Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Do I want the highest score or highest clock?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-22-04, 02:06 PM Thread Starter   #1
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Do I want the highest score or highest clock?


Now when overclocking, would I want to keep my clock speeds so that I get the highest score in benchmarks, or do I want the highest clock speeds without artifacts?

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-04, 02:22 PM   #2
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
dont run with artifacts, it just hurts your scores and can damage your hardware
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-04, 02:23 PM   #3
shiltz
Member

 
shiltz's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003

 
highest score, highest clock doesn't really do you much good if it's slower than the lower clock.

edit: unless you mean highest score but with artifacts, that you don't want.

__________________
Main Rig
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ @2750Mhz 11X250Mhz 1.45V / Asus A8N-SLI Premium / 4X 1024mb OCZ Platinum, 3-4-4-8 @416Mhz
Saphire Vapor-X Radeon HD 5770 1GB @925/1360 / Audigy 2 / Acer H233H 23" / Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550
WD Raptor 74GB / Segate Barracuda 500GB / Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
Water Cooled: CPU Swiftech Storm / Danger Den Double Heater core / Eheim 1250
shiltz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-04, 02:47 PM   #4
Cyberwiz01
Member

 
Cyberwiz01's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: hunting wolverines

 
usually highest clock = highest score, but artifacts are bad, and you don't want them. And besides posting an uber-high bench score that has loads of artifacts is dishonest to the benchmarking community.
Cyberwiz01 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-22-04, 02:51 PM   #5
Nero
Member

 
Nero's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brooklyn!

 
Highest score. Sometimes you can overclock your card to a point where it's not artifacting, but errors are being made, and enough of them to offset the increased clock speed.
Nero is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 12:58 AM Thread Starter   #6
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyberwiz01
usually highest clock = highest score, but artifacts are bad, and you don't want them. And besides posting an uber-high bench score that has loads of artifacts is dishonest to the benchmarking community.
Actually I can overclock this thing pretty well. But my score starts to go down after 432/372. But it can handle more than that.

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 01:01 AM   #7
LtBlue14
Member

 
LtBlue14's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
without artifacts, but scores still go down?

prob means there are artifacts, but they're nearly undetectable
LtBlue14 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 01:20 AM Thread Starter   #8
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Well, the thing is this. If my score goes down, and I overclock it some more, my score starts to go back up.

Also, is XP or 2k better for games/benchmarks?

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 02:37 AM   #9
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
win 2k is way better for amd rigs. not sure for intel, but keep your current os, dont bother with a reinstall. hows your 3dmarks after the overclock? 430/370 is what the average 9800 pro overclocks to. broke 17k yet? compare link to your best score? make sure everything is set to performance, show me a score that beats the one in my sig
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 02:40 AM Thread Starter   #10
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Eh.. well here is my newest one.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=7776634

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 03:41 AM   #11
JU571N
Member



Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: US

 
Use 3dmark03 for testing your videocard. 3dmark01 is more cpu/ram dependent, thus less accurate than 3dmark03 when comparing card scores. I only score 11-12k on 3dmark01, but 6100 on 3dmark03. My cpu just isn't fast enough to bring in a higher score on 3dmark01.

Can anyone confirm that win2k is better for amd? I'm gonna be formating agian soon and want to get best performance. I really like XP features that aren't in win2k, so I'm hoping it's not true.

__________________
ECS A785GM-AD3
Cooler Master GeminII S
Athlon II X3 450 (3.64ghz@1.5v)
4gb Kingston HyperX (1516 9-9-9-24)
ATI HD 5770 (990/1375@1.212v)
Corsair VX450
Asus VE228H
JU571N is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 01:43 PM   #12
Supertrucker
Way Too Jealous Member

 
Supertrucker's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Southern California

10 Year Badge
 
on straight untweaked installs, xp will probably be ever so slightly slower than 2k because of its many features (and bloat). however, you wouldnt be able to notice than .02% performance loss nearly as much as a feature that you want xp and wont have in 2k.

oc550, my 9800np 400/325 / barton2.2(200x11) on xp with everything set to QUALITY with all of my backround apps running, will still beat your ti4200 in 3dmarks. let it die already

__________________
4670k @ 4.5 w/ apogee HD Asrock Extreme 6
Crossfire R9 290 @ 1100/1300 EK fc blocks
Yamasaki Catleap 2560x1440 IPS w/120hz pcb
DT770pros(modmic) w/ Sound Blaster Z
Swiftech mcp 35x 120.4 Swiftech XP w/GT ap-14s
Supertrucker is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 01:54 PM   #13
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
thats cause you got a barton and your cpus almost as fast as mine. youd probably get 17k marks or so. Nice score cerebus, thats 7k ahead of your fx5600! your card will last you years to come, a faster cpu will bring the beast within your card
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 02:25 PM Thread Starter   #14
Cerberus2k7
Drifto Mexicano

 
Cerberus2k7's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Morris, IL

 
Oh yea! And now im starting to re-contemplate AMD Damn choices and cheaper AMD CPUs!

__________________

Member of OCdriftingNinjas | You gotta' Fold if you wanna turn up the Heat
Overclocking: My Anti-Drug. | Overclocking my body...one day at a time... | Black Belt Ubercloxx0r | You are the most ripped yo-yo'er I have ever seen. - Seven
HTPC | i5 2500k@3.8 | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 | 16GB HyperX | GTX 460 1gb@845/1100 | 1.5TB | Silverstone LC10S-M | Corsair 500w
Cerberus2k7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 02:48 PM   #15
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
wait and save up for an a64, I am doing the same. youll be blown away by one of those guys, can we say 25k marks? ill be aiming for like 20k myself
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 02:57 PM   #16
TruckyJ
Member

 
TruckyJ's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Middle America

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
wait and save up for an a64, I am doing the same. youll be blown away by one of those guys, can we say 25k marks? ill be aiming for like 20k myself
You going to get a new video card as well so you don't bottleneck that CPU all up?
TruckyJ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 07:58 PM   #17
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
I forgot to mention that 20k is with my ti4200. I will upgrade when the time comes, but it will be something much better than a 9800 pro. think something like pci-e with 32 pipes and 512 bit ram years from now
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 08:01 PM   #18
micamica1217
Member

 
micamica1217's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Overclocker550
I forgot to mention that 20k is with my ti4200. I will upgrade when the time comes, but it will be something much better than a 9800 pro.
now your talking.

use the ti4200 if you must with a new system, then when you have the money...get the new card. (or everything all at once.)

mica

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.0 (3.2 max OC), MSI P6N SLI plat, 4gigs corsair xms2, 2x 9800gtx KO in SLI, X-Fi XGamer, 2x Seagate Barracuda 250gb, Light-on 20x DVD, Thermaltake 750w PSU, air cooled with Ultama-90 and Antec 900 case....Soyo (24D6) 24" wide 14139 vantage

" Comparing the technical relevance of The Inquirer to Beyond3D is like comparing the technical prowess of Paris Hilton to John Carmack." -Albuquerque


[OCG] Fraging at it's finest.
micamica1217 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-04, 08:20 PM   #19
Overclocker550
Member

 
Overclocker550's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002

 
glad to see we can agree on something. I have decided I wont bother with a newer agp card, I will just stick my ti4200 in there and wait for pci-e then upgrade all over again when amd goes 65nm. I may get the 130nm if I have the money LOL since 90nm has been delayed
Overclocker550 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > General GPU
General GPU
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?