Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Radeon 7500 Overclocking

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-04, 12:42 AM Thread Starter   #1
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Radeon 7500 Overclocking


I am overclocking my Built By ATI Radeon 7500 64MB DDR with stock settings of 290MHz/230MHz (460MHz). It has 4ns hynix memory, and from what I have heard ATI unclocked the memory speeds from 250MHz to 230MHz when 4ns memory should equal 250MHz.

Sofar I have only touched the memory overclocking wise, I have it up at a stable 236MHz (472MHz) and I want to get it to 250MHz so I get my money's worth, although I wish I would have tried this 2 years ago when I bought it.

Anyway I have stock cooling on the card and I just hung a 80mm fan on the side of the card to blow the heat from the card away (although the card never gets hot) I did it just incase it needed the extra cooling. I want to know if adding that fan on the side of it will help in overclocking at all and if I should have no problem overclocking my memory to 250MHz from 230MHz where it shouldn't be.

Here's a similar pic of how mine is setup,

http://s90699750.onlinehome.us/media...oler-small.jpg

Thanks for any input.

Oh and I saw from searching these forums that the 7500 has some directx8 features, I was wondering what they were.

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

Last edited by Special7; 04-15-04 at 07:13 PM.
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:10 AM   #2
Daegon
Member

 
Daegon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Rockville,MD

 
Welcome to the forums!

concerning the lower memory clock then what the ram is rated, manufacturers do that usually for stability. It also helps differentiate between the different models, they might put the same ram on two different boards and clock one at a lower then stock speed because it should cost less, therefore it should be slower. Some small heatsinks on the ram certainly should allow you to hit speeds above that 250 point.

__________________
YEAH!! BABIES!!!
E8400@4.0 / GTX460 / Asus P5K / 4GB Corsair XMS2 / WD 500
Dell Vostro 1500 (C2D, 8600GT)
Black Belt Übercloxx0r

Heatware
Daegon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:57 AM   #3
brennan77
Member

 
brennan77's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Orleans

10 Year Badge
 
Ahh, the 7500. I had mine clocked at 348 on the core and I can't remember on the memory but I think it was nearly 300. That was a great card for the time, giving some competition to the GF2 ultra.
brennan77 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-04, 03:44 AM Thread Starter   #4
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Ugh anyone?

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-04, 05:42 AM   #5
brennan77
Member

 
brennan77's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Orleans

10 Year Badge
 
The only way to know is to try it. Everycard is different from the next.
brennan77 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 03:58 PM Thread Starter   #6
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Well I used ATI Tool to check for the highest core/memory speeds but I stopped the core at 300MHz and the memory at 250MHz, I got no artifacts, ran 3DMark2001 multiple times without issues so I think I am going to leave the speeds here for a little bit before going any higher.

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 06:12 PM   #7
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
Be sure to replace the thermal paste on the heatsink. There was a thread a while ago where a guy took the heatsink off his 7500 and there was only a tiny drop of white generic thermal paste on it.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 07:20 PM Thread Starter   #8
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
Since my other questions are no longer valid I would like to ask this again,

I saw from searching these forums that the 7500 has some directx8 features, I was wondering what they were.

Thanks.

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 07:29 PM   #9
kct2
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002

 
The 7500 is a DX7 part. It is DX8/9 compatible, but does not support any features beyond DX7.

Can you link the threads which state it supports DX8 features?
kct2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 09:55 PM   #10
Cisco Kid
Senior Member



Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by kct2
The 7500 is a DX7 part. It is DX8/9 compatible, but does not support any features beyond DX7.

Can you link the threads which state it supports DX8 features?
the 7500 supports 2 DX8 features, can not remember exactly what they are will try to find that info for you.

A decent card still on par to a G2 Ultra in performance, I reached 5370 in 3D01 and had my mem overclocked to about 310 if I remember right and it was a BBA card.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3066421

CK
Cisco Kid is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 10:25 PM Thread Starter   #11
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7778735 here is my 3DMark2001 results, considering my processor is 204MHz slower I think my card is pretty good.

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64

Last edited by Special7; 04-23-04 at 07:57 PM.
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-04, 11:37 PM   #12
brennan77
Member

 
brennan77's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Orleans

10 Year Badge
 
brennan77 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-04, 12:04 AM   #13
kct2
Member



Join Date: Feb 2002

 
The Radeon 7500 chip (RV200) is the same as the original Radeon chip (R100) in terms of 3d features. It was just manufactured on a smaller process allowing it to run faster. It also added support for hydravision (from the Radeon VE) and HyperZ (new memory controller).

I’m not sure what features you are thinking of, but the main thing is the 7500 doesn’t support pixel or vertex shaders, the most important DX8 features. If you are thinking of Environmental Map Bump Mapping (EMBM) it was part of DX6.
kct2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 03:27 PM Thread Starter   #14
Special7
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Philadelphia

 
It has TnL Vertex Shaders.

__________________
My Gaming Rig: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition @ 3.8GHz Coolermaster Hyper 212+ Dual Fans (push/pull) || 2.6GHz CPU-NB || ASUS M5A97 || Samsung 8GB DDR3-1600 8-8-8-22 1t || eVGA nVidia GTX 285 1GB || ASUS VE247H 23.6" || Western Digital Black 1TB 64MB Cache || Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Special7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?