Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

need a very big drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-04, 10:22 AM Thread Starter   #1
Panzerknacker
Disabled

 
Panzerknacker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands

 
need a very big drive


I'm running a fileserver and I can't find a drive large enough. What I need is a EXTREMELY HUGE harddrive, something like 1tb. It needs to be VERY reliable, it doesnt really need to be very fast, although it shouldnt be slow. My question is, do drives like this exist? I'm using this server to store my own files, I'm sick of using DVD's and stuff I just want a HD. I know this is not going to be cheap, but please understand I don't want the most expensive ones, heh heh.
Panzerknacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 10:28 AM   #2
JigPu
Inactive Pokémon Moderator

 
JigPu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Vancouver, WA

10 Year Badge
 
RAID is your friend

Since you want reliability, RAID-0 obiously isn't what you want, and since you want capacity, RAID-1 isn't what you want. I'd try looking into other RAIDs (such as RAID-5) to see what they have to offer. Make sure whatever you want actually comes on a RAID card you can afford though... Lots of RAID cards don't have many of the RAID options, and the coolest RAIDs are on the most expensive cards.

JigPu

__________________
.... ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
.... Intel Core i5 2500 ........................ 4 thread ...... 3300 MHz ......... -0.125 V
2x ASUS GTX 560 Ti ............................... 1 GiB ....... 830 MHz ...... 2004 MHz
.... G.SKILL Sniper Low Voltage ............. 8 GiB ..... 1600 MHz ............ 1.25 V
.... OCZ Vertex 3 ................................. 120 GB ............. nilfs2 ..... Arch Linux
.... Kingwin LZP-550 .............................. 550 W ........ 94% Eff. ....... 80+ Plat
.... Nocuta NH-D14 ................................ 20 dB ..... 0.35 C°/W ................ 7 V


"In order to combat power supply concerns, Nvidia has declared that G80 will be the first graphics card in the world to run entirely off of the souls of dead babies. This will make running the G80 much cheaper for the average end user."
"GeForce 8 Series." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. 7 Aug 2006, 20:59 UTC. Wikimedia Foundation, Inc. 8 Aug 2006.
JigPu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 10:36 AM Thread Starter   #3
Panzerknacker
Disabled

 
Panzerknacker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands

 
Yeah raid would be good but I would need many harddrives. I once read about one single harddrive of 1tb. Where can I find one of these and how do they work?
Panzerknacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 11:44 AM   #4
Stedeman
The Half Asleep Member

 
Stedeman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lewiston Maine

 
I have yet to hear of a single ATA 1TB hard drive (consist of many SCSI drives some times up to 35 drives), you may be thinking of a TB SCSI tower. I think the largest for home use is the 350GB or 400GB Maxtor. You would be safer with RAID 5 (needs 3+ drives) over one drive and the over all cost. ex) right now 200GB Seagate and western digital can be nabbed for $99 AR.
A good place to "see" how each of the RAIDs work is http://www.acnc.com/04_00.html

__________________
My HEATWARE My eBay
Stedeman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 12:05 PM Thread Starter   #5
Panzerknacker
Disabled

 
Panzerknacker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands

 
thanks for the help and that link!. As far as I've seen, those raid 4 and 5 and stuff cards are very expensive ($600 and more).

I've found that big drive back. It's 500gig, you can use them dual, making 1tb. Do u guys think they are good?

They are still a little expensive, for $579 u can get more than 2 250gig drives
Panzerknacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 01:32 PM   #6
dreammmatt
Member



Join Date: Dec 2002

 
uhm...kill me if i'm wrong...but isnt that...an...external....firewire drive ?_?... is that what you want? (lol, u can always rip the drive out of the case... lol
dreammmatt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 01:37 PM   #7
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
http://www.centrecom.com.au/catalog/...6dc0fb17dce4d4

At about $2 a hard drive, it's hardly a "good buy" but it certainly is dense. You will not find SCSI drives above 146gb and you will not find IDE/SATA drives about 300gb. Not for a while at least. This is nice because it's just one thing, it's external so it's not taking up a ton of space like having 40 hard drives would.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 05:27 PM   #8
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
those are just just a bunch of HDs put into one case. Its still not a 1TB drive.

It will be terribly slow too.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 05:49 PM   #9
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Define "drive." That's like saying it's not a 250gb hdd, just three 80gb platters enclosed in to one shell.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 09:35 PM   #10
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 
you can open it up and find a bunch of seperate drive "enclosures". (I'm not sure what you call them)
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 09:39 PM   #11
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Enclosed platters?
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-04, 09:42 PM   #12
craig588
Member

 
craig588's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003

 


enclosures similar to that.
craig588 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-04, 02:45 AM Thread Starter   #13
Panzerknacker
Disabled

 
Panzerknacker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands

 
I believe it are 2 harddrives of 500gig dumped in one case,

It's probably good, but $2K is too much for me.

U have a 200gig WD for $150. 5 x 200 = 1TB. 5 x 150 = 750. Sounds way better to me. One problem, I need 5 SATA (or IDE) connections, so I need to buy alot of PCI cards, which are very expensive with RAID and stuff. Or am I talking crap now?
Panzerknacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-04, 09:58 AM   #14
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
I would get 4-250gb harda drives. You're aware that this will NOT give you 1 logical terabyte, right? You'd be about 40 gigs off.

I know very little about RAID as a whole, but I think you can get an ok 2-channel card for around $70. With 4 hard drives, you would only need two.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-09-04, 11:08 AM Thread Starter   #15
Panzerknacker
Disabled

 
Panzerknacker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands

 
I would go for 5 x 200 instead of 4 x 250, since that is way cheaper. Then I'm on 1000gb, so 24 of 1tb. (in fact, I know drives are always smaller than listed on the package),
Panzerknacker is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?