Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Ip forwarding

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-01, 01:50 AM Thread Starter   #1
Miknow
Member

 
Miknow's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA

 
Ip forwarding


I have DSL 1.5mbps download/ 384kpbs upload and have 2 computer hooked up on a 5-port linksys switch. My first comp is for my use the second is for a game server but my problem is my friends cant get into my server. People said it was because im not giving information back to them(ip forwarding) I think. Well how can i get this server work

__________________
My Heatware
Miknow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-07-01, 02:06 AM   #2
Paiynn
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
Re: Ip forwarding


Quote:
Originally posted by Miknow
I have DSL 1.5mbps download/ 384kpbs upload and have 2 computer hooked up on a 5-port linksys switch. My first comp is for my use the second is for a game server but my problem is my friends cant get into my server. People said it was because im not giving information back to them(ip forwarding) I think. Well how can i get this server work
Actually, its the other way around. You would need a router that could forward packets to the game server. The router would have to have a valid IP address and be able to allow the ports for the games you run. What I did with my server was this, add two NICS into the server, run the DSL into that box then out the other NIC to the hub then to the other machines. The one box will have a valid IP.

From the amount of bandwidth you have for DSL I would venture a guess that you may be on a business access? Possibly you have more then one IP that you can use for your systems from your provider.
Paiynn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-07-01, 11:44 AM   #3
Kingslayer
Senior Member

 
Kingslayer's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Port Charlotte, Florida

 
Ok. You need to go into the setup of your router. You need to go to the IP forwarding section. You need to setup a route to go from the router to the IP of the game server using UDP protocol. You also need to know the ports of the game that will be used and set a route up for each individual port.

__________________
"Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have made a difference in the world. Marines don't have that problem" Ronald Reagan

Proud member of the XDC
Kingslayer is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?