Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Displays and Digital Cameras
Displays and Digital Cameras Monitors, Digital Cameras, etc.
Forum Jump

blue tint on screen

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-02-04, 06:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
Beavis
Member

 
Beavis's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
blue tint on screen


I've looked around and can't find a definitive answer so I need some opinions. I have 2 monitors, one is an older dell trinitron and the other a practically brand new Dell trinitron. I was using the old one day it had a blue tint to the screen, I leave it on all the time so it was after bringing it out of power save mode. It goes away after turing it off and the computer for a minute and rebooting. I thought it was going bad so I bought another one. I was moving things around and when I reconnected everything the new one did it too. Now I'm starting to think it's not the monitors but something else. Could it be the video card, I've used different vga cables and now 2 different monitors. The warranty on the new monitor will be up very soon, so I want to rule out a defect on it so I feel better, it cost me a lot of money.

__________________
-GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43
-Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6500
-SAPPHIRE Ultimate Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
-Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3320418AS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
-G.SKILL 4GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model F2-6400CL6S-4GBMQ
-Crucial 2x 2GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model CT2KIT25664AA800
-Asus Blu-Ray burner
-Sound Blaster Audigy
-23" Dell Ultrasharp u2312hm
Beavis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-04, 07:14 PM Thread Starter   #2
Beavis
Member

 
Beavis's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Well, I reseated the vga cable on the back of the monitor and everything seems normal. I've reconnected the cable on both ends several times and turning the monitor and computer several times and no more blue tint. I hope the problem is just isolated to the cable and not the monitor, I'd hate for this to happen again down the road, I wouldn't be able to live myself. The monitor has 2 inputs so if one input went bad the other would still be good right?

__________________
-GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43
-Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6500
-SAPPHIRE Ultimate Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
-Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3320418AS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
-G.SKILL 4GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model F2-6400CL6S-4GBMQ
-Crucial 2x 2GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model CT2KIT25664AA800
-Asus Blu-Ray burner
-Sound Blaster Audigy
-23" Dell Ultrasharp u2312hm
Beavis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-02-04, 07:16 PM   #3
mdcomp
Classic Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by Beavis
Well, I reseated the vga cable on the back of the monitor and everything seems normal. I've reconnected the cable on both ends several times and turning the monitor and computer several times and no more blue tint. I hope the problem is just isolated to the cable and not the monitor, I'd hate for this to happen again down the road, I wouldn't be able to live myself. The monitor has 2 inputs so if one input went bad the other would still be good right?
Should be, yes. Another idea I had would be to make sure there are no other electrical appliances in very close proximity to the monitor, sometimes interference can occur and do some pretty wierd things.

Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-04-04, 06:33 PM   #4
CeeDeeJay
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Oklahoma

 
A Suggestion


I have been an Sony Trintron user for several years.They all (Trinitons)seem to be capable of showing the blue tinted screen anytime the power input is interfeared with.Usually this is a bad connection or interfearence with the power cable.In my experience if the actual mointor has a problem then the power light (green led) would not remain green but would flash blinking green even after power and signal are applied.Remeber I am not a Sony technician (but I have used several units and serviced several others) but I have learned enough to know that anything can happen. As long as my unit gives me a solid green led after appling power and signal I am not worried and look other places(connection,interfearence) for the problem.
Good Luck
CeeDeeJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-04, 12:44 AM   #5
3rdRocl
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Hmm blue huh? Mine goes pink!
Mine is Dell not trinitron but it is sony on the inside.
If its still under warranty you should send it back. It gets to be a pain in the arse when you cant switch off, or use the energy saving function of your monitor for fear that it will stay pink/blue this time.

Does anyone know the life expectency of a screen thats on 24/7/365?

Edit: Duh, it is a trinitron, I had no idear!

Last edited by 3rdRocl; 05-06-04 at 12:59 AM.
3rdRocl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-04, 01:07 AM   #6
unreal
Registered

 
unreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami

 
yeah portable phones and other tv electronics could cause interfernece withthe signals, but ussually its simply the cable not all the way in,,

__________________
Main system xeon x3440 (oc'ed to 3.5) ASrock p55 extreem / mastercooler hyper 212
Nvidia 250 (oc'ed attempting)
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Thermaltake toughpower 750 xt
300gig seagate 8mb cache 7200 (boot)
400gig seagate 8mb cache 7200
1TB Samsung 32mb cache 7200
74gig western digital 8mb cache 10,000

MyHeatware
unreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-04, 10:14 AM   #7
CeeDeeJay
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Oklahoma

 
Alittle more Info


You are just as correct the blue tint can be a pink tint.However they are both just a sign of signal interfearence and either usually goes back to the same problem. I have used several Trintrons made between 1997 and 2002.They seem to have a resonable life span and it can be extended by proper maitience.
The Sony Warranty is for 3 years so you can be resonably assured they expect the unit to last longer than that.My experience has been at least double that and longer with proper maitience and avoiding power surges ect.....Good Luck
CeeDeeJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-04, 04:17 PM Thread Starter   #8
Beavis
Member

 
Beavis's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Austin, Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Just for the sake of argument, suppose one my monitors exhibits this problem again, but can't be corrected by reseating cables, can it be repaired or is it trash? I think my older trinitron is at risk of this happening sometime soon. Who do I take it to? Has anyone here repaired this problem before?

CeeDeeJay,

You refered to the power cable being the most likely cause. In my case it was the VGA cable, are you talking about both cables or just the power cable? By the way it's a FD P1130 21" Dell Trinitron.

Can regular PC speakers cause interference, that's the only thing close to the monitor.

__________________
-GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43
-Intel Pentium Dual-Core E6500 Wolfdale 2.93GHz LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor BX80571E6500
-SAPPHIRE Ultimate Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5
-Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W
-Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3320418AS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
-G.SKILL 4GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model F2-6400CL6S-4GBMQ
-Crucial 2x 2GB DDR2800 (PC2 6400) Model CT2KIT25664AA800
-Asus Blu-Ray burner
-Sound Blaster Audigy
-23" Dell Ultrasharp u2312hm

Last edited by Beavis; 05-06-04 at 04:46 PM.
Beavis is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-04, 07:18 PM   #9
CeeDeeJay
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Oklahoma

 
Beavis


Both cables that enter mointors are possible sources of problems.I am less concerned about the power cable than the data cable.Are thier any power lines that are bundled with or crossing your data cable.It is possible that the mointors own power cable could cross or interfear with the mointor.Of course any electrical device could cause interfearence. However with mointors usually it is the mointor that interfears with other devices like speakers but it is possible to be the other way..I have seen one situtation that a cordless phone caused interfearnence.
There are adjustments inside a mointor that allow tecnicians to reset the power output of the power unit that is used to control power,brightness,contrast and focus and these can all be reset at higher power output. This is what is used when the tecnicians go in and "refurbish" mointors.By increasing(or decreasing) the power output you are often able to make up for years of use and reset the controls to extend the life of a mointor.However thier are 2 major drawbacks.One is a coil that holds massive amounts of potiental electrical power even when the mointor is totally disconnected this can cause explosions or elecectrical deaths.The other is some units are not able to accept these changes and will sometimes fail. Many mointor suppliers.selling points or warrenity centers have people qualified to do this work safely.Even many good television repair shops and tecnicians are able to do this.We have done this to many units and the Trinitons are very good about accepting these adjustments and prolonging thier lifespan.This type of repair is not difficult but is very dangerous and has to be done by qualified people.You cannot affort to risk you life for any mointor.If I had this problem return and I couldnt find any other cause I would attempt to find a tecnician to accomplish these adjustments or if they want to much money just consider I got my moneys worth and buy another with a good warrenity.
CeeDeeJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Displays and Digital Cameras
Displays and Digital Cameras Monitors, Digital Cameras, etc.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?