• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Want to set up a network between my two rigs...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tekOC

^ Title ^

I want to network my two rigs, so they can both share files and share my one printer.... I have a NETGEAR MODEL HR314 router... its a pretty sweet router with wireless ability, but I am using ethernet cables to share the internet connection.

Now I just needa figure out how to share files and my printer on my main rig.... can somebody explain or point my to a thread.
I haven't seen any stickies on explaining this, and I am a COMPLETE noob to networking!

Windows XP Pro SP1 on both rigs, all updates and patches...

TIA, tekOC.

To share the internet, just run the wizard on both machines. It will work sweet.

To share the printer, you must install 'File and printer shareing for Microsoft Networks'.

Then, on the other machine, you can browse the network to the printer. When you double click on the printer, it will install the drivers.

don256us said:
To share the printer, you must install 'File and printer shareing for Microsoft Networks'.

Where can I find this file in Windows?

Right click network neighborhood/my network places and go to properties. Then right click your local area connection and click properties. Client for MS networks, File and printer sharing for ms netownrs, QoS packet scheduler, Internet protocol (TCP/IP) are all selected on my networked computers. If they are not shown on that screen then you have to click the install button.

BUT DO NOT DO THIS BEFORE YOU SET UP THE WIZARD. The wizard should take care of this for you.

If you have WinXP or the like, you can go to network connections (right click network places and click properties), and then on the left panel under network tasks, you can click "setup a home or small office network".