, especially if you have a fan in it. I do, and my room is 10 degrees hotter than the rest of the house =/

__________________
"There it is, ladies and gentlemen: the most expensive car in the world, dressed up like a mouse."

Why yes, I do have Heat!


---
Welcome to the forums. Please read all of the forum rules. Thank you =) --- What mods are active that I can PM my concerns to?
JoT is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:38 PM   #6
dead_man311
Member

 
dead_man311's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Some where in Michigan

 
moniters heat up fast, go to a old gas station or store with some older style registers with the moniter, there so hot it smell's like there burning
dead_man311 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 07:39 PM   #7
tekOC
Member

 
tekOC's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Apt 2

 
Same with me, I dont find it as a problem though, my room has NO heating whatsoever, so I use my rig as a heater

Whenever it gets too hot I open the window, 10min later everything is nice and cooled down, my window is always open - at least a crack.

Last edited by tekOC; 03-11-04 at 07:58 PM.
tekOC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:00 PM   #8
rxc
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bay Area

 
I find that my body is heating up the room more than the computer
rxc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:12 PM Thread Starter   #9
Digital_Cowboy
Member

 
Digital_Cowboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 192.168.1.1

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Yuriman
Yea, open all the vents, and put a fan in the doorway, like a large box fan. Thats what I do.
do you blow the fan in or out of the room?

Quote:
Originally posted by rxc
I find that my body is heating up the room more than the computer
lol

Quote:
Originally posted by honda_man
What are your case temps? CPU temps? These temps will tell you if it's really your computer or the fact that you are using your houses AC system wrong.
Case temp: 34c
CPU temp: 33c
PSU temp: 39c

__________________
Core I7 970 @ 3.6GHZ | Asus Rampage III Formula | 12GB Patriot DDR3 | EVGA GTX 580 SC | OCZ Revodrive X2 240GB | PCP&C Silencer 940 | Hyper 212+
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHZ | Gigabyte X38-DQ6 | 8GB DDR2 | 2 x ATI 4870 1gb in Crossfire | 2 x 2tb | PCP&C 940 Silencer | Cooler Master Cosmos | hyper 212+
Digital_Cowboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:12 PM   #10
SewerBeing
Grasshoppa Senior

 
SewerBeing's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: The truth?? You can't handle the truth!!

 
my pc makes my room very hot, this will become a problem in the summer, right now I can have my window open. Try getting the hot air to leave your room

__________________
"Unlike Windows, Linux tries to happily coexist with other OS's. It's not like Windows which will go out of its way to break other installs." MRD
"On the second day of the seventh month, in the third year of the new milenium, Wedo looked down and saw new pow-ah join team 32, and it was good." Wedo
"I switch Oses like most people change pants. :)" rogerdugans
"Always be sure to flash your bios during lightning storms!" MRD

Please Fold for team 32!
portage > apt > source > rpm > windows update
Gautam is a water buffalo
SewerBeing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:13 PM Thread Starter   #11
Digital_Cowboy
Member

 
Digital_Cowboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 192.168.1.1

 
Quote:
Originally posted by JoT
#1 Cause for heat is the monitor, especially if you have a fan in it. I do, and my room is 10 degrees hotter than the rest of the house =/
My monitor is a LCD monitor, so if I remember correctly, my old 19"CRT was hotter. It does get warm though.

__________________
Core I7 970 @ 3.6GHZ | Asus Rampage III Formula | 12GB Patriot DDR3 | EVGA GTX 580 SC | OCZ Revodrive X2 240GB | PCP&C Silencer 940 | Hyper 212+
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHZ | Gigabyte X38-DQ6 | 8GB DDR2 | 2 x ATI 4870 1gb in Crossfire | 2 x 2tb | PCP&C 940 Silencer | Cooler Master Cosmos | hyper 212+
Digital_Cowboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:26 PM   #12
rogerdugans
Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...

 
rogerdugans's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Corner of No and Where

 
I have 6 in my cellar: 5 AMD and one Intel.
All overclocked.
4 watercooled.

No other heat in this section of the cellar.

Window is cracked open all winter long and temp doesn't go under 67f.

Ensure proper air circulation and you should be able to balance temps out, but plain and simple, a computer DOES add heat to a room- how much depends on how fast the chip is and the voltage going to it, mainly: a chip that puts out 100 watts of heat will do so regardless of the temp it runs at- only the cpu temp will change with a better cooling system.

That's why many of us used to refer to AMD Athlons as " AMD space heaters."
(PIIIs ran much cooler.)

__________________
Still overclocked and running linux on watercooled computers after all these years.
rogerdugans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:29 PM   #13
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
It really sux for me cuz our AC is broke and Im in a dorm room.

Needless to say its been 85*f in here b4.
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 08:41 PM Thread Starter   #14
Digital_Cowboy
Member

 
Digital_Cowboy's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 192.168.1.1

 
yeah, it's kinda a catch-22. My PC heats up my room and when my room gets hotter, so does my pc because the watercooler is sucking the hotter room air in.

__________________
Core I7 970 @ 3.6GHZ | Asus Rampage III Formula | 12GB Patriot DDR3 | EVGA GTX 580 SC | OCZ Revodrive X2 240GB | PCP&C Silencer 940 | Hyper 212+
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0GHZ | Gigabyte X38-DQ6 | 8GB DDR2 | 2 x ATI 4870 1gb in Crossfire | 2 x 2tb | PCP&C 940 Silencer | Cooler Master Cosmos | hyper 212+
Digital_Cowboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:00 PM   #15
9mmCensor
Disabled



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Banned Camp

 
Yeah my PC heats my room, but Canada is still kinda cool outside (0 C outside) so I crack my window and keep the temp down.
9mmCensor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:12 PM   #16
Vio1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto Canada

 
My pc definetly keeps my room warm... i close my door at night, and when I leave my room in the morning i hit a cold wall of air when i open the door. All my vents are closed as well as the window... cause i too live in Canada, and I cant stand playing Ut04 with stiff cold fingers.

__________________
Heatware
Vio1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:19 PM   #17
honda_man
Member

 
honda_man's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Fort Lewis, WA

 
Stagnant Air


Quote:
Originally posted by Digital_Cowboy
yeah, it's kinda a catch-22. My PC heats up my room and when my room gets hotter, so does my pc because the watercooler is sucking the hotter room air in.
I would still recommend that you open all vents in your house. I am OSHA(Occupational Safety and Health) certified. I am a program manager for indoor air qualityin a major industrial facitlity. In my knowledge of the field I would definetely say that you need AC going to all rooms in the house. This WILL solve some of the problem. Your AC system is NOT designed to cool only one room. What you are doing is trapping heat in one room by closing off the rest of the vents. I urge you to try opening all the vents in the house and see if it helps you, especially where you are located at. This will be a serious issue for you come the summer months.
honda_man is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:29 PM   #18
Dubbin1
Member

 
Dubbin1's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Ohio

 
Either you guys have rooms the size of a closet or the ventilation in your house sucks ass. There is no way that one computer is going to raise your room temp 10

__________________
System Specs
Windows XP Pro (sp1)
Athlon XP 2500+ Barton
Thermalright SP97 HS
Abit NF7-S rev 2.0
2 - Maxtor 80gig 8meg cache
1 - Maxtor 320 gig sata
512meg PC2700
GForce 6600
Klipsch 5.1
Antec P160 Case
Dubbin1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:53 PM   #19
penquissciguy
Member

 
penquissciguy's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Maine

 
My computer room used to be a poorly-insulated room in an old farmhouse. I had to run a space heater (the real kind, not an Athlon ) to keep warm. Now, in my new house with in-floor radiant heat, I'm plenty warm and so is my computer, unfortunately. My house is a pretty open layout, so I don't notice much warming around the computer area.

Ken

__________________
Is this a holdup?
It's a science experiment!


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My Heatware
penquissciguy is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-11-04, 09:55 PM   #20
bizhar
Member



Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina

 
HEHE, welcome to the club !!!

__________________
Folding for TEAM 32: bizhar
bizhar is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling
Cooling Discussion of fans, heatsinks, thermal pastes and putting it all together to keep your rig cool
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?