Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Asus P2B-VT Bios

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-04, 04:03 PM Thread Starter   #1
Metallistar
Member

 
Metallistar's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Birmingham, OH

 
Asus P2B-VT Bios


I just got this board from a friend for free, It has a slot P3 733MHz in it. The problem is the board has an hp bios on it which i know its locking out the oc's features of the board. Asus does not list a bios for this board but they do list bio's for the other P2B boards, I was wondering if there was a bios that I could use so I could get rid of the HP bios on the board now.
Metallistar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 03-14-04, 04:48 PM   #2
repo man11
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
I think you're stuck. The stock Asus BIOS is an Award. The HP is a Phoenix. If you will look very closely at the board, you'll see there are two spots where a resistor can be soldered. One is labeled Phoenix, the other Award. On the HP version of the board, the resistor is on the Phoenix dots.

I have one of those that I got for free. I did a search when I got it, and I read a post on another forum where someone tried the standard Asus BIOS on the HP version, and ended up with a dead motherboard for their trouble. That was when I looked closely, and saw the resistor.

If you were really hardcore about it, you could try removing and replacing the resistor. But it was beyond my soldering skills, so I've left well enough alone.

__________________
Not really a repo man.
repo man11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-04, 07:34 PM   #3
GreyFalcon
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Virginia

 
None of the overclocking options on the P2B were set in the BIOS except maybe some of the memory timings. All settings were set by jumpers. HP was famous for cutting the jumpers off of the board. download the manual from the Asus site and look for the jumpers. I will bet you have a bunch of wire dots cut flush with the board where the jumpers should be.
GreyFalcon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?