Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

1.5GHz AMD Athlon Palomino Overclocks To 2.4GHz !!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-01, 11:22 AM Thread Starter   #1
Myself and I
Disabled

 
Myself and I's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Savannah ,GA

 
Exclamation 1.5GHz AMD Athlon Palomino Overclocks To 2.4GHz !!


Yes....i'm drooling all over my keyboard again...as Mike Magee brings us news that the upcoming desktop version of the AMD Athlon Palomino.....flying at a default speed at 1.53GHz...this Palomino will be the most awesome overclocker we have ever seen.....get your money ready for this puppy !!!


That means overclockability on the mobile Athlon 4 family of a 1.8GHz clock speed (18 times 100MHz), and as much as 2.4GHz (18 times 133MHz) on the up and coming 1.5GHz Palominos.

So the overclockers had better oil their fans and lubricate their heat sinks ready for the day.


Source: The Inquirer - More Information http://www.theinquirer.net/10080101.htm

amdmb.com is the source of the info

I will be upgrading my slot a motherboard currently running a 1000mhz to a DDR when this chip comes out. I feel sorry for the people who just bought the 1.2 or 1.333 chips LOL
Myself and I is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 11:35 AM   #2
phiber
Senior Member



Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Queens, NY

 
Re: 1.5GHz AMD Athlon Palomino Overclocks To 2.4GHz !!


Quote:
Originally posted by Myself and I
Yes....i'm drooling all over my keyboard again...as Mike Magee brings us news that the upcoming desktop version of the AMD Athlon Palomino.....flying at a default speed at 1.53GHz...this Palomino will be the most awesome overclocker we have ever seen.....get your money ready for this puppy !!!


That means overclockability on the mobile Athlon 4 family of a 1.8GHz clock speed (18 times 100MHz), and as much as 2.4GHz (18 times 133MHz) on the up and coming 1.5GHz Palominos.

So the overclockers had better oil their fans and lubricate their heat sinks ready for the day.


Source: The Inquirer - More Information http://www.theinquirer.net/10080101.htm

amdmb.com is the source of the info

I will be upgrading my slot a motherboard currently running a 1000mhz to a DDR when this chip comes out. I feel sorry for the people who just bought the 1.2 or 1.333 chips LOL
you dont have to be sorry for us
we only paid a Maximum of about $180
we could get these and put it in our mobos
we might "accidently" fry our Tbirds

__________________
Da OC Place
phiber is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 11:39 AM   #3
VecchK
Registered



Join Date: Jul 2001

 
Cool


Just because it supports higher multipliers doesn't mean it will overclock farther. It's a natural progression. Right now the limit is 12.5 which means you could only overclock your 1.53 by a little over 100 MHz. Just because the multipliers support up to 18 doesn't mean it will overclock to 2.4 GHz!

Here's a good example. Joe Schmoe goes and buys an AXIA Y 1.0 GHz. His multipliers go up to 12.5. Will his CPU overclock to 1.66? VERY unlikely unless he has some SERIOUS cooling and voltage mods. Most people boost their FSB. Say Joe tries to run it at 150 x 12.5. Will it work? HELL NO! (okay, maybe 1 out of 100 will work at this speed)

Also, from what I've heard, early tests of the Palominos show they don't overclock as well as the Thunderbirds. But Palominos are still faster so they'll probably be just about even. The Palominos will probably have a slight edge over the Thunderbirds, but they won't overclock to 2.4 GHz. I promise you that much.

BTW... the inquirer isn't a very reliable source of info. For months they proclaimed that the A7A266 was a horrible mobo cause it ran CPU's 10 degrees hotter and therefore should not be bought. That whole time Asus was acknowledging that there was a problem but the problem was that the temp was simply read 10 degrees higher then it really was.
VecchK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 01:27 PM   #4
Alex99
Member

 
Alex99's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chanhassen, MN

 
Talking


Well put Vecchk, my thoughts exactly. Some people just get too excited too soon.
Alex99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 03:08 PM   #5
UnseenMenace
UnseenModerator

 
UnseenMenace's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Very well said VecchK

__________________
one M15x is never enough
UnseenMenace is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 03:21 PM   #6
KaHNZa
Senior Member

 
KaHNZa's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: West Central MN

10 Year Badge
 
Nicely said vecchk. I don't think it will do 2.4 I just don't think its even physically possible.
KaHNZa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 04:31 PM   #7
TranceBear
Big Daddy Bear Senior

 
TranceBear's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by VecchK
Just because it supports higher multipliers doesn't mean it will overclock farther. It's a natural progression. Right now the limit is 12.5 which means you could only overclock your 1.53 by a little over 100 MHz. Just because the multipliers support up to 18 doesn't mean it will overclock to 2.4 GHz!

I have multiplier to 15 and have posted as high as 13.5. Most MSI boards have the option up to 15, especialy if you are running a 200mhz FSB CPU. It all boils down to getting that one lucky stepping that will rock. As a whole I would not get all that excited about the Palomino, but remember that all steppings are not created equal.

__________________
AMD 9950BE Phenom 3.5ghz 1.47v 250x14 CPU For Sale
Coolermaster V-8 41c Idle-51c Load
Asus M3A79-T Deluxe 790FX/SB750
G-Skill 2x2gb DDR2-800 5-5-5-15-24
2x74gb Raptors-2x750gb WD Raid-0
Antec 1200 Case/ Antec 1000 Watt P/S
What's Fragging? I Don't Play Games
It's About Bragging Right's, Right?
My Heatware 100% since 2002
TranceBear is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 04:44 PM   #8
M@$֙
Official Weight Watcher Staff



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
The Theoretical versus what is accomplishable is 2 different stories . I do agree the maximum in theory is incredible but doubtful it will happen. Good reading though.


Maestro
M@$֙ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 05:53 PM   #9
Speed_Freak
Member

 
Speed_Freak's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali

 
Assuming you could overclock that fast, the heat generated and the cooling required would be insane.
Speed_Freak is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 08:15 PM   #10
kat
Senior Member

 
kat's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: belding,MI,United States

 
cooling the Palomino..... is a very interesting proposition

the die is bigger and the stock voltage is lower

hmmm we`ll see

__________________
kat
knowledge is the key to a successful OC:D
kat is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 10:14 PM Thread Starter   #11
Myself and I
Disabled

 
Myself and I's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Savannah ,GA

 
i think your baseing your theory on the old t-bird core. The palimino is totally different when it comes to power consumption. I bet the 1530 mhz chip will overclock easy to 2gigertz plus with the sk6 heatsink or even water cooling. If you have up to 18x multiplier and you start out with a voltage of 1.4 or even 1.55 at 1530 mhz why do you think raising the voltage to 1.8 wont work for another 470mhz. Raise the FSB to 150 and your up to 2100mhz easy.
Myself and I is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 10:42 PM   #12
Alex99
Member

 
Alex99's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chanhassen, MN

 
Thumbs down


You pump 1.80 volt into a .13 micron Palimo core, with its transistors so tightly packed, and you'll fry the mother in 30 seconds. That's why it's spec'd to run at 1.4 volts or lower.
Alex99 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-10-01, 11:23 PM   #13
schmidty
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Portland, OR

 
Um... Isn't the palomino still a 0.18m process?

Unless I'm mistaken the P4 will be making the 0.13m jump this year, followed by AMD in early-mid '02 (think its called throughbred?).

The desktop palomino runs at nearly the same voltage (if not the same) as the thunderchicken (t-bird). The 1.4v is for the 'moblie' version.

cheers!
schmidty is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-11-01, 08:18 AM   #14
Sohryu Asuka Langley
Member

 
Sohryu Asuka Langley's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001

 
palomino is .18micron and a 1.2 is priced slightly higher then a 1.4 tbird. it runs 1.2v@500Mhz and 1.4v@rated speed (speedstep/auto shutdown - whatever).
Sohryu Asuka Langley is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-11-01, 08:25 AM Thread Starter   #15
Myself and I
Disabled

 
Myself and I's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Savannah ,GA

 
lol
Myself and I is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-01, 11:20 AM   #16
AtomicGuY
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
Where did you here this?


The current Athlon 200 bus processor's that are 1300 and 1400MHz use 5 L1 bridges which can get a possible 17X Multiplier at MAX. Now, the Palamino's also use 5 bridges for the CPU, and this means theycan have a 17X limit as well. Unless CPU's move to 6 bridges for L1, you aint going to be able to get higher than 17X, no matter what!

The 200MHz Front side bus will end at 1.7GHz, I'm not to sure about the 266FSB thou, they might keep it going with throughbred and possibly countinue behond 2GHz mark.

With the current Palamino core, the highest possible attainable CPU speed with 266FSB is 2266MHz
AtomicGuY is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-01, 12:20 PM   #17
UnseenMenace
UnseenModerator

 
UnseenMenace's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
LMAO will someone please wake me, when we all stop dreaming

__________________
one M15x is never enough
UnseenMenace is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-01, 12:53 PM Thread Starter   #18
Myself and I
Disabled

 
Myself and I's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Savannah ,GA

 
I think this new 1.53 chip will have a new stepping with more bridges
Myself and I is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-01, 08:47 PM   #19
GuNRocK
Member



Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

 
I belive its possible but its going to be realy realy hard to cool down a cpu tahts overclocked like allmost a 1ghz more then spec......i dont know anybody in there RIGHT MIND that would spend lets say about 500US on this 1.5ghz palomino when its first out and then overclock it that much....i think there is a high probility that it was fry and there is 500 down the drain..well i am waiting for somebody rich to do this just because wehre i live ect... and my current hours PT it would take me about 2 months to buy that chip its around 750 my dollars if i am close on 500$ a chip in 1000s qty
GuNRocK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-13-01, 04:21 AM   #20
M@$֙
Official Weight Watcher Staff



Join Date: Apr 2001

 
AMD will hit 2.4 ghz very soon I think ! End of Next Year ?


Maestro
M@$֙ is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?