Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

PC133 running at 66Mhz

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-04, 08:13 AM Thread Starter   #1
jamesdait
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia

 
PC133 running at 66Mhz


I was just wondering if PC133 SD-RAM could run at 66Mhz, and if it can does it run stable?
jamesdait is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-04, 07:47 PM   #2
Foxie3a
Normal Member

 
Foxie3a's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Modesto, CA

 
No, you can't underclock RAM, just like you cant lower the FSB of a processor.

but the motherboard might have a CPU:Memory ratio that would allow you to run the RAM at 133, and the processor at 66.

Welcome To The Forums.

__________________
Dual Xeon E5-2643 3.3Ghz/10M/8.0GTs
Supermicro X9DA7, 32GB ECC/REG
Radeon 7970 3GB (MSI Lightning version)
Triple 24" LCDs
Areca 1680 = 6x Agility 3, RAID5 (~700mb/s)
Storage: 14TB of WD-RE in Synology, plus SAS RAID1.
Corsair AX1200i, Digital PSU
Asus Xonar PCI-E <- Digital -> Denon Receiver -> Floor Standing Speakers
Foxie3a is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-04, 08:36 PM   #3
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
yes you can. I have run my AXP system at 5X with a 100MHz FSB, and it has a barton 3000+ and mushkin level 2 black pc3500 ram in it.

and its obvioudly possible with my ES chip.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-04, 10:00 PM   #4
repo man11
Member



Join Date: Dec 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Pc133 should have no problems at 66 MHz. But you may have a problem getting all of your memory capacity out of PC133 on a chipset that only supports 66 MHz FSB. But at worst you'll only get half of your memory capacity. It'll still work.

__________________
Not really a repo man.
repo man11 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 12:20 AM   #5
SimGuy
Member

 
SimGuy's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

 
Yes, PC133 SDRAM modules will run at PC66.

As RepoMan suggested, if you have a 440BX, 440LX, 430TX/VX, Via MVP3-4, ALI Alladin 5 or below, which can only recognize up to a maximum of 768 MB's of SDRAM (3 DIMM slots), then a high-density memory module will only be 1/2 recognized by your system.

High density modules (32xblah blah) are double the density of older modules (16xblah blah) and are only 50% recognized by the aforementioned chipsets.

To run at PC66, the SDRAM will automatically re-configure itself for operation at that speed. PC133 simply means that it will run UP TO a maximum of 133 MHz.

__________________
Merlin - The Primary System:
AMD Athlon 64 FX-55 @ 3000 MHz :: Asus A8N-SLI Premium :: 1024 MB OCZ 3200 EL Rev.2 :: BFG GeForce 8800 GTX OC
Lian-Li PC71 :: 36.7 GB WD Raptor :: 300 GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10 :: 21" Dell UltraScan P1110 :: OCZ GameXStream 700W
SimGuy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 01:59 AM   #6
corrosion231
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Phoenix

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Foxie3a
No, you can't underclock RAM, just like you cant lower the FSB of a processor.

but the motherboard might have a CPU:Memory ratio that would allow you to run the RAM at 133, and the processor at 66.

Welcome To The Forums.
seriously, who told you this crap, have you never heard of underclocking?
corrosion231 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 08:25 PM   #7
dippy_skoodlez

 
dippy_skoodlez's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: In front of my computer

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Foxie3a
No, you can't underclock RAM, just like you cant lower the FSB of a processor.

but the motherboard might have a CPU:Memory ratio that would allow you to run the RAM at 133, and the processor at 66.

Welcome To The Forums.

WTF are you talking about? I can run 100fsb on my barton, and Pc133 should run fine at 66.

__________________
Retina Macbook Pro 2.6Ghz, 16GB DDR3, 512GB SSD, GT650m
FX 8350, 24Gb DDR3 1600, eVGA GTX670 SLI, Gigabyte FX990, 850w HALE90, NZXT Switch 810, Water cooled.
My Heatware
dippy_skoodlez is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?