Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

cant get water from t-line

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-04, 03:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
twitch579
Disabled

 
twitch579's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
Arrow cant get water from t-line


when i first hooked up my setup i bought a t-line to get the water into the system. I hooked it up to the right place and it wouldnt suck any water threw it from the bucket. Is there a trick to get the water in it?
twitch579 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-04, 03:27 PM   #2
SOShootME
Member

 
SOShootME's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St. Peters, Mo.

 
I have never tried it with a bucket, but here are my thoughts.

1. Is the bucket higher than the system being filled? I am not sure you will be able to get the t-line primed well enough to pull water up out of a bucket placed lower than the system.

2. Do you have the loop closed except for the T? I don't think this method will work if the only opening in the loop is the t-line.

I just filled my t-line system by pouring water down the T till it would take no more. Then I cap the T and move the system around to distribute the water in the loop. When there is more room in the T, I add more water. Once the water has moved further into the loop, especially into the pump's intake, you can use the pump to kick the water farther into the system by cycyling it on and off real quick, then add more water.

The bucket would probably be faster if you can get it to work. It takes about an hour to fill and bleed the loop the way I do it.
SOShootME is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-04, 03:29 PM   #3
nikhsub1
Unoriginal Macho Moderator

 
nikhsub1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Los Angeles

10 Year Badge
 
YOu dont 'suck' water in through the t line with a bucket... you must FILL the t line with water with a funnel.

__________________
Loading Signature ...
nikhsub1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-04, 08:44 PM   #4
Raider84
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cal, US

 
ya the pump cant suck water when its dry. It must have water in it in order to push the water through the system. Nikhsub1 has the right idea..
Raider84 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-05-04, 08:48 PM Thread Starter   #5
twitch579
Disabled

 
twitch579's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
last time i just hooked up the pump underwater and avoided the hole t-line thing.I was just wondering for future reference, thanks guys
twitch579 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?