Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Building a Rig 4 a friend

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-18-04, 09:20 PM Thread Starter   #1
nicoritschel
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Building a Rig 4 a friend


Hi! One of my friends wants me to build him a rig and this is what I've put together so far:
ASPIRE Turbo Case X-Dreamer Black Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power
DFI NFII INFINITY
2400 mobile
9800 pro
Mushkin 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200
Western Digital Special Edition 80GB Hard Drive
ASUS Black 52X QuieTrack Technology CD-ROM Drive
AS5
ZALMAN CNPS7000A-AlCu Aluminum + Copper CPU Cooler

TOTAL-$650

How does this look? Will the zalman have enough clearance to fit on the mobo? Thanks!

-Nico Ritschel

Last edited by nicoritschel; 05-18-04 at 09:59 PM.
nicoritschel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-04, 10:54 PM   #2
twump
Member



Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CA

 
not sure abotu the zalman.

i would reccomend swapping that cd-rom for a cd-rw.and if he's a gamer i'd bump that 512mb of ram up to 1gb so that a bit down the line he won't need to upgrade. other then that it looks like a good system.
twump is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-04, 11:17 PM Thread Starter   #3
nicoritschel
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
What heatsink should I look at? He doesn't want to spend over $45 on a heatsink. He's on a tight budget, so the 1 gig of ram might not work. Also, his dad has a cd-rw in his laptop, so if my friend wants to burn cds, he can use his dad's laptop.
nicoritschel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-18-04, 11:21 PM   #4
termin@tor
Member

 
termin@tor's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL

 
The zalman looks ok, I gues it will fit... not 100% sure about that tho.
I think you should get him a DVD-R instead of a CD-R. Not a lot more expensive but does a lot more work.
If he's a gamer, you might want to add another 512MB of RAM. It looks fine otherwise.

__________________
E8400 @ 3.6GHz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
Audigy 2 ZS
Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
Corsair 650TX Power Supply
termin@tor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-04, 06:17 PM Thread Starter   #5
nicoritschel
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
What HS should I consider buying for him? Thanks!

-Nico Ritschel
nicoritschel is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-04, 06:55 PM   #6
Xaotic
Very kind Senior

 
Xaotic's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greensboro NC

10 Year Badge
 
The Zalman support matrix for the socket 462 MBs is here:

http://www.zalman.co.kr/usa/product/..._list_eng.html

The DFI NFII INFINITY is not listed with clearance problems on the MB, so that will work fine as far as the board goes. However, looking at the MB, I'd suspect from the placement of the CPU socket, that you will have clearance problems with the PS if it's mounted directly above the MB.

As far as what sink to get, given the clearance problems on the board, I'd prefer a Thermalright SLK-900A. The fins face the correct direction to clear the PS and even if expensive, it works well.

Last edited by Xaotic; 05-19-04 at 07:09 PM.
Xaotic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 01:14 AM   #7
Gmork Balthazar
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
What will he be using the computer for
Gmork Balthazar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 04:06 AM   #8
CeeDeeJay
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southwest Oklahoma

 
My Two Cents


I have to agree with Xaotic the Slk-900A will fit in the budget and provide a very strong air cooling solution.This is verfided by the heatsink review found on Overclockers front page.
For gamming sometime another 512meg of Ram would be very nice but perhaps not necessary right now.
CeeDeeJay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 09:18 AM Thread Starter   #9
nicoritschel
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
He is going to be gaming. I know it would be much better if I could get another 512 stick of ram, but that doesn't fit in his budget. Thanks!

-Nico Ritschel
nicoritschel is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?