• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Didn't see an MCSE thread, so here is my question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mikes95XLT

Here at school I'm doing an independant study on MCSE. I'm not doing the entire thing cause that would take me awhile, but the particular test I'm looking to take in the fall is the exam 70-270: Installing, configuring, and administering MS WinXP. I was curious if anyone else has taken this exam and can recommend the best book for me to buy?

Also, the track I'm looking to follow is the MCSE on Windows Server 2003 with a security specialization. Has anyone else done MCSE on Server 2003 at all? How difficult do you think it would be for me if I studied on my own and didn't take any classes?

Thanks for any info you guys can give me. :)

Most MCSEs that I know say take the 70-290 (Managing and Maintaining a Windows Server 2003 environment) BEFORE you take the 70-270 (XP) because the XP test is a lot harder. I have the MSPress 2003 Core-kit. So far I've only gone through a couple chapters in the 70-290, but it seems to be a nice setup. It cost me $130.

I have the full certs for nt 4.0 and 2000. My sincere advice. Dont. Seriously, when 8 year old kids in india are getting them its time to get something else. I would suggest network+, or ccna.

Thanks for the quick replies guys.

Betterlife: What comes with the MSPress core kit that you mentioned? What test is it for? Server 2003?

Corrosion: I already have my Network+ and A+, and am working on CCNA for the fall semester. So that will be taken care of. This I'm just doing for an independant study for credit.

So what I'm seeing here is that maybe I should take the WinServer2003 test first before the XP one?

I have the A+ & Network+ as well :).