Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

cpu usage

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-04, 08:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
65stang
Member

 
65stang's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lexington, KY

 
cpu usage


i was looking in my task manager and with trillian running, outlook open 2 aim windows, and windows media player, usage was at 60%??? isnt that sorta high for my rig?

__________________
HP Touchsmart TM2
65stang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-04, 09:02 PM   #2
OC Detective
Member

 
OC Detective's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Malaysia

 
Have you ran spyware and adaware?
OC Detective is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-04, 09:09 PM Thread Starter   #3
65stang
Member

 
65stang's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lexington, KY

 
yup i run em both every 5 days or so.

__________________
HP Touchsmart TM2
65stang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-04, 09:18 PM   #4
tgxiii
Member

 
tgxiii's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Folding @ Eagle Rock, CA

 
What processes do you have on your task manager?
tgxiii is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-04, 09:29 PM Thread Starter   #5
65stang
Member

 
65stang's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lexington, KY

 
heres a picture


__________________
HP Touchsmart TM2
65stang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-04, 09:30 PM Thread Starter   #6
65stang
Member

 
65stang's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lexington, KY

 
btw, it had just dropped to 24% it avgs 50% and when it changes songs spikes to 75% usage

__________________
HP Touchsmart TM2
65stang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-04, 03:52 AM   #7
cujo
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
are you using a media player visualization? i know i've seen one that loads the cpu heavily.


also, that's a sick amount of processes. you should look into cutting down the stuff you have running. for comparison, i have 18 total right now, including taskmanager.


go here: http://www.answersthatwork.com/Taskl...s/tasklist.htm to find what each process is.

go here: http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm to kill some other unused processes in windows.
cujo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-04, 06:47 AM   #8
zYclone
Registered



Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Safety Harbor, FL

 
do a search on google for "HijackThis". It really removes any hard to get rid of programs off your computer if you find you have something you want to get rid of.
zYclone is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-04, 11:04 AM Thread Starter   #9
65stang
Member

 
65stang's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lexington, KY

 
there isnt something easier than figuring em all out??? i know what a few are. no proggy that just edits it for ya??? if not someone needs to make one

__________________
HP Touchsmart TM2
65stang is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-04, 01:00 PM   #10
cujo
Member



Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
the site of the first link i gave you has a tool. i believe there is a trial version. test it out and let me know how it works.

figuring out what is running doesn't take long anyway. plus it's well worth it to have an optimized computer.
cujo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-04, 01:47 PM   #11
jkb2198
Member

 
jkb2198's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: atlanta

 
Also try using "msconfig" in the run command. This will open up the microsoft configurer. Go to the tab that says startup and disble any apps you do not need to run when your computer starts up as this will not load anything you dont want which in turn gives you less processes running. That is one easy way to get rid of app that you do not use when the computer loads and will also get rid of some the processes from those apps. And when you do want to run those apps just launch the programs .exe file and it will run like normal.

keep clockin
jkb2198 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?