Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Folding@Once Installer: I need your help devleoping it!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-04, 01:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
Folding@Once Installer: I need your help devleoping it!


EDIT: THIS ROUND OF ALPHA TESTING IS OVER. PLEASE DELETE ANY COPIES YOU HAVE LOCALLY. A NEW THREAD WILL BE STARTED WHEN I'M READY TO RELEASE THE FEATURE COMPLETE BETA FOR TESTING.

I'm writing a FAH4 installer which will have the following features (when it's done):

Quote:
*One-Click(TM) type Install - NOT YET
*Automatic CPU Type/Features Detection & Optomized Flag Loading - WORK-IN-PROGRESS
*Win98/ME Compatible - NOT YET
*Automatic Client Download - NOT YET
*Saves Log File - NOT YET
I need to test the CPU type/features detection however I only have a non-SSE Athlon, an AthlonXP, a non-SSE Duron, and a 2 GHz Celeron to test with at my house. Attached is a zip file containing the installer (really just a CPU feature detector at this point) and the source code (please respect the copyright notice and do not redistribute this unfinished code, I'll re-release it under the GPL when it's finished). It tests for the following items:

CPU Vendor (GenuineIntel, AuthenticAMD, others)
SSE
SSE2
Hyperthreading
(and on AMD CPUs)
3DNow!
x86-64 (A64/Opteron/FX 64-bit extentions)

Just run the attached EXE and see if it correctly reports your CPU's features (to exit press any key). If any of those are detected wrong on your computer please post which one was detected wrong and what CPU you have. If you think something is wrong please double-check it against a CPUID program (like WCPUID, GCPUID, or CPU-Z) before posting.

Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:21 PM.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 01:19 PM Thread Starter   #2
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
EDIT: Attachment deleted

Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:20 PM.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 01:38 PM   #3
GM1010
Member

 
GM1010's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001

 
On my XP2100 T-bred B:

Found an authentic AMD CPU
SSE detected
No SSE2 detected
No hyperthreading detected
3dnow! extensions found
no x86-64 found

__________________
Mobo: Asus A8N-E
CPU: Opteron 165 @ 2.5 @ 1.4v
Cooling: Dtek WW - Maze 4 GPU - (2) HD Coolers - Swiftech MCP350 - BIP III w/ Yate Loons
Ram: 2 GB GSkill PC3200 Value @ 227 (3-3-3-5)
Video: eVGA 7800GT @ stock

2.5 GHz Folding for Team32 (Greg_M.)

My HEAT (12-0)
GM1010 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 01:52 PM   #4
JetMech
Member

 
JetMech's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Folding 24/7 in Newport News, Va. Since Sept. 2001

 
On my P4 2.6C
Found genuine Intel cpu
sse detected
sse2 detected
Hyperthreading detected
No 3Dnow! found
No x86-64 found

__________________
Fold Smart
E6600@2.4x2
Proud member of Folding@Home Team #32--Folding 24/7
Avatar by : IMOG
"Greater love hath no man than to give up his puter(s) for science."
JetMech is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 02:14 PM   #5
Animal982
Member

 
Animal982's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: PA

 
P3 800 MHz
Found genuine Intel cpu
sse detected
No sse2 detected
No Hyperthreading detected
No 3Dnow! found
No x86-64 found
Animal982 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 05:30 PM   #6
ElectroX
Banned

 
ElectroX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Orange County

 
Detected correctly on my Athlons, but it said that my Celly 1.8 had HT (I wish).
ElectroX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 05:38 PM   #7
Maxvla
Senior Member

 
Maxvla's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: OKC

 
i'll try on my a64 here in a minute.

here's my results:

Found an AuthenticAMD CPU
SSE Detected!
SSE2 Detedted! (typo in the program)
No HyperThreading Detected
3DNow! extensions found!
x86-64 extensions found!

__________________
The Black Hole
Intel i7 860 2.8ghz
Gigabyte P55M-UD2
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX460 1GB
Intel X-25M 80GB SSD
Magnetics - 2x2TB 4x1TB
Corsair HX850W PSU
NEC DVD-RW
Maxvla is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 06:51 PM Thread Starter   #8
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
I've fixed that typo and another one that was causing the program to check for 3DNow! and x86-64 on non-AMD CPUs.

I think I've fixed the HTT detection problem. I'll upload a new version.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-24-04, 07:45 PM   #9
Miralcos

 
Miralcos's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sheridan, Arkansas

 
Found an AuthenticAMD CPU
SSE support detected!
No SSE2 support detected
No HyperThreading support detected
3DNow! extentions found!
No x86-64 support detected

Seems to have worked here as well.

__________________
PLEASE FOLD FOR TEAM32
Heatware
Miralcos is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 12:21 AM   #10
matrixzen
Member

 
matrixzen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: CA

 
This is what it read off my computer.

Found a GenuineIntel CPU
SSE support detected!
SSE2 Detected!
HyperThreading Detected. Using 2-client setup.

I like your program. It says I have HT even though I don't. Heh but hey I'm running a P4b so it shouldn't have said it had HT?

__________________
Team 32 Contributor.
matrixzen is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 12:25 AM   #11
zillaoc
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
runnin > P4 2.6c abit IC7 then ran it on 2.4c ic7-G
found ht
sse and sse 2 on both
zillaoc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 10:16 AM Thread Starter   #12
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
Hmm... I'm going to upload another version that will display the raw feature info as a hex number. Could someone experiencing problems with the HTT detection and someone with a HTT enabled processor post theirs?
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 12:56 PM Thread Starter   #13
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
Status Update: After wrestling with GCC and libcurl I've finally gotten the automatic download function completed and I'm starting on the actual install portion of the code.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 03:11 PM   #14
NiTrO bOiE
Member

 
NiTrO bOiE's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
On my P4 1.4 it says:

Found a GenuineIntel CPU
RAW FEATURE DATA: 3FEBFBFF
SSE support detected!
SSE2 Detected!
HyperThreading Detected. Using 2-client setup.

Even though this P4 doesn't have hyperthreading.

__________________
CPU: AMD 64 3000+ DTR @ 2750
MB:
DFI Lanparty UT 250GB

Memory: 2x 1GB G.Skill PC3200

Video:
Radeon X800XT-PE w/ Maze 4 GPU

Hard Drives:
36GB Raptor (Main) 160GB Hitachi (Storage)

Optical Storage:
44x CD, 8x DVD-RW

Sound:
Audigy 2 ZS
Case & Power: Black Chieftec FT w/ Window, Antec TP 430
Watercooled WW, Pro Core (2) 120mm Deltas, Hydor L20
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
NiTrO bOiE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 04:19 PM Thread Starter   #15
Mr.Radar
Member

 
Mr.Radar's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Currently on a silent vacation from overclocking.

 
I've finally figured out what's wrong with the HTT detection. I just searched Intel's site for information on cpuid. Apparently it returns true on the HTT bit if the processor's microarchitechture supports HTT, reguardless of weather or not it's enabled. You have to make a seperate cpuid call to get information on weather HTT is enabled.

I'm going to declare this round of debugging/testing over. I'll repost a new beta version when I have all the features added. So far I've got CPU detection, logging, and automatic downloading working and I should have the rest of the inastller finished by the end of the week at the very most.

Last edited by Mr.Radar; 04-25-04 at 04:37 PM.
Mr.Radar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-04, 04:21 PM   #16
Xenocide
Member

 
Xenocide's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
looks good here on my backup rig, 750 duron @ 825

found an AuthenticAMD CPU
RAW FEATURE DATA: 183FBFF
no SSE support detected
no SSE2 support detected
no HyperThreading support detected
3DNow! extensions found!
no x86-64 support detected

__________________
A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.
Xenocide is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?