• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ATI Optimizing for Dummies (=ME!) Help needed.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rogerdugans

Linux challenged Senior, not that it stops me...
I just picked up a Radeon 9600 SE (128mb ram) for low money and I am less than thrilled by it's performance: not huge gains over the 8500 I have on loan.

I am brand new to ATI cards since I primarily run Linux, and ATI is well known for having...less than stellar drivers for linux.

BUT That is why I bought the card: more testing, and no fear of damaging someone else's stuff!

So what I am asking for is help to optimize the 9600 in windows and/or on a bios level: I want to test in both OSes for perfomance and so on.

I really don't want to keep Win2K on the test machine any longer than I have to, so I will probably end testing in windows within the next few days:

Any help to get it running as well as possible is appreciated. :)

erm.....i got some great advice, take one bucket of water, proceed to drop 9600se in it :D honestly, that card is horrible, 64bit mem interface :| it really is a POS, you would of done much better getting a 9600NP, it has 128bit mem interface :) but if you have say $150 i would of got a 9600pro\XT they will stomp all over the 9600se\np. honestly, there really isnt anything you can do to get decent performance out of that 9600se :(

:) Being cheap is good...and bad!

I HAD looked at somewhat better cards, but the cost savings for this one were too good to pass up.
It's what I have, and I will use it- the trick now is to get it to run as well as it can.
I AM sure it is possible to get it to run better than stock/default settings, I just don't know how- my hope is that someone here will be able to help.