• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Quiet One Pump Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bevman

I am a WC newbie, and like many other Noo-Bs in this area I am looking to set up my system. While looking for a inexpensive pump I came across this one.

So here is my question. Has anyone treid the "Quiet One" 1200 pump and if so how does it perform?

To me it looks good for WC for the following reasons.

1 Price
2 Good rated gph and head (296 X 6)
3 Designed for submersed or inline use (vice Aqua Via)
4 Operational cost (Eletricty here is a B**ch)

Place to buy pump.

Second Place

Here is some info I found about the pump.

Information about pump

Opinoins?

Mine was very quiet at first, however recently it's been making some noise. I don't know if it's air, but I've drained and refilled the system a few times and it still does it. Like you said, it has good specs for the price, but I probably wouldn't buy one again unless noise wasn't a concern.

Do a search for quiet one 1200 in this forum. You'll find several threads about "retiring" or just being fed up with their quiet one 1200. They seem to start "clicking" after a month or so and no one has found a good solution to stop it.

My conclusion is that is a good little pump, but it will NOT be a quiet pump. I'm regret wasting so much time with them.

I resealed up my second pump and was running it(not in a system) and it heated up the water way fast. It is running inline. Don't bother wasting time on this pump. It is cheap but gets real hot running, seems to transfer heat to the water and is NOT quiet!. Looking for another pump....

I have one...
I was thrilled with it at first
then it started making lots of noise....

One thing to remember:
ALot of the posts on this forum are talking about the older model and the newer model is WORSE!