Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Chipset voltage on NF7-s vers 2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-04, 07:52 AM Thread Starter   #1
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Question Chipset voltage on NF7-s vers 2


When i was overclocking i would set it to 1.7v.

Now i'm running my desktop 2500 at stock speed and have the cpu voltage @1.625.I was wondering if i can safely take down the chipset voltage a notch to 1.5v as well?
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-10-04, 12:15 PM   #2
THunDA
Member

 
THunDA's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: NY

 
If your running stock then yea 1.5vdd should be fine.. maybe even 1.4v.. but that might be unstable.. If you set it stock and to 1.5vdd I would still run prime to see if its stable.. Right now with my settings in sig im at 1.5vdd..

Thunda
THunDA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:16 PM   #3
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Ignore the chipset voltage.

Some boards must have it on a certian setting to work properly. Mine for example MUST have 1.7 all the time
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:39 PM   #4
JerMe
Member

 
JerMe's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York City

 
I wouldn't blatently ignore the chipset voltage. Yes, different NF7 boards will have varying responses to changes in Vdd, but it doesn't mean you can disregard it as a source of instability.

stratcatprowlin, if you want to know if you can take the chipset voltage down and still have a stable setup - lower the chipset voltage, then do a stability test with Prime95 and see if you system crashes.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Folding User Stats
JerMe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:43 PM   #5
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
Quote:
but it doesn't mean you can disregard it as a source of instability
WOA no! Thats not what I meant.

He means to say they he is uncomfortable using high voltage. I meant to say Ignore the voltage and use what is stable.

The VDD voltage is the PRIMARY source of instability. I'd keep that in check first
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:46 PM   #6
james.miller
Member

 
james.miller's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Dunstable, uk

 
TBH the chipset voltage really wont effect lastability or system temps in any real noticable way, so i wouldnt worry about it. 1.5v shouldnt be a problem though.

__________________
The HTPC

E2160 @ 2.7ghz | Thermaltake The Orb cooler | Asus p5w-dh | 4Gb DDR-II pc6400| 1.00Tb of WD AAKS storage | Asus Xonar D2| 360 HD-DVD drive
Pioneer bd204 bluray sata drive | Corsair HX620w PSU | BFG GeForce 8800GTX | Silverstone SST-LC17b
| 22" dell e228wfp | 40" 1080p SONY 40w2000

ONKYO TX-SR805 | bi-amped mission m71i fronts | eltax center & bipolar rears
2x 12" custom built subwoofers powered by a denon pma-100m | PS3 with linux and a 250gb 3.5" internal drive | Nintendo wii


james.miller is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:49 PM   #7
JerMe
Member

 
JerMe's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New York City

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Sentential

WOA no! Thats not what I meant.

He means to say they he is uncomfortable using high voltage. I meant to say Ignore the voltage and use what is stable.

The VDD voltage is the PRIMARY source of instability. I'd keep that in check first
LOL, you can't ignore the voltage and use what is stable, either No need to overkill, right? So no need to use more voltage than what you need.

In my world, Vcore & temps were the primary sources of instability...

I understand what you're trying to say. Stratcatprowlin is asking since he's running the chip at stock, can he take down the Vdd and still have a stable setup. The answer is most likely yes.

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Folding User Stats
JerMe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 12:53 PM   #8
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
I dunno man....it depends. Some mobo prefer it one way or another.

Mine hates running @ anything lower than 1.7v. Some mobos prefer to run @ 1.4. It all depends on what his PC likes
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 10:14 PM Thread Starter   #9
stratcatprowlin
Senior Member

 
stratcatprowlin's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: MG,Brazil

 
Tx for all the responses,Yeah if i take the fsb over 181 i have to set the chipset voltalge to 1.7v and i see a temp increase with that,so i was thinkin if i can lower it at stock speed,why not?

So.i'll try it at 1.5v and see what happens. TX again.
stratcatprowlin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 10:15 PM   #10
Sentential
Contributing Member

 
Sentential's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Midland, Texas

 
NP....

let us know how it goes
Sentential is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?