• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need a Few cooling suggestions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Frizhead

Hello folks, been a lurker for quite a few weeks now and you all have inspired me to spend and irrational amount of money on a new system. I'm fairly new to overclocking but in theory I want to take this next creation of mine over the 4 gig mark if possible. I've got a post in the memory section on help with ram, drop in there with some 2 cents if ya can, but cooling is another issue.

My specs:
Thermaltake Xaser III Super Tower w/ 480w Thermaltake PS
Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Ati Radeon 9800 Pro
D1 p4 3.0 slk6wu 30 cap

I'm a heavy gamer if that's of any relevance but I want this system to smoke, as I understand it the wu's can almost reach 4.0 on air with a little luck and that's my goal. At the moment money is of no object even if I end up eating tunafish for the next month straight. Any help would be appreciated cause I'm at a loss here

The case is running stock fans, need to mod the grills still.
but my main question is if I go with air cooling, what's going to keep me the coldest as far as heatsink/fans are concerned for the cpu? And with this much overclocking will I need a better heatsink for the motherboard chipset? And any other suggestions would be welcome I'm all ears. Thanks fellas

well, if youre going to be on air, the only suggestion I as well as everyone else will make is the Thermalright SP-94 with probably a tornado hooked up to a fan controller.

Another vote for the SP-94 and the 92 mm Tornado here. The setup even gives awesome results when cranked all the way down on a fan controller, so do yourself a favor and buy a fan controller as well.