Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

my PC is acting weird [?]

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-04, 05:16 AM Thread Starter   #1
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
my PC is acting weird [?]


Hi all...
I've got a problem since ages but now that Summer is coming here i took more care of it...

Well yesterday i had an AthlonXP1800+ with GreenCooler(4800rpm) and i had 75C @ IDLE and i really thought it was my motherboaerd or something but well.. as my computer was a bit old i bought Athlon XP (Barton) 2600+ Asus A7N8X-X + Thermlatake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition....

i was happy cuz i thought iwont have more temperature problems but .... after instlaling those things i got:

70C @ Bios
45C @ AIDA32 (CPU)
82C @ CPU Diode

wtf means DIODE? and i think i shoudl take care of it, but HOW ??
cuz its unbelivable for me buying a new procesor, motherboard & volcano and having that huge temperature..

help me if you can, im really worried

thanks in advance

p.s: maybe this helps? http://clanih.free.fr/temp.jpg

Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 05:26 AM.
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 05:45 AM   #2
CandymanCan
Disabled

 
CandymanCan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Woodbridge, Va

 
For now i would go into the bios and Underblock the Cpu, to about 1100mhz and lower the vcore even more.

Resset youre Heatsink, did u put AS5 or AS3 or whatever AS you have on thing ? Make sure its a small layer.

To me it sound like u dont have the heatsink on right. Judging this is the second proc that super high in temps are u sure u dont have the Heatsink on backwords ?
CandymanCan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 05:49 AM   #3
lemon
Member

 
lemon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Intel Production Line, Malaysia

 
Use your finger! touch your heatsink! is it feel hot to touch? If you only feel slightly warm, I suggest you have to reseat your heatsink and apply some AS5 of regular thermal compound.
lemon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 05:54 AM Thread Starter   #4
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
by heatsink you mean my cooler?(volcano)... soz im spanish and my english is not too good

if you mean that i touched it and its not hot, maybe its nearly cold o_o

oh and btw i used the thermal compound that was brought with my volcano... dont know if its as5 or as3, or nothing of those?


p.s: i've put off mycooler and took the thermal compound and put it again... but still the same

p.s2: i've ran ASUS PROBE and says that my CPU Temp is 45.. but it doesnt show DIODE... Do i have to believe that? or i have to believe BIOS? (i think bios )

p.s3: p.s: other problem that i haveis that my Mhz are @ 1920 and the norm of 2600+ is 21xx or 20xx right?
myFSB is 166Mhz and multiplier is 12.5, but its weird cuz 12.5 acts the same as 11.5

i changed that in bios tho

Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 08:43 AM.
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 08:51 AM   #5
lemon
Member

 
lemon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Intel Production Line, Malaysia

 
If your CPU is hot but your heatsink isn't, that mean the CPU can't properly conduct it's heat to the heatsink, that's made the CPU running hot. Your temp is 45 while idle?
lemon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 09:07 AM Thread Starter   #6
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
my temp is 70C (in bios) and CPU Diode in windows is 80C (atm only navigating)

im going to try with my old Green Cooler hope me luck :/


p.s: i've tried my GreenCooler and...... its still the same, no luck CPU DIode's Temp & BIOS are too high

Last edited by Souzou; 05-15-04 at 09:19 AM.
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 09:29 AM   #7
lemon
Member

 
lemon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Intel Production Line, Malaysia

 
Good luck to you!
lemon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 09:38 AM Thread Starter   #8
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
not much good luck, with my green cooler, wich runs alot of rpm slower my diodes temp was 88C and processor 56C

with my volcano its procesor 45C diode 80C
so it doesnt seem a heatsink problem
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 09:48 AM   #9
Steven4563
Member

 
Steven4563's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northants England

 
have u got the heatsink on backwards

the reason your chip only runs at 1.9ghz is becuase it has 512K L2 Cache unlike the t-bred or pallys which have 256K

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchester @ 250x10 = 2.5ghz 1.55V Cooled By XP-120 & YS-TECH FD1238 Fan
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum Edition
Corsair XMS TwinX 1Gig 2x512Meg PC4400 Ram @ 416Mhz 2,2,2,6 1T
Hercules 3D Prophet 9700NP 128Meg ( Bios Flashed To 9700Pro With VGA Sliencer )
480Gig Hard Drive Space
MSI 16x DVD Drive
Artec 52x CD-RW Drive
Creative SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Antec PlusView 1000AMG Metallic Gray Case
Antec TruePower 550watt PSU ( New Version )
Windows XP Pro SP1
3DMark2001SE: 23014


4.9GHZ Of AMD Power For Overclockers.com Boinc Seti Team.
Steven4563 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 10:00 AM Thread Starter   #10
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
now igot my volcano back and im running IDLING at:

CPU temp: 42C
CPU Diode: 76C

yeah i foudn out that later lol thanks anyways...
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 12:09 PM   #11
Biggles 266
Member



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glasgow

 
That is still a bit on the warm side.

Do you have some sort of monitoring program for watching the temperatures in Windows? My Abit came with Hardware Monitor 2.7 or something like that.

Anyway, it has a case temp reading, you want that low as possible. If you have case temperatures of 40C or something like that then fit more case fans. Just pushing a bit more colder air into the case can work wonders.

__________________
CPU.......... Athlon 3000XP @ 210*12 (1.775V)
RAM.......... 2x512 MB TwinMOS PC3200 CL2.5
Graphics.... ATI Radeon 9600 XT 256 MB
Mobo........ Abit NF7-S
Storage..... SATA Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 9 160Gb
Cooling..... Coolermaster Jet 7


Help save the world - crunch for Find-A-Drug.
Biggles 266 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 02:25 PM   #12
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
I would flash your BIOS to the latest revision--this really sounds like an indication problem to me.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-15-04, 07:15 PM Thread Starter   #13
Souzou
New Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
my case is opened at all in the floor lol :/ how would i put fans in it XD
Souzou is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-04, 03:50 AM   #14
lemon
Member

 
lemon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Intel Production Line, Malaysia

 
It is better not to keep your case open at all the time and properly install case fans to obtain positive air pressure and air flowing pattern in your case.
lemon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?