Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Download Speeds

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-24-04, 03:51 AM Thread Starter   #1
Gmork Balthazar
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Phoenix, Az

 
Download Speeds


I think i read somewhere that either your ISP or you cable modem controll how much bandwitch you use for uploading and downloading. Is there any way that you can modify your download speeds to gain more bandwith?
Gmork Balthazar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-04, 04:40 AM   #2
MisterEd
Member

 
MisterEd's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Alabama

 
Your ISP can throttle your download/upload speeds if they want to. I doubt you could change that yourself. If you could and your ISP found out they would cancel your account.

The upload speed is low compared to download speed for two reasons:
1. You start out with an allocated bandwidth of 1628kbs and your down/upload speed is 1500/128kbs. Your ISP changes that to 814/814kbs. That would help your uploads but your downloads would suffer since most of what you do is downloading. It is better to keep your download speed high relative to uploads.
2. A more balanced speed mix would favor server use such as in game servers. Since your connection is for home use they are doing this to discourage anyone trying to use a home server.

People trying to use their home connection for server use are usually caught eventually by their ISP. Their accounts are terminated when this is found out.

There is a reason for throttling accounts. In your neigborhood there is only so much bandwidth available. That is, the pipe is only so big. How would you like it if your neighbor hogged all the bandwidth and you could only get at most 2kbs. You would be better off with a dialup modem.

__________________
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX-8350 | Corsair H60 Cooler | GSkill RipjawsX (2x4GB) | ASUS GeForce GTX 560 | WD Caviar Blue 1TB | Seagate 750GB | ASUS 24X DVD/RW| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
ASUS M4N82 Deluxe | AMD Phenom II X4 960T | Corsair XMS2(2x2GB) | PNY GeForce GTS 250 (1GB) | Seagate 300GB | Memorex 20X DVD/RW | Windows 7 Home Premium
MisterEd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-04, 08:00 AM   #3
hundforarn
New Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sweden

 
Your cable modem "when rebooted" allways download new firmware with instructions on how to perform etc from your isp or default location.
hundforarn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-24-04, 11:05 AM   #4
su root
Senior Member
--
I teach people how to read your email.

 
su root's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ontario, Canada

10 Year Badge
 
Re: Download Speeds


Quote:
Originally posted by Gmork Balthazar
I think i read somewhere that either your ISP or you cable modem controll how much bandwitch you use for uploading and downloading. Is there any way that you can modify your download speeds to gain more bandwith?
It's possible, but illegal.

Better ways to try to get higher speeds is to check out the tweak test and check that all your computer's settings are set correctly.

If you are looking for bandwidth, a lot of times, there are alternative ISPs in your area that will offer you a lot more bandwidth. Usually there are satelite carriers, microwave carriers, lots of DSL carriers, and usually one or two cable carriers.

__________________
"Some people, when confronted with a problem, think 'I know, Ill use regular expressions.' Now they have two problems."
su root is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-25-04, 01:20 PM   #5
hrdwrjnkie
Member

 
hrdwrjnkie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Middle of Nowhere and getting lost fast!

 
Yeah, the simplest way is to use some of the tweaks at sites like speedguide. Generally the best providers fo download speed are cable providers. My connection is $35 for 4 megs down and 128K up. To get ADSL at that speed in my area would cost upwards of $100/month.

I have also found that my download is naturally uncapped, as when I moved to a less internet-populated part of town (went from 350 or so people on my node to four) my connection went from my promised four megs to over 8 megs down on a good day.

This seems to hold true with any Midcontinent service as well as Charter cable. Although it is hard to get Charter cable in a sparsely populated area.
hrdwrjnkie is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?