Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Hi power pump?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-04, 01:49 PM Thread Starter   #1
Krum
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Hi power pump?


Hi y'all! I'm new to this WC stuff so bear with me here, OK? In reading about WC basics, (max head, C/W, etc.) it seems to me I could just take a small ice chest and put a high power submersible pump in it. I found this Aquarius 2000 which puts out 2000 gph and has a max head of 15ft. It has a one inch outlet but I could put a half inch adapter on it and turn down the power if I needed to. Would this work OK or am I missing something here? Thanks!
Krum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 02:05 PM   #2
Vengance_01
Member

 
Vengance_01's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corona, CA

10 Year Badge
 
Sure it will work, but I think its gonna put out way to much PSI for the loop to handle. I am using a HD pump. its got 12FT max head and 300GPH at 1FT head. it was around 50$. Thing is built like a tank and is less than 20DBA no joke. Really It depends, but pumps like that will not be as cost effective a DAnger Mag 3, ect... Read up on stickes.
Vengance_01 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 02:08 PM   #3
VAdept
Member

 
VAdept's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hidden Mountaintop Research Lab

 
How much heat does this pump generate? If you submerge it it will dump all its heat into the water which could totally negate the benefit of its high flow.
VAdept is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 03:10 PM Thread Starter   #4
Krum
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
hmmm, I can't seem to find much info on how much heat this pump puts into the water. It's 125 watts. I'm looking at other aquarium and pond pumps too. With most you can run them submerged or not. What would be a good head height to GPS ratio to look for?
Krum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 03:16 PM   #5
jamesavery22
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Krum
hmmm, I can't seem to find much info on how much heat this pump puts into the water. It's 125 watts. I'm looking at other aquarium and pond pumps too. With most you can run them submerged or not. What would be a good head height to GPS ratio to look for?
its power consumption is 125w?? Thats a lot. The Eheim 1250 taks 28w and the MCP600 takes 9w...

Are you planning to run multiple cooling loops in parrallel and powering them with just one pump? IE cooling a large folding farm with one pump?
If not what are you looking for such a powerful pump for?

__________________
Unfortunately there is no more FaD :( So FOLD!
My Heatware
jamesavery22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 03:42 PM   #6
Vengance_01
Member

 
Vengance_01's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Corona, CA

10 Year Badge
 
thats way to much. try to keep it under 30 for a single loop system
Vengance_01 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 03:51 PM Thread Starter   #7
Krum
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
I want to cool CPU>GPU>NB on my gaming computer. I'll use a heater core and a couple of fans to cool them. The pump doesn't have to be submerged, it just seemed more convenient that way. The only reason I considered such a powerful pump is that I saw a lot of threads debating whether this or that pump was powerful enough, and it seemed to me that I could just go down to Walmart and pick up a powerful, cheap aquarium/pond pump and have done with it. I was thinking of designing my whole pump/radiator/res combo as a compact portable unit, so my only real concern is the noise the fans and pump will generate. Don't care too much about power consumption, just heat dissipation capabilities and noise. I guess you're trying to say I'm going into overkill?
Krum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 04:06 PM   #8
ZachM
Member

 
ZachM's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Middle of Cow Country (Central Ok)

 
Power consumption is usually a sign that a pump generates a lot of heat. For you a Mag 3, Eheim 1250, Swiftech MP600, or Hydor L30 should do the job just fine. Also by downsizing the fittings on that pump you listed it will probably decrease performance considerably.

__________________
Heatware
ZachM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 04:17 PM   #9
greenman100
Disabled

 
greenman100's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: trying to keep all the magic smoke in

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Vengance_01
Sure it will work, but I think its gonna put out way to much PSI for the loop to handle.

Untrue.

15ft head is like 10psi

heatercores are the weakest link, and they can handle 20psi or more.

you guys should ask what he's doing before you suggest mag3s.
greenman100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 07:26 PM   #10
ZachM
Member

 
ZachM's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Middle of Cow Country (Central Ok)

 
Quote:
Originally posted by Krum
I want to cool CPU>GPU>NB on my gaming computer. I'll use a heater core and a couple of fans to cool them.
That's what he's doing. Sounds like a pretty normal setup. He won't need a huge pump unless his rad is going to be a few rooms over. Hehe.

__________________
Heatware
ZachM is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 07:33 PM Thread Starter   #11
Krum
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Hey guys how's this pump sound? I can get it for 55 bucks at walmart. here's the stats: Beckett G535AG20
Dimensions
Cord 20'
Height 3"
Length 5"
Width 4"
Electrical
Amps 1.2
HP 1/20
Volts 115
Watts 80
Performance
04 Feet 434 GPH
06 Feet 356 GPH
10 Feet 193 GPH
12.4 Feet Shutoff
Whadya think???? Thanks for the help!
Krum is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 07:46 PM   #12
Joshh100
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
hmm.. sounds like it would be alright I guess, but its still overkill. For 50 bucks, you can get yourself a nice hydor L30 or something alike.
Joshh100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 07:54 PM   #13
greenman100
Disabled

 
greenman100's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: trying to keep all the magic smoke in

 
Doesn't sound like its for continuous duity, and pretty large.
greenman100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 08:18 PM   #14
VAdept
Member

 
VAdept's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Hidden Mountaintop Research Lab

 
Yeah I forgot about that. If its anything like a sump pump its not meant to run for extended periods of time, it will burn up if left running. I would have to second going with a Hydor L30.
VAdept is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 09:15 PM   #15
UberBlue
Completely NUTS

 
UberBlue's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Huffing Water Wetter

 
Quote:
Originally posted by greenman100



Untrue.

15ft head is like 10psi

Untrue.

1 foot of head = 0.4335275 pound-force/square inch (PSI)

15 foot of head = 6.5029125 pound-force/square inch (PSI)

UberBlue is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 09:29 PM   #16
greenman100
Disabled

 
greenman100's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: trying to keep all the magic smoke in

 
Quote:
Originally posted by UberBlue


Untrue.

1 foot of head = 0.4335275 pound-force/square inch (PSI)

15 foot of head = 6.5029125 pound-force/square inch (PSI)

which is why I said "like", and I guess I should have looked it up, but my point was it wasn't anywhere near bursting a heatercore
greenman100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 09:37 PM   #17
UberBlue
Completely NUTS

 
UberBlue's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Huffing Water Wetter

 
Quote:
Originally posted by greenman100


which is why I said "like", and I guess I should have looked it up, but my point was it wasn't anywhere near bursting a heatercore
I know an approximation was your intention. I'm just a stickler for details.

But we do agree heater cores are the weak links. But your not going to easily find a centrifugal pump capable of 30 psi without getting into the industrial world. Industrial = $$$$ However, if any of you are *really* concerned about blowing out your core, an easy fix is to just let the water block bear the brunt of the pressure by putting it first before the core.
UberBlue is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 09:41 PM   #18
greenman100
Disabled

 
greenman100's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: trying to keep all the magic smoke in

 
I've got a 75psi 20gpm pump if you want it....$300 shipped.

That's "like" 150ft head pressure.

Take that, Iwaki.

Centrifugal pumps of very high pressure are possible, but injector/venturi assemblies are neccessary.
greenman100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-04, 09:43 PM   #19
greenman100
Disabled

 
greenman100's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: trying to keep all the magic smoke in

 
Quote:
Originally posted by ZachM


That's what he's doing. Sounds like a pretty normal setup. He won't need a huge pump unless his rad is going to be a few rooms over. Hehe.
a Mag 3 won't get the most of his setup if he's running a WW/cascade and two restrictive GPU/NB blocks in series.

I saw what he said, but the pumps count.
greenman100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-04, 11:06 AM Thread Starter   #20
Krum
Registered



Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA

 
These pumps are meant for continuous use and i just saw this pump metioned favorably in the waterchill forurms. There is also a slightly smaller Beckett with these stats:
Electrical
Amps 0.8
HP 1/40
Volts 115
Watts 50
Performance
04 Feet 218 GPH
06 Feet 169 GPH
10 Feet 71 GPH
12.2 Feet Shutoff
I'm kinda wondering about that "shutoff" though. Does that mean that once it reaches a certain pressure the pump quits? That would NOT be a good thing!
Krum is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?