Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

9600se

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-04, 02:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
9600se


I'm thinking of getting a few of these cards, is there any problems/isues with these cards?

Thanks everyone
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-04, 03:34 PM   #2
L337 M33P
Member

 
L337 M33P's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TEH INTERNETS

 
Apart from the fact that they
  • Suck
  • Are crippled versions of a mid-end core
  • Suck, again

They work fine. Unless you can get them for dirt cheap, go with 9600 non-pros. 9600SEs usually have crippled clockspeeds, low speed RAM and a 64-bit bus, half of what it should be.
L337 M33P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-04, 04:12 PM   #3
dalilman52
Member

 
dalilman52's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston

 
yes, i agree with leetmeep the 9600's core is not that great to begin with, and the se series is jsut a crippled version, so when u think about it, its a crippled version of a card that isnt good to begin with

if u want a better card, the powercolor 9800se at newegg is only around 150 bucks (the one with 256 bit memory) and a lot of ppl have successfully soft-modded it to a 9800 pro (unlocking the 4 pipelines)

__________________
The search function is there for a reason, USE IT!!!
dalilman52 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-04, 07:51 PM Thread Starter   #4
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
poor card


Thanks for the heads up guys, do you think it would be fine for a 4 and 5 year old that runs FPS games but nothing more than 800x600res?


Brent
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-04, 08:01 PM   #5
dalilman52
Member

 
dalilman52's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston

 
as i said before, why spend that money for a really crippled card when u can spend just a bit more for 8 possible pipelines and 256-bit memory?

but if all thats ur gonna do, its fine, its jsut that it will still be a rip-off, if all it's running is fps's at 800x600, then a ti4200 should suit u fine, not to mention perform much better

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...ription=ti4200

some newegg ti4200 refurbs

__________________
The search function is there for a reason, USE IT!!!

Last edited by dalilman52; 04-02-04 at 08:09 PM.
dalilman52 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-02-04, 08:15 PM Thread Starter   #6
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
I see the light!


I'm going to take them back on Monday and get the 9800se. It is 100.00 more but but every bit worth it for my boys.

Thanks
Brent
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 03:24 AM   #7
L337 M33P
Member

 
L337 M33P's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TEH INTERNETS

 
*prays that he gets a 256bit version*
L337 M33P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 07:31 AM   #8
saaya
Member

 
saaya's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: hamburg - germany

 
get a 9600 pro, just a few bugs extra but a lot faster!
saaya is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 08:11 AM   #9
sLk
Member



Join Date: Nov 2003

 
Re: I see the light!


Quote:
Originally posted by MrBugs
I'm going to take them back on Monday and get the 9800se. It is 100.00 more but but every bit worth it for my boys.

Thanks
Brent
Adopt me.
sLk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 07:38 PM Thread Starter   #10
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
9800se ?


How do I tell if I have the 256bit version of the 9800se?

Brent
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 08:22 PM Thread Starter   #11
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
oh wonderful


I did want to keep one 9600se for the wife, but I was only able to get 1 out of 4 working with the DFII400-AL MB. With this card in the MB it will not post? any suggustions? besides buying different cards.

Thanks
Brent
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 08:47 PM   #12
dalilman52
Member

 
dalilman52's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Houston

 
Re: 9800se ?


Quote:
Originally posted by MrBugs
How do I tell if I have the 256bit version of the 9800se?

Brent
at newegg, they are selling the 256-bit version of the 9800se, u just have to look for it, its made by powercolor

__________________
The search function is there for a reason, USE IT!!!
dalilman52 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-03-04, 10:30 PM Thread Starter   #13
MrBugs
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
8x AGP and no post.


It seems I'm not the only one having problems with video cards making the computer not post.
WOW it looks like this is a big issue, I wonder how long it will take the manufactures to sort it all out.


Brent
MrBugs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-04, 12:17 AM   #14
chemmajik
Registered



Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: hou, tx

 
8500le vs 9600se


8500le gets stomped alone in quality settings, & core speed, and if you know how to tweak your ram cooling you can actually beat it in DX8.1 games, 9600se runs DX8.1 games real good, and it has advantages or disadvantages to some with a slow cpu of running DX9 slow. I have a 3Ghz CPU that makes the difference. Compared to the gfx quality of anything below 9500 Pro or below on a 3Ghz or above cpu I'll take the 9600se, dont knock it till you tried it... Its basically a radeon 9800 gfx wise on a 9200 pro...
chemmajik is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-04, 12:18 PM   #15
L337 M33P
Member

 
L337 M33P's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TEH INTERNETS

 
Nice 1-month old gravedigging there pal :]

So MrBugs, kitted out all your kids with 9800SEs yet?
L337 M33P is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-04, 01:03 PM   #16
TruckyJ
Member

 
TruckyJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Middle America

 
Re: 9800se ?


Quote:
Originally posted by MrBugs
How do I tell if I have the 256bit version of the 9800se?

Brent
The 256bit versions generally have an "L" shaped memory configuration. How much are you looking at paying for the 9800se? There might be better options actually.
TruckyJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-03-04, 03:30 PM   #17
TheMightyBuck
Banned for being a BAD TRADER aka a Troll

 
TheMightyBuck's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Green Bay, WI USA

 
i had a 9600 pro.

the memory chips aren't very durable.

i tore some of them in half.

by accident.

so if your kids are into chewing gfx cards, DON"T get the powercolor9600pro

$.02
TheMightyBuck is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?