Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

HELP! building new rig for 2 grand

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-23-04, 01:41 AM Thread Starter   #1
LoN
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
HELP! building new rig for 2 grand


Case:
ANTEC Black Solution Series ATX Mid-Tower Case with 350W Power Supply - $89

CPU:
Intel Pentium 4/ 3.2E GHz (prescott) - $275

Mobo:
CHAINTECH "9CJS ZENITH" i875P - $159

Videocard:
Radeon X800 XT Platinum edition - ~$500(whenever the heck i can get ahold of one )

Soundcard:
Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS - $88

Primary HD:
Western Digital Raptor 36.7GB 10,000RPM SATA Hard Drive - $111

Secondary HD:
Western Digital 120GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive - $99

Optical drive:
Plextor Black 52x32x52 CD-RW Drive - $85

RAM:
4x Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - $528

FDD:
SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive - $15

Keyboard/mouse:
Microsoft Black Multimedia Keyboard & Wheel Mouse Optical Bundle

im photoshop fiend and a gamer and also enjoy downloading massive amounts of music and i love digital photography. ill be engaging in a smidge of overclocking, probably nothing crazy (nothing that requires crazy amounts of cooling).

Comments/suggestions/questions please! thanks guys
LoN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 01:55 AM   #2
termin@tor
Member

 
termin@tor's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Hmmm... looks very nice.
You should definitly get a new power supply tho. You need AT LEAST 400W to run all that stuff... you might have no problems with 350W, but I don't think that a good idea... at all.

Maybe get another raptor and put them in RAID 0?
And maybe get a DVD drive?

Everything else looks awesome.

Btw, welcome to the forums.

__________________
E8400 @ 3.6GHz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
Audigy 2 ZS
Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
Corsair 650TX Power Supply
termin@tor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:17 AM   #3
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Looks pretty good to me. DVD drive would be nice, like termin@tor said. Otherwise...go with it.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX460 768mb
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:30 AM Thread Starter   #4
LoN
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
just found a dvd drive for 25 bucks so ill probably add that on.

i would do 2 raptors in raid 0 if it werent for the cost. i think a smaller yet ultra fast drive for my OS games and apps and a slower but larger drive for media is a decently cost effective way to go, would you guys agree?

good tip on the powersupply, i was worried about that myself. any suggestions? looks like i can get some fairly beefy ones on newegg for under 80 bucks, just dont know how accurately some of these are rated. what are some good PS brands?

thanks for the help and the welcome
LoN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:54 AM   #5
termin@tor
Member

 
termin@tor's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL

 
For power supply, good brands are Antec, Forton, Sparkle, Enermax, and Thermaltake.

Personally, I think Antec is the best.

Here are 2 pretty good Antec ones:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-914&depa=1

or, if you want cheaper:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-908&depa=1

__________________
E8400 @ 3.6GHz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
Audigy 2 ZS
Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
Corsair 650TX Power Supply
termin@tor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 10:16 AM   #6
ares350
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004

 
thats an expensive cdrw.

did you look into dvd-rw? for .raw images, mp3s, and whatever else. you can get a dvd rw for cheaper than that cdrw you listed.

I got a liteon dvd/cdrw for 51$.

nice PC otherwise. I learned my lesson 3 years ago about 2000$ PC's. after a year it was just slightly more advanced than a year old 1000$ PC.
ares350 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 10:27 AM   #7
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Two gigs of ram? Not needed AT ALL, one gig is enough, I promise, you will not use it all, there's $250 saved.

You're doing video editing, so I would not recommend RAID 0 AT ALL, I rather like your setup, but with the money you saved you can get a 250GB hard drive now, AND change out the 36gig Raptor for a 74 gig.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 01:41 PM   #8
termin@tor
Member

 
termin@tor's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Quote:
Two gigs of ram? Not needed AT ALL, one gig is enough, I promise, you will not use it all, there's $250 saved
My bro had 2 gigs in one of his rigs.
That PC runs smoother than anything I've ever seen in my life.
For the stuff he's doing, I think 2GB would be very nice.

__________________
E8400 @ 3.6GHz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
Audigy 2 ZS
Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
Corsair 650TX Power Supply
termin@tor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 01:54 PM   #9
R0CK3TM4NN
Member

 
R0CK3TM4NN's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbus, OH - GO BUCKS!

 
Re: HELP! building new rig for 2 grand


Quote:
Originally posted by LoN


FDD:
SONY Black 1.44MB 3.5inch Floppy Disk Drive - $15
Floppy drive? People still use these things? I've never been in a situation where I've needed a floppy for almost 3 years now. If I'm not mistaken, that chaintech board comes with a media card reader...that would be enough, right? Save the $15 for some super-cool cables, I guess.

Other than that, you're system looks sweet. If you're not gonna overclock, then I think the ram would be fine. If you were going to o/c wouldn't it be better to get 1 GB of faster ram? (3500-3700)? Or if money is no object, 2 GB of the "good stuff?"
R0CK3TM4NN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:01 PM Thread Starter   #10
LoN
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
Thanks for all the comments and suggestions guys, im taking them all to heart and trying to finalize this thing
LoN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:40 PM   #11
t_biggs
Member

 
t_biggs's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin

 
Have you looked at the Athlon 64 route? If you're a gamer (which I'm guessing by the fact there is a X800 XT Platinum) it should perform better. You'd be able to get a 3200+ and save $5 for the processor, and a Gigabyte GA-K8NS PRO and save $20. That kind of money is just a drop in the bucket if you're building a rig for $2,000, but hey, it's $25 you can put to buying another game, and almost every benchmark I see for gaming, Athlon 64s beat Pentium 4s.

But, if you're going to do a lot of video editing and media encoding, ignore me.
t_biggs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:48 PM   #12
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
In his first post he states that he does a lot of Photoshop as well, too "all-around" for AMD in my eyes. I still do not recommend two gigabytes of memory for a Photoshop system, has anyone ever used more than 1 gig?
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 02:54 PM   #13
secretweapon
Member

 
secretweapon's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Edmonton

 
You can easily use up 2 gig of ram if you do open a few projects with multiple layers in photoshop. For photo editing the more ram the better.
secretweapon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 03:24 PM   #14
Sophisticated
Member

 
Sophisticated's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Missouri

 
with the MOBO you should go with Asus P4C800-E Deluxe for $179.....i wouldnt go with the prescott as it will be HOT mayb go with a regular 3.0c and do an EASY oc to 3.2 ..this will be faster then buying a stock 3.2 plus it's cheaper...you should also go with PC POWER & COOLING Turbo-Cool 510 Deluxe...this will be a bangin system!!

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2.1 GHz
1gig pc3200 hynix & generic
120GB samsung HD
48X DL Lightscribe
A7V8X-LA (Kelut)
Sophisticated is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #15
LoN
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.c...id=1535&page=1

pretty much convinced me to dump the 3.2 prescott in favor of an at least an athlon 64 3200+ if not the 3400.

i would say gaming performance is more important than photoshop performance. with 2 gigs of ram i dont think the cpu will make the real difference in photoshop performance.

would anyones suggestions change if this were viewed more as a pure gaming rig than an image/video editing rig?

again, thanks for all the attention, you guys are really helping me alot
LoN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 03:42 PM   #16
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
All right, if this is like a 75/25 or even a 60/40 don't bother with two gigs of ram, seriously, that's such a waste of cash, I don't know what type of Photoshop work you do, but one gigabyte is definitely enough, it just might not be the absolute amount you'd ever need, you know? The 3400+ is also a waste, the difference in performance between the 3400 and the 3200 is minimal, the price difference is not. Same can be said about the 3000 and the 3200, though I'd take the 3200 if I could afford it. I don't even think AMD boards support four sticks of ram.
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 04:02 PM   #17
Agent_Mull
Member

 
Agent_Mull's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Leawood, KS

 
I know my old GA-7N400 had 4 DIMM slots. I agree with Tom tho, 1 gig of ram is fine, and with that extra $200 you save, get another Raptor.
Agent_Mull is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 04:07 PM   #18
termin@tor
Member

 
termin@tor's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Orlando, FL

 
Quote:
Originally posted by secretweapon
You can easily use up 2 gig of ram if you do open a few projects with multiple layers in photoshop. For photo editing the more ram the better.
Exactly!

And, if you're gonna go A64, get a chaintec nforce 3 250 mobo, you'de be really happy just like this -->

__________________
E8400 @ 3.6GHz
Asus P5Q Pro mobo
Corsair Dominator 4GB PC2-8500
Sapphire HD 4850 @ 650/1075
2x320GB Samsung RAID 0
Audigy 2 ZS
Enzotech Xtreme-X CPU cooler
Corsair 650TX Power Supply
termin@tor is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 04:51 PM Thread Starter   #19
LoN
Registered



Join Date: May 2004

 
ill admit that 2 gigs of ram is overkill, but i dont think i can be talked out of it

now i need a good mobo for the athlon 64 3200+...
the chaintechs look very nice, but also very pricey (for the top model) and only 3 slots for ram which means i would have to change to 1 gig sticks which means even more money

anyone know of a nice athlon 64 mobo under 150, with 4 slots for ram and onboard ethernet?
LoN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-23-04, 05:49 PM   #20
fatccrunner
Registered

 
fatccrunner's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: the deep south

 
i like the gigabyte nforce 3 250 chipset personally... its about 135 on newegg but it only has 3 ram slots... and it does have onboard ethernet... ive been looking for a mobo with 4 ram slots myself but cant seem to find one
fatccrunner is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?