Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

windows xp activation (there is no expiration!)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-20-04, 12:42 PM Thread Starter   #1
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
windows xp activation - there is no expiration/limited number of activations!


i have seen hundreds upon hundreds of threads about people being unable to re-activate their windows xp.

when windows will not automatically re-activate itself, this is because the present hardware has changed significantly since your first activation.


first of all, try to activate over the internet. this is the quickest way and is the "normal" way that everybody knows how to activate windows.




it is up to you whether you register with microsoft or not, as it makes no difference in the activation process.




if your key can't be used to activate windows over the internet, you will see a box like this:




all you need to do to get around this is to click on the box that says "Telephone".

then you will get a screen that looks like this:




the activation wizard generates a new installation id which is basically an id based on your hardware.

simply select your country from the drop down box and a toll-free number will appear for you to call.

call up that number and there will be an automatic system that will take your call. you need to give that system your installation id and it will tell you it can't activate your copy of windows and to stay on the line to talk to a microsoft rep.

then all you need to do is explain that you are re-installing windows after some hardware changes and a fresh install. they will then ask how many computers you have this copy of winxp installed on and as long as it is only 1, they will read you a confirmation code to enter into your computer which will complete the activation and you will be good to go.

so no, you do not need to buy a new license. this is just a security measure to ensure that you aren't mass installing a single copy of windows xp.

*edit: moved images to my webserver*

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net

Last edited by mbentley; 12-12-08 at 10:43 AM. Reason: clarification
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 02:07 PM   #2
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Been there done that - sometimes they will let you reactivate it, sometimes they won't. What they told me one time was because I was no longer using that copy of XP with the hardware it was originally purchased with it was no longer a valid copy. I called back and told them that lightning had destroyed the original hardware. They told me that in effect lightning had also destroyed that copy of XP. I finally called back and lied about it - told them I had bought it with a floppy drive and was still using that floppy drive. They finally let me activate it, but gave me a warning that it could no longer be reactivated with a hardware change of any kind, period. That's when I finally sold the whole system and went back to 2000.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 04:07 PM   #3
autoMATTic
Member

 
autoMATTic's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit, MI

 
There should be a sticky thread devoted to Xp reactivation.

__________________
Mobo..............MSI K8N Neo4 Sli Platinum
CPU................AMD A64 3000+ (Venice) | 267*9 = 2.4Ghz, 3X HTT | 1.4V | Hyper 6 HSF w/ 2 fans
Vid Cards.........2 X MSI 6600GT
Ram................2 X 1GB Patriot PC3200 | 2403/12=200 | cpu/12 divider
Hard Drives......Maxtor 80GB Pata, Hitachi 160GB Sata
PSU................Enermax EG425P-VE SFMA
Case...............Just4PC 777Gamer case Blue
Monitor...........Philips 47" 1080P LCD
Speakers.........Logitech Z640 6ch.
Opticals..........NEC DVD Burner 3500
autoMATTic is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 09:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by autoMATTic
There should be a sticky thread devoted to Xp reactivation.
i can't agree more. it doesn't have to be this, but we need a sticky very bad!

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-04, 10:35 PM   #5
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
yes i was about to say that this needed to be a sticky, too many posts about this.
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 06:32 AM Thread Starter   #6
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
*bump* for update with images.

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 07:00 AM   #7
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
um should you remove the Installation ID number from the image?
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 08:09 AM   #8
GV2NIX
Member

 
GV2NIX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY

 
I've managed to keep activating my copy even after changing all the hardware multiple times. I just fiddle with it until it works. What I mean by fiddle is trying to activate it at different points while I'm installing things. First, I'll try it right after the setup. If that doesn't work, I'll install a few updates and try it again. If that doesn't work, I'll upgrade to SP1 and try it again. Etc etc etc...

I know this doesn't sound very logical, but using this method I've been able to activate it almost 100% of the time. Sometimes it'll activate right away, other times it'll take a lot of changing things around. Maybe this isn't making any sense, but that's my little trick. Please let me know if you think I just don't know what the hell I'm doing, haha!

__________________

Processor: 939 Opteron 170 @ 2.7GHz (270x10) Vcore=1.425V
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x 512 OCZ PC-4800 Dual Channel DDR EL Elite Edition CL2.5-3-4-9 1T Vdimm=2.8V
Spindles: 1x Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 73.4GB; 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB; 1x Plextor 708A
Video Card: ATi Radeon X1900XT 512MB PCIe
Power Supply: FSP Group FX700-GLN 700W
Case: Cooler Master PAC-T01 "Praetorian"
Cooling: Storm G5 CPU Block; Maze4 GPU Block; Black Ice Micro II; MCP600; 1/2" ID Tygon 3603


My Heatware
GV2NIX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 10:58 AM   #9
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
lol, i didn't think that worked
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 11:21 AM   #10
TC
Senior Seti Addict

 
TC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Denver, CO

10 Year Badge
 
Actually that sounds a lot like Microsofts security update procedure - just keep fiddling around with it and maybe it will eventually work.

__________________
My Heatware
TC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-21-04, 07:48 PM Thread Starter   #11
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by TC
Actually that sounds a lot like Microsofts security update procedure - just keep fiddling around with it and maybe it will eventually work.
lol that sounds about right

they probably have books full of possible security holes and the fixes for them all

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 04:03 PM   #12
GV2NIX
Member

 
GV2NIX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY

 
Hahaha, like I said, not very scientific, but by doing that, I've managed to keep my copy of Windows activated. I'm sure eventually it'll stop working, but for now, it's the only way that I've had any luck with.

I can't handle calling in everytime, it takes about 15-20 minutes for me. First I have to put up with the automated service rep treating me like an infant. It takes a good 5 minutes to get all the numbers in. Then after all that, the automated service rep always tells me that it was unable to verify something or other, so I have to repeat the process for the human service rep and then get the new code. It's a circus, I have to jump through flaming hoops to get a legit copy of Windows XP Pro to work.

I think Windows XP Pro is good, but the whole activation process is absolutely ridiculous. I would rather they invade my privacy by taking a photo of me, taking a blood sample, and copying my fingerprints if that meant I could activate it as much as I want hassle-free!

__________________

Processor: 939 Opteron 170 @ 2.7GHz (270x10) Vcore=1.425V
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x 512 OCZ PC-4800 Dual Channel DDR EL Elite Edition CL2.5-3-4-9 1T Vdimm=2.8V
Spindles: 1x Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 73.4GB; 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB; 1x Plextor 708A
Video Card: ATi Radeon X1900XT 512MB PCIe
Power Supply: FSP Group FX700-GLN 700W
Case: Cooler Master PAC-T01 "Praetorian"
Cooling: Storm G5 CPU Block; Maze4 GPU Block; Black Ice Micro II; MCP600; 1/2" ID Tygon 3603


My Heatware
GV2NIX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 04:05 PM   #13
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
i always get a human rep cause i tell the computer gibberish and it apologizes and tells me that ill be connected to a human asap
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 04:11 PM   #14
GV2NIX
Member

 
GV2NIX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY

 
Hahahahah! I'll try that next time. I'll respond, "Chewbacca!" when it asks me for the first set of numbers.

__________________

Processor: 939 Opteron 170 @ 2.7GHz (270x10) Vcore=1.425V
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x 512 OCZ PC-4800 Dual Channel DDR EL Elite Edition CL2.5-3-4-9 1T Vdimm=2.8V
Spindles: 1x Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 73.4GB; 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB; 1x Plextor 708A
Video Card: ATi Radeon X1900XT 512MB PCIe
Power Supply: FSP Group FX700-GLN 700W
Case: Cooler Master PAC-T01 "Praetorian"
Cooling: Storm G5 CPU Block; Maze4 GPU Block; Black Ice Micro II; MCP600; 1/2" ID Tygon 3603


My Heatware
GV2NIX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 04:59 PM   #15
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
yes and it will say something similar to, im sorry i can't understand you blah blah would you like to talk to a ms rep or something like that
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 05:13 PM   #16
ManOfKnight
Member

 
ManOfKnight's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Back in Iowa :( Come on Gators, Get up and Go!

10 Year Badge
 
I have been away a while...I didn't know there was confusion on this...I have installed my XP over 40 times and have had to call every time after the 25th. I am WELL aware of this...I am just sorry people were not made aware of this

__________________
Laptop: XPS m1530 | T7700 2.2Ghz | 2048MB GSkill DDR2 | NVidia m8600GT 256MB DDR3 :D | 120GB 7200rpm
Project Caesar: Q9450 @ 3.4Ghz | Maximus Formula | 8192MB OCZ Reaper | eVGA GTX260 | XFX 8800GTS for F@H | 2780GB Total Sata
Project Jessks: e8400 @ 4.2Ghz | P5KE-WiFi/AP | 4096MB GSkill Red | ATi HD4850 (folding) | 74GB Raptor | 1.5TB Green WD
Project Fileserver: Phenom 9850 | Biostar 790GX | 2048MB GSkill | (4) 1.5TB Green WD
Computers are running 24/7 World Community Grid and Folding@Home for
My Mother, My Sister, Julie Stutzman, Gary Janssen, and Shelly Laborde
My Heatware 30-0
ManOfKnight is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-22-04, 11:04 PM   #17
GV2NIX
Member

 
GV2NIX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York, NY

 
I've probably installed my copy of XP Pro about as much as you have, but I haven't run into that snag yet... I hope it doesn't happen soon!

__________________

Processor: 939 Opteron 170 @ 2.7GHz (270x10) Vcore=1.425V
Motherboard: DFI Lanparty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
RAM: 2x 512 OCZ PC-4800 Dual Channel DDR EL Elite Edition CL2.5-3-4-9 1T Vdimm=2.8V
Spindles: 1x Maxtor Atlas 10K IV 73.4GB; 1x Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 300GB; 1x Plextor 708A
Video Card: ATi Radeon X1900XT 512MB PCIe
Power Supply: FSP Group FX700-GLN 700W
Case: Cooler Master PAC-T01 "Praetorian"
Cooling: Storm G5 CPU Block; Maze4 GPU Block; Black Ice Micro II; MCP600; 1/2" ID Tygon 3603


My Heatware
GV2NIX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-04, 08:21 PM   #18
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
for me it happened after the third time. And when I installed a new mobo.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-04, 08:36 AM Thread Starter   #19
mbentley
Gloriously Lead
Overclockix Chief Architect
In stealth mode

 
mbentley's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN

10 Year Badge
 
bump to prevent too many threads about activation

__________________
intel i5-750 -- msi p55-gd65 -- 4 x 4gb ddr3 1600 -- msi gtx550 ti cyclone oc 1gb -- antec p182 -- ocz fatal1ty 750w -- windows 8.1 x64
intel i5-3330 -- msi z77a-gd65 -- 4 x 8gb ddr3 1600 -- intel hd graphics 2500 -- fractal design define r4 black -- debian wheezy amd64

forum rules | overclockix | overclockers geforce survey | mbentley.net
mbentley is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-06-04, 11:45 AM   #20
pik4chu
Senior Yellow Forum Rat

 
pik4chu's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado

10 Year Badge
 
I only got about 10 activations before I had to start calling it in. most annoying, but finished w/o a snag each time.

__________________
DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.0 (V8) | 6*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | eVGA 285 | 1.5 TB RAID 0 | Win7 64-bit (456Watts)
Main Server (WIP): DFI X58-T3EH8 | I7-920 C0@3.6 | 3*2GB Corsair Dominator @1800-7-7-7-18 | 8*1.5TB in RAID 5 (283Watts)

Folding User Stats
Team 32 Countdown heatware
pik4chu is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?