Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

How many FPS is smooth to you?

View Poll Results: How many FPS for a game to be considered Smooth?
25-35 130 10.28%
35-45 378 29.88%
55-65 403 31.86%
65-85 222 17.55%
90+ 132 10.43%
Voters: 1265. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-10-04, 09:26 PM   #21
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by micamica1217
if you want to be a sniper on my team, well you better want to play around 100fps...your aim in a FPS game like MoH:AA or RTCW:ET will be far better.
100fps in those games isn't too hard to get to though... Good luck getting there in FarCry with decent visuals... or D3 or HL2 when they are out.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:28 PM Thread Starter   #22
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by IMOG


100fps in those games isn't too hard to get to though... Good luck getting there in FarCry with decent visuals... or D3 or HL2 when they are out.
Well with FarCry and HL2 they're single player games so it won't matter as much.

But I have heard from beast Quake III players like Larva that 125 is the best point to be at for the QuakeIII engine.

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:30 PM   #23
stockhatch
Member

 
stockhatch's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Southeastern NC

 
I like to get at least 100 FPS playing online spades, hearts I can handle at 50-60.

__________________

E6600(8x400) - Infinity
2x250 Perps RAID 0
P5W DH Deluxe
2GB GSkill HK
8800GTX
620HX

HEAT
stockhatch is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:36 PM   #24
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
70ish is the ticket for me. I don't actually get that high most of the time, it's just where things look noticeably nicer.

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:42 PM   #25
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by funnyperson1


Well with FarCry and HL2 they're single player games so it won't matter as much.

But I have heard from beast Quake III players like Larva that 125 is the best point to be at for the QuakeIII engine.
Yeah I agree on the fps importance difference between campaign and multi. Except FC does have a decent multiplayer, but that wasn't your point and it isn't real popular yet AFAIK.

Do most good monitors support a refresh rate of 125hz at a good resolution? I have never had a good CRT... Went from an old gateway 15" monitor to a 17" mv700 compaq monitor (1024x768@85Hz), both freebies.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.

Last edited by IMOG; 04-10-04 at 09:48 PM.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:42 PM   #26
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
35-45 is fine enough for me... well... thats about all my Geforce 2 will give me anyway

I'm not much of a gamer anyway.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 09:59 PM   #27
-=A][A=-cazman
Member

 
-=A][A=-cazman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
To me anything below 70fps isn't smooth. But I never get that low anymore since I have a 9800np OC'd somewhat 360/306. And the main games that I play are CS and Zero hour so both are smooth as a baby's butt for me .
-=A][A=-cazman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 10:31 PM   #28
micamica1217
Member

 
micamica1217's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by IMOG


Yeah I agree on the fps importance difference between campaign and multi. Except FC does have a decent multiplayer, but that wasn't your point and it isn't real popular yet AFAIK.

Do most good monitors support a refresh rate of 125hz at a good resolution? I have never had a good CRT... Went from an old gateway 15" monitor to a 17" mv700 compaq monitor (1024x768@85Hz), both freebies.
with a good 85mhz refresh rate you'll be fine in Q3A...
I know, as it was one of my all time favorate games.

but do you must have vsync on to play your games?
maybe in single player, but most play great w/o in muti...

just try to frag me with a rail gun in Q3A with less then 85fps,
and I'll repeat, you'll be a better sniper at most games with a high FPS

I have to agree that with most single player games you can get away with far less, but your aim will improve with more.

playing KotOR was just fine at about 35fps, yet it's not a FPS game.

mica

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

" Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


[OCG] Fraging at it's finest.
micamica1217 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 10:55 PM   #29
theELVISCERATOR

 
theELVISCERATOR's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michiana

 
since I have been gaming from the days of Doom and before,
I have found my magic number is 100 fps....

quake2 really showed me the difference in gameplay with high frame rates and what they would allow you to do......

btw I ruled with railgun... rated top 100 on CLQ at times

anything less feels sluggish..

__________________
Intel 2600k @4.5ghz Megahalem/Corsair SP120 Pull
Gskill Sniper 8gb DDR3-2133cas8 @ 1866
MSI P67A-GD65 BIOS 2.4
Galaxy Winforce GTX670 @1215/3404 SLI
Xfi Fatality Pro Sound
Boot /Adata SX900 256gb SSD
Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
Antec 1200/Corsair 750 TX PSU / Win7 Pro 64bit
Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600



Last edited by theELVISCERATOR; 04-10-04 at 11:02 PM.
theELVISCERATOR is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 11:06 PM Thread Starter   #30
funnyperson1
Senior Member

 
funnyperson1's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Northern VA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by IMOG


Yeah I agree on the fps importance difference between campaign and multi. Except FC does have a decent multiplayer, but that wasn't your point and it isn't real popular yet AFAIK.

Do most good monitors support a refresh rate of 125hz at a good resolution? I have never had a good CRT... Went from an old gateway 15" monitor to a 17" mv700 compaq monitor (1024x768@85Hz), both freebies.

Well as extremeocr pointed out, its more important what the game engine is running at rather than what you see. At least thats how I heard it. I doubt many people have monitors that can do 125hz.

You also could have pointed out a possible CS2

__________________

"Strong with the fold this boy is, fold you must"-NASSoccer
its a shame you cant ban people for being ignorant fanboys....
My Heatware
[Gigabyte MA790X-UDP4][PHII 940BE][Thermalright Ultra90][2x2GB OCZ Reaper HPC][Palit HD4850][Enhance 5150GH][Windows 7,Ubuntu 12.04]
funnyperson1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-10-04, 11:09 PM   #31
unreal
Registered

 
unreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami

 
32 is all you need to be smooth,, but for fluctuations a little higher for the high graphic areas..

__________________
Main system xeon x3440 (oc'ed to 3.5) ASrock p55 extreem / mastercooler hyper 212
Nvidia 250 (oc'ed attempting)
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Thermaltake toughpower 750 xt
300gig seagate 8mb cache 7200 (boot)
400gig seagate 8mb cache 7200
1TB Samsung 32mb cache 7200
74gig western digital 8mb cache 10,000

MyHeatware
unreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 02:32 AM   #32
Lat
Member

 
Lat's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver (Canada)

 
50+ is smooth imo :P

although i don't mind 30-50

__________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world...those who understand binary and those who don't
Lat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 02:36 AM   #33
LogRus
Member

 
LogRus's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle, WA

 
55-65 is all I need for a nice smooth game in MP. SP can have less fps though.

__________________
-| Core i7 920 | ASRock Exterme 2 | 12GB G.Skill | 2x Intel SSD 120GB in RAID0 | 2x 1TB in RAID1 | ATi 4890 1GB |-
-| 15" MacBook Pro | Core i7 2.2Ghz | 8GB | 300GB Intel SSD | 6470 1GB ATi |-

Looking for a NEW card? Need help? LooK HERE!

"That's a Volga. It's the real man's car. I used to have one with a body entirely out of steel. Thick steel. The fuel economy sucked, but I think it was bulletproof." - Pavr, some guy from Fark whom JoT knows.
My Heatware
LogRus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 06:45 AM   #34
Texas Gore
Registered

 
Texas Gore's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: not entirely sure...

 
25-35 is smooth, but higher is smoother (know what i mean? )
Texas Gore is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 07:33 AM   #35
harryinny3
Member

 
harryinny3's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New York

 
welp for me


Anything over 70fps is great,(very fast too for sniping) I Play on the OneX server In CoD all the time, Its sniping only, and i rarely dip below 100fps, And thats all On high in game and in driver.

As for farcry, I have screenies of my FPS, and they dont drop below 40 ever, Either single or multi. You definately need above 30 in FarCry for you to not be fragged to heck. This is also with 2xaa and some AF, and useing PS2.0

I play all my games at 1280X1024X32 @ 85 Htz. And i do Great.


I rule the Boys with GF3 cards on server. Also a great Net connection helps too.


So to sum it up, 70fps and up is my magic number.
harryinny3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 08:58 AM   #36
hatkeeper
Disabled

 
hatkeeper's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: RH, Ontario, Canada

 
yep, over 70 frames for sure, otherwise my eyes can see the lag and it annoys me
hatkeeper is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 10:42 AM   #37
Como
Member

 
Como's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maine

 
just try sniping wehn your getting 85+ FPS but your dialup has the other players moving 10 feet a second. (without being anywhere else inbetween point A and B)

i did that for a good 6 hours ysterday in AVP2...good times. i actaully am getting pretty good at estimating where they will be when their computer gets the signal that i fired a shot. some of the players move in unnatural patterns, though...

__________________
This space is for rent.*


*I'm Lying
Como is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 12:07 PM   #38
theELVISCERATOR

 
theELVISCERATOR's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Michiana

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Como
just try sniping wehn your getting 85+ FPS but your dialup has the other players moving 10 feet a second. (without being anywhere else inbetween point A and B)

i did that for a good 6 hours ysterday in AVP2...good times. i actaully am getting pretty good at estimating where they will be when their computer gets the signal that i fired a shot. some of the players move in unnatural patterns, though...
your framerate is def limited by your internet bandwidth..

on 56k i would cap my framerate to say 40 to keep ping low

even on cable I cap @ 125 fps max or some old games that would run 300 to 400 fps would lag a bit as the framerate would want to eat up the bandwidth..

__________________
Intel 2600k @4.5ghz Megahalem/Corsair SP120 Pull
Gskill Sniper 8gb DDR3-2133cas8 @ 1866
MSI P67A-GD65 BIOS 2.4
Galaxy Winforce GTX670 @1215/3404 SLI
Xfi Fatality Pro Sound
Boot /Adata SX900 256gb SSD
Storage/ 2x 640GB WDAAK Raid 0
Antec 1200/Corsair 750 TX PSU / Win7 Pro 64bit
Yamakasi 30" IPS 2560x1600


theELVISCERATOR is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-11-04, 12:14 PM   #39
Gregory_WE
Member

 
Gregory_WE's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
55-65 is usually smooth enough for me, although in some games for some reason I need it to be higher, and others, lower.

__________________
Heatware
Gregory_WE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-12-04, 12:39 AM   #40
Droban
Member

 
Droban's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Chicago

 
I guess it depends on the gameplay. Unreal tournament is ridiculously fast, so it needs to play fast. First person shooters in general have to run faster especially for online play. And it needs to look smooth because environments are changing quickly and dramatically. In more strategy involved games, the framerates can go down because movement usually wont be as dramatic.

__________________
Intel 3770K @4.7GHz, 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600 (11-13-11-30) @2133Mhz, Asus Z77 Sabertooth, EVGA GTX 680 SC Signature, Acer HN274H, 2x Samsung 830 128gb in RAID-0

Yamaha 6.1 HTR-5660 4xHarman Kardon 6 Inch Bookshelfs 1xHarman Kardon Dual 5 inch Center 1xVelodyne CHT-10 Sub
Droban is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?