• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Specific cooling advice?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

labinnac

Registered
I am rather new to overclocking and want to give it a shot, but I am worried about case/cpu cooling.

My system now is AMD 2500+ Barton, ABIT NF7-S 2.0, 2 Kingston 256MB DDR 400 RAM, Radeon 9600SE. I have a Lian-Li PC60 case with rounded cables and decently bundled wires.

Right now my temps are 30C system, 44C CPU. I notice when I take my front cover, and 2 sides off temps go down atleast 2C

I notice that many people have 44C load temps for their CPU, overclocked, mine is this high stock... Would a new HS/Fan combo fix this?

Would there be anyway to impove airflow in my case? I have the 2 80mm fans in front, 1 in the rear as exhaust and 1 top blow hole exhaust. Would different fans work better than the stock fans?

Im not too good at gathering my thoughts and posting them all at once... Pardon if they seem so scattered and unorganized. Any help is appreciated, please question me if you dont understand what I am asking or info I didnt mention

Your case temps (delta case-room=10C) are reasonable for 25 CFM worth of fan power. If your fans are rated at more than 25 CFM for total intake/exhaust, there is some room for improvement in freeing up your airflow. The usual advice is to clip away fan grills that have been stamped into the case, and make sure that intake and exhaust are both flowing freely from/to the room.

CPU temp is normally (case temp + HSF_efficiency * CPU_Watts) but you can "cheat" on CPU temp by ducting cool air to your CPU from outside, so that CPU temp will be (room temp + HSF_efficiency * CPU_Watts). This would net you about 10C of CPU temps (down to ~34C) but not help case temps.