Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

64 Bit Processors

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-04, 01:59 AM Thread Starter   #1
AMDCanuck
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: toronto

 
64 Bit Processors


I was thinking about upgrading to a 64 bit processor and mobo combination. Obviously windows hasn't released a 64 bit os yet, so what advantages does it really offer?

Do all/most games take advantage of the 64 bit processors?

Just curious whether or not its worth making the jump just yet, any help would be appreciated.
AMDCanuck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 02:04 AM   #2
unreal
Registered

 
unreal's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: miami

 
doesnt microsoft have a windows xp64? thought they did, depends on how much money you feel like spending on as new system

__________________
Main system xeon x3440 (oc'ed to 3.5) ASrock p55 extreem / mastercooler hyper 212
Nvidia 250 (oc'ed attempting)
2 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Thermaltake toughpower 750 xt
300gig seagate 8mb cache 7200 (boot)
400gig seagate 8mb cache 7200
1TB Samsung 32mb cache 7200
74gig western digital 8mb cache 10,000

MyHeatware
unreal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 02:07 AM   #3
dropadrop
Member

 
dropadrop's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland

10 Year Badge
 
The biggest advantage from having an A64 processor now is the integrated memory controller. Once the 64bit version of windows does come out (you can use linux now and benefit) you will be able to benefit from the extra registers on the processor.
dropadrop is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 02:44 AM   #4
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Microsoft has free betas of Winxp and Win2003 for amd64.

64-bit Linux runs fine on it.

Epic ships a 64-bit UT2004 on the cd/dvd along with the 32-bit version. For Linux.

Thats about it. There's no other *public* games that are 64-bit, barring taking an open source game like Q2 and recompiling it. 64-bit UT2004 is just a proof of concept thing, it doesn't do anything that specifically takes advantage of 64-bits -- its arguable whether games will need that at all anytime soon. It runs a little faster from the extra registers, but trades that away by not using sse or 3dnow or mmx and having a less mature compiler backing it.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 07:54 AM   #5
madman22
Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
if you download the beta of 64-bit Windows Xp, dont think your going to run your normal programs. I couldn't get any of my programs to work on it.

__________________
Heatware
FX8350
SABERTOOTH 990FX
8gb GSkill 1600
2xVertex4-RAID0
madman22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 09:30 AM Thread Starter   #6
AMDCanuck
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: toronto

 
Well.... after hearing these comments i'm dissapointed.

I mean I know people use linux with them, but a lot of us here are gamers, so we stick with windows. So there really is no reason to upgrade. Its basically just to SAY you have a 64 bit machine... no?
AMDCanuck is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 09:40 AM   #7
sandman001
Just Freeze It



Join Date: Mar 2003

10 Year Badge
 
It is faster too, even in 32bit apps. Especially with games, the lower latencies associated with the on die memory controller help with games/3dmark/etc.
sandman001 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 11:17 AM   #8
kiyoshilionz
Member

 
kiyoshilionz's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wheaton, IL

 
Yeah, it's definetly faster than the old 32-bit computers, but it's not that significant. They really need optimized OS's and optimized programs for 64 bit processors, otherwise the performance benefits aren't all that great.
kiyoshilionz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 01:48 PM   #9
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
I tried 64bit XP on mine a while back, the worst part was drivers. You can't use 32-bit drivers, have to use 64-bit ones. Not many of them existed. Past that, I didn't have much trouble trying to run a few token apps.

Mine mostly just runs 64-bit Linux though. That drives all my hardware just fine AND is fast.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 05:06 PM   #10
aNTiChRisT
Member

 
aNTiChRisT's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England

 
Yea 64-bit is prooving nice but there just aint no support for it, at least on the gaming platform. I think i'd be wiser to wait afew years till 64-bit is more integral, then get a faster, more refined chip then.

~t0m
aNTiChRisT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 06:27 PM   #11
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Thats kind of silly. The Athlon64s are fast chips period.

Even if you upgrade to one now and never run any 64-bit software on it, you're still upgrading to a much faster chip (assuming you weren't coming from something already top of the line)
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-11-04, 07:57 PM   #12
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
The Athlon64 architecture performs beautifully in the 32-bit world. When we see software to take advantadge of iAMD64 we'll see a tremendous jump.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 07:28 AM   #13
hrhrhrFOOT
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003

 
Dude. Look at the 3dm01 orb. A64s are popping 30k left and right. No other processor can do that

__________________
A64-3000 C0 @2407.1 mhz
Kingston Valueram Hynix @ 260mhz 2.5-4-4-7
350w turbolink psu
Gigabyte K8N pro nf3-150
PNY 5900SE@460/975 w/RL Bios
heat
hrhrhrFOOT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 07:57 AM   #14
CandymanCan
Disabled

 
CandymanCan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Woodbridge, Va

 
The A64's socket 754 are up to 20% faster then the Barton's, its well worth the upgrade.
CandymanCan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 08:55 AM   #15
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by madman22
if you download the beta of 64-bit Windows Xp, dont think your going to run your normal programs. I couldn't get any of my programs to work on it.
The main version of XP64 that is available now is for IA-64 (Itanium).

Could you describe your problems in more detail?

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 09:36 AM   #16
tom10167
Member

 
tom10167's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix. YOUR HAIR IS GOOD TO EAT

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by XWRed1
Epic ships a 64-bit UT2004 on the cd/dvd along with the 32-bit version. For Linux.
You mean gaming is now possible on *nix? REAL gaming?
tom10167 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 10:36 AM   #17
Captain Turd
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: Abington, PA

 
If you're looking at 64-bit processors there are a few things you should know. Socket 940 requires registered RAM, which is slower and more expensive. Socket 754 doesn't allow dual channel RAM which also sucks. Socket 939 is the only good one which supports dual channel and unbuffered RAM, and is decent at overclocking(supposedly). Now I'm not saying that 64-bit processors aren't fast, but are you willing to pay $500 for a 3500+ Socket 939 and $150 for a compatible motherboard just so you get a couple more frames on a game that already runs well on your computer? I've got almost the same setup you have and I think it will last me at least 6 more months. In that time, AMD will release a number of new processors, new software will come out and prices will fall considerably. I wouldn't spend that much on a 64-bit system and find out in 6 months that I spent twice the amount I should have. So ask yourself, do you have the money to burn?
Captain Turd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 10:56 AM   #18
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom10167
You mean gaming is now possible on *nix? REAL gaming?
The *nix version is unsupported but does work.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-12-04, 12:16 PM   #19
orionnt
Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
Im getting an A64 soon enough in my new PC. A friend of mine has one, and it kicks the **** out of his Alienware with the P4 3ghz or whatever its got.
orionnt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-04, 05:55 AM   #20
XWRed1
Senior Member

 
XWRed1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001

 
Quote:
The main version of XP64 that is available now is for IA-64 (Itanium).
Microsoft has had freely downloadable betas of Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 Enterprise Edition for amd64 for several months now.


Quote:
You mean gaming is now possible on *nix? REAL gaming?
Ermm, there've been ports of big games for Linux for many years now.
XWRed1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > General CPU Discussion
General CPU Discussion
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?