• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

is my prescott temps to high?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

deathstar13

FSB FRIEK
hehe thought ya would see 72c or something huh?
this doesnt belong in cooling as it will contain cpu ocing tomorow.

anyhow is running specs in sig and seems prime stable so far.
evap is running -46 idle -42@load
cpu temps -23c idle and drop to -16c@load

some darn good phase change unit to hold a prescott like that!

i had a coronary setting it up the.im a complete noob at phase change and after 6 hours driving picking it up and 2 hours setup i boot into bios and see 82c! :bang head

after a frantic phone call to the seller who is a phase change genius we figured it was just the bios hated negative temps and spazzed out.
was reading negatives in mbm once i grew nads and booted it into windows.

im a complete dead man atm so all ocing is put off until tomorow.
i did a few attempts at 270fsb 1:1 and 1.5vcore and it just rebooted.
so im having a sucky mobo issues or my ram cant handle 270fsb 1:1 i dont know yet but i did try 5:4 ratio and it still died on me.so my mobo will be banged at hard tomorow.

my mobo just sux at hardcore ocing imo.
p4c800-e pls!

Attachments

• PROMMY1.jpg
    PROMMY1.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 137
I put my money on the mobo as being the culprit. Those 4PCA3+'s seem to be pretty weak, well the two that I owned at least.

I say replace it with a Max3.

nice oc. push it up to 3.8 and see if it'll hold. temps are definetly not a problem for you so bump up the voltage!

I had that same CPU running at 3.8 gig on an IC7 with watercooling. I never Primed it at that speed, but I did run 3Dmark2001 and PCmark2002, plus several other benchmarks. So, I know the CPU will handle 3.8 gig. Seems like I had to use at least 1.6v.

Sophisticated said: